Simple transportation

Transportation by ambulance refers to transportation carried out by an ambulance in situations other than those of vital distress, when that ambulance is used

  • by public services under the jurisdiction of the State or the communes;
  • in a commercial capacity by private individuals or commercial companies;
  • by public service establishments or non-profit organisations working in the field of health or assistance and rescue.

Transportations within the country carried out by establishments from the hospital sector for transporting persons between these establishments do not fall within the scope of the following stipulations.

 

Conditions for coverage

The "File B6" from annex A of the CNS statutes provides for the situations where the health insurance covers transport and travel services. In all situations covered by the file B6, travel and transportation costs are not covered beyond a distance of a maximum of 400 km for the outbound journey. In exceptional cases, the CNS can authorise coverage requested with a detailed medical report issued by the treating doctor and with a prior authorisation from the CMSS for travel and transportartion costs up to a distance of 600 km for the outbound journey.

Simple transport within the country

Simple transportation by ambulance within the country is covered, provided that a medical prescription issued by the doctor in charge of treatment certifies, that for medical reasons it is indispensable that the patient is kept in a reclining or immobilised position on the outward journey and on the return journey too, as the case may be.

When the medical prescription has not been issued prior to transportation, it must be issued within three days at the latest of the time of transportation. However, this is not a requirement in those cases where the doctor, in charge of treatment, certifies that the insured has been admitted to a polyclinic.

Simple transport abroad

Transportation by ambulance of an insured person temporarily staying in a Member State of the European Union (EU), the European Ecomonic Area (EEA) and Switzerland, from a clinic abroad to a hospital in Luxembourg for continuing an inpatient treatment is covered, provided that the means of transport and the hospital of destination are documented on a medical prescription issued by the doctor abroad, who has authorised the patient's discharge from the hospital.

Simple transportations by ambulance abroad are covered only if a prior medical prescription, issued by the treating doctor on a special form and previously accepted by the Medical Board of the Social Security, specifies for both the outbound and the return journey, the medical reasons which make a reclined or immobilised position indispensable.

Prior authorisation from the Medical Board of the Social Security

With the exception of emergency cases duly justified or except if the CNS statutes provide for a specific derogation, a prior authorisation from the Medical Board of the Social Security CMSS is always required in order to cover transport services abroad.

 

Terms of coverage

The portion of the costs covered by the health insurance can be paid by the CNS directly to the transporter if, at the request of the insured person, a certificate of coverage (titre de prise en charge) has been issued prior to transport and if this certificate has been accepted by the transporter within the framework of the agreements provided for by the Social Security Code or, in the absence of an agreement, within the framework of the conditions for approval which define the relations between the CNS and the transporters.

The costs relating to transportation paid upfront by the insured persons are covered upon presentation of paid and receipted invoices, accompanied by the prescription and, if applicable, the required authorisations.

The burden of proof that the transportation was carried out in order to receive services covered by the health insurance in the situations provided in the CNS statutes, lies with the person claiming such costs.

Last update

Transfert simple

Par transport en ambulance on entend le transport effectué en dehors de situations de détresse vitale au moyen d'une ambulance, lorsque cette ambulance est utilisée :  

  • par des services publics relevant de l'État ou des communes
  • à titre commercial par des particuliers ou des sociétés commerciales
  • par des établissements d'utilité publique ou des associations sans but lucratif œuvrant dans le domaine de la santé ou des secours.

Ne sont pas visés par les dispositions les transports à l'intérieur du pays dépêchés par les établissements du secteur hospitalier pour le transport de personnes entre ces établissements.

Conditions de prise en charge

Le « fichier B6 » de l'annexe A des statuts de la CNS prévoit les situations dans lesquelles l'assurance maladie prend en charge les prestations de transport et de voyage. Dans toutes les situations visées par la liste dénommée « fichier B6 » annexée aux statuts, les frais de voyage et de transport ne sont pris en charge que jusqu'à concurrence d'une distance maximale de 400 km à l'aller. Exceptionnellement, la CNS peut accorder la prise en charge demandée sur base d'un rapport médical circonstancié du médecin traitant et d'une autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale pour des frais de voyage et de transport pour une distance de 600 km à l'aller.

Transport simple à l'intérieur du pays

Les transports simples en ambulance à l'intérieur du pays sont pris en charge à condition qu'une ordonnance médicale, établie par le médecin chargé du traitement, certifie que pour des raisons médicales une position allongée ou immobilisée est indispensable pour l'aller, respectivement pour le retour.

L'ordonnance médicale, si elle n'est pas préalable au transport, doit être établie au plus tard dans un délai de trois jours à compter du transport. Cette dernière condition n'est pas requise au cas où le médecin chargé du traitement certifie que l'assuré en question a été admis en polyclinique.

Transport simple à l'étranger

Le transport simple en ambulance d'une personne protégée séjournant temporairement dans un État membre de l'Union Européenne (UE), de l'Espace Economique Européen (EEE) ou en Suisse, d'une clinique étrangère vers un hôpital luxembourgeois pour la continuation d'un traitement stationnaire est pris en charge à condition que le moyen de transport et l'hôpital de destination soient documentés sur une ordonnance médicale émanant du médecin étranger ayant autorisé la sortie d'hôpital.

Les transports simples en ambulance à l'étranger sont pris en charge à condition qu'une ordonnance médicale préalable, établie par le médecin traitant sur un formulaire spécial et acceptée préalablement par le Contrôle médical, spécifie séparément pour l'aller et pour le retour les raisons médicales pour lesquelles une position allongée ou immobilisée est indispensable.

Autorisation préalable du Contrôle médicale de la sécurité sociale

Sauf en cas d'urgence dûment motivée ou dérogation expressément prévue par les statuts, une autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale est requise pour la prise en charge des prestations de transport à l'étranger.

 

Modalités de prise en charge

La part des frais des prestations de transport à charge de l’assurance maladie peut être réglée directement par la CNS au transporteur si, à la demande de la personne protégée, un titre de prise en charge a été émis par la CNS préalablement au transport et a été accepté par le transporteur dans le cadre des conventions prévues par le Code de la sécurité sociale ou, en l'absence de convention, dans le cadre des conditions d'agrément réglant les rapports entre la Caisse nationale de santé et les transporteurs.

Les frais pour prestations de transport avancés par les ayants droit sont pris en charge sur base de factures acquittées, accompagnées des ordonnances et, le cas échéant, des autorisations requises.

La preuve que le déplacement était en rapport avec l'obtention des prestations à charge de l'assurance maladie dans les situations visées par les statuts incombe à l'ayant droit.

Dernière mise à jour