Membership

A person who exercises a paid professional activity in Luxembourg, for their own account or for the account of a third party, must be affiliated to the social security scheme in Luxembourg through the Common Centre of Social Security (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale CCSS). This affiliation covers all risks in terms of social security (sickness and maternity, accidents at work and occupational diseases, old age and disability as well as long-term care).

This membership allows the insured person and their family members to benefit from the services offered by the sickness and maternity insurance via their competent health fund.

On the declaration of entry (déclaration d’entrée) the insured person receives, their competent health fund is specified: this is either the Caisse nationale de santé (CNS), the Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics (CMFEP), the Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux (CMFEC) or the Entraide médicale de la CFL (EMCFL).

The CNS is the point of contact for all insured persons working in the private sector (salaried and non-salaried workers such as self-employed workers) as well as for manual workers working for the government.

The employer and the Common Centre of Social Security (CCSS)

Membership

For each remunerated employee, the employer must send a declaration of entry (déclaration d’entrée) to the Common Centre of Social Security.

When a non-salaried worker starts their professional activity in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, they must immediately contact the CCSS, which is the competent institution for the registration process to the social security scheme.

Detachment

Any employer who intends to send one of their employees abroad for professional reasons must inform the CCSS beforehand.

Contributions

In order to finance social security benefits, the CCSS collects social security contributions based on the employee’s remuneration.

For this purpose, the employers are required to declare the actual gross earnings on a monthly basis.

Monthly report of the incapacities for work

In addition to the periods of incapacity for work from the previous month, the employer is required to provide on the monthly report of the incapacities for work the exact number of hours the employee was unable to work. These reports should be done during the entire affiliation of the employee; not only during the period where the employer is required to pay the salary, but also when the CNS is in charge of paying cash benefits.

These reports of incapacities for work allow the CCSS to calculate automatically the reimbursement of wages, which will be undertaken by the Employers' Mutual Insurance Fund (Mutualité des Employeurs).

Employers are required to continue to remunerate their employees until the end of the calendar month in which lies the 77th day of incapacity for work during a reference period of 12 successive calendar months, which would be equivalent, on average, to a 13-week period.

During the period of the continued payment of wages, the Mutual Insurance Fund - through the CCSS - reimburses 80% of these wages to the employer. After this period, the CNS covers the payment of the cash benefits (after informing the employer that their responsibilities in this area have reached their end).

These declarations are also important for the CNS in order to be able to proceed to the payment of the subsequent cash benefits to the insured person.

For further information regarding the Employers’ Mutual Insurance Fund, please visit their website.

Last update

Affiliation

Toute personne qui exerce au Luxembourg une activité professionnelle rémunérée pour le compte d’autrui ou pour son propre compte est obligatoirement affiliée au Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS) contre tous les risques en matière de sécurité sociale (maladie et maternité, accident du travail et maladie professionnelle, vieillesse et invalidité ainsi que dépendance).

Cette affiliation permet à l'assuré et à sa famille de bénéficier des prestations de l’assurance maladie-maternité par le biais de sa caisse compétente.

Sur la déclaration d'entrée que l'assuré reçoit, sa caisse de maladie compétente est renseignée : soit la Caisse nationale de santé (CNS), soit la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics (CMFEP), soit la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux (CMFEC), soit l'Entraide médicale de la CFL (EMCFL).

La CNS est l’interlocutrice pour tous les assurés du secteur privé (salariés et non-salariés tels les indépendants) ainsi que pour les ouvriers de l’État.

L'employeur et le Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS)

Affiliation

Pour toute personne embauchée contre rémunération, l’employeur doit remettre une déclaration d’entrée au Centre commun de la sécurité sociale.

Lorsqu’un indépendant commence son activité au Grand-Duché, il doit immédiatement s’adresser au Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS) qui est l’organisme compétent pour l’affilier à la sécurité sociale.

Détachement

Tout employeur qui entend envoyer pour des raisons professionnelles un salarié à l’étranger devra signaler son intention préalablement au Centre commun de la sécurité sociale.

Cotisations

En vue de financer les prestations de sécurité sociale, le Centre commun de la sécurité sociale perçoit des cotisations déterminées sur base de la rémunération des salariés.

À cet effet, les employeurs sont obligés de déclarer tous les mois les salaires bruts effectifs.

Déclaration mensuelle des incapacités de travail

L’employeur est obligé de renseigner sur la déclaration mensuelle des incapacités de travail, outre les périodes d'incapacité de travail du mois précédent, le nombre exact des heures d’absence afférentes de ses salariés pour cause d’incapacité de travail pendant les heures de travail. Ces déclarations sont à faire pendant la totalité de l'affiliation du salarié, non seulement pendant la période de la continuation de la rémunération, mais également au-delà.

La déclaration des incapacités de travail est nécessaire au Centre commun afin de pouvoir procéder automatiquement au calcul du remboursement par la Mutualité de la rémunération continuée par l’employeur.

En effet, les employeurs sont tenus de continuer la rémunération à leurs salariés jusqu’à la fin du mois de calendrier au cours duquel se situe le 77ème jour d’incapacité de travail pendant une période de référence de 12 mois de calendrier successifs, ce qui équivaut en moyenne à une période de 13 semaines.

Pendant la période de la continuation de la rémunération, la Mutualité - par l’intermédiaire du Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - rembourse 80% de cette rémunération à l'employeur. Après ladite période, la Caisse nationale de santé prend en charge le paiement d'une indemnité pécuniaire (après avoir informé l'employeur que ses responsabilités dans ce domaine ont atteint leur fin).

Ces déclarations sont également importantes à la Caisse nationale de santé afin de lui permettre de procéder au paiement des indemnités pécuniaires ultérieures à l'assuré.

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires concernant la Mutualité des employeurs, veuillez vous référer au site de la Mutualité.

Dernière mise à jour