Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Is prior authorisation needed to consult a doctor in a EU Member State?

No, for consultations with a doctor (in a foreign health centre, clinic or hospital) you do not necessarily need prior authorisation. The reimbursement is made according to Luxembourg rates and tariffs. It is important to remember that no reimbursement will be made if the terms specified by the CNS statutes are not respected.

However, authorisation is required if the doctor uses highly specialised medical equipment specified in the restrictive list (tableau des équipements et appareils soumis à planification) or the consultation requires the use of hospital infrastructure.

Prior authorisation can still be applied for if a prescribing doctor directs the patient to a colleague abroad. In this case, the procedure for requesting prior authorisation should be respected.

If prior transfer authorisation is granted, the insured person is entitled to request a travel allowance, which is not the case without prior transfer authorisation.

I would like to travel to a EU Member State, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway for treatment. What rules do I need to observe?

The conditions of cover depend on whether the care you want to receive abroad will be administered on the basis of an authorised treatment/transfer or not.

1. There are certain types of treatment that can only be provided abroad if prior authorisation is given. The treatments that require prior authorisation from the competent country are:

  • inpatient treatment (at least one night in hospital)
  • treatment requiring the use of hospital infrastructure
  • treatment requiring highly specialised medical equipment
  • treatment subject to APCM (prior authorisation from the CMSS)
  • ...

2. In the case of outpatient treatment that does not require prior authorisation (e.g. doctor's surgery, single consultation with a specialist doctor in a foreign health centre or clinic etc.), reimbursement is possible without prior authorisation according to the tariffs in the competent country on presentation of the paid invoices.

What form does an authorisation for treatment/transfer abroad take?

There are two types of authorisations for a transfer abroad:

S2 agreement

The S2 form is governed by the regulations (EC) 883/2004 and (EC) 987/2009. It is issued in the case of a positive opinion from the CMSS and enables cover at the tariffs of the country where treatment is provided. In the best case, cover can be provided in the treatment country through the third-party payment system. If specifically requested, an additional refund may be applied for in the competent country (Luxembourg).

Given that the invoicing/reimbursement of treatment abroad may be different from invoicing/reimbursement in Luxembourg, it is important to remember to complete all the formalities with a possible additional fund (copies of the request + CNS S2 authorisation).

Authorisation based on article 20 of CSS

Following transposition into Luxembourg Law of directive 2011/24.  

With a directive agreement, you pay the costs of the treatment in full and are refunded by your competent fund in Luxembourg according to the conditions and tariffs in force in Luxembourg. If authorisation is granted, the insured person will receive a certificate of coverage (titre de prise en charge) explaining the reimbursement terms (costs to be advanced, reimbursement to be requested from the competent fund in Luxembourg according to the tariffs or fixed amounts specified). Given that the costs invoiced may be high, and far higher than the amount refunded by the fund in Luxembourg, the insured person is advised to ask the specialist centre abroad for a quotation for the costs of the treatment.

 

The procedure for requesting authorisation remains the same for both types of authorisation.

In the case of inpatient treatment or any other treatment that requires prior authorisation, no reimbursement will be made without an S2 or a directive agreement.

What is the S2 form?

This form certifies your right to planned treatment abroad. With the S2 form, you can expect the same conditions of cover at the same rates as people insured in the country of treatment. In the ideal case, it enables cover for the treatment costs through the third-party payment system via a local health insurance fund in the country of treatment.

If the third-party payment system does not apply, reimbursement is provided for at the rates of the treatment country by the health insurance institution in the country of treatment. If specifically requested, an additional refund may be applied for from the competent fund in Luxembourg.

How is authorisation obtained for treatment/transfer abroad?

Authorisation must be requested from the CNS before the planned treatment begins. The application is made based on a written, reasoned request from a doctor. The authorisation of the CNS, with a favourable opinion from the CMSS, is required in order to claim a refund later. Each request is evaluated in administrative and medical terms and the insured person is notified of the decision.

There is a standard form which doctors use to make the request. This form "demande d'autorisation préalable d'un transfert à l'étranger" is defined by annex L of the CNS statutes. The request can be sent to the CNS by post, fax or e-mail or submitted in person to CNS desk 14 in Hollerich.

What is the validity period of the S2 form? Can it be renewed? If so, under what conditions?

The S2 is valid for the period mentioned under point 2.3.1 of the form. In general, the validity period corresponds to the duration requested by the prescribing doctor, which is the basis on which the CMSS gives its opinion. If necessary, an extension may be requested by the patient's doctor for sound medical reasons.

A renewal can be requested by the patient's doctors under the same terms as the initial request.

If authorisation for a transfer abroad is granted, what do I do with the S2 form? Who do I give it to?

It is not clearly defined whether the foreign doctor offering the treatment is required to accept the S2 form. It is therefore advisable to ask the specialist centre abroad beforehand whether they agree to accept the S2 form and to carry out the formalities required in relation to the legal health insurance fund abroad.

If the specialist centre does not carry out these formalities, you will have to ask a local health insurance fund of your choice about the procedure to follow with the S2 form.

If consultations or outpatient examinations are all that is required, you can also advance the costs yourself and apply for a reimbursement from your insurer in Luxembourg.

For treatments that use highly specialist medical equipment or other treatments subject to special authorisation procedures involving the health insurance fund in the country of treatment, it is important that the S2 form and the request for authorisation to cover the medical care are submitted to the foreign health insurance fund for approval. In general, the specialist centre abroad will take care to comply with the procedures.

In the event of treatment in a EU Member State, can I receive treatment in the establishment of my choice, or are there restrictions?

In the context of the 883/2004 Regulation, treatment is only covered at the establishment mentioned on the S2. The transfer request necessarily refers to a specific treatment at a specific establishment and is authorised by the CNS based on a favourable opinion from the CMSS.

If the request concerns a non-approved private establishment that does not accept the S2, the 2011/24 directive applies. Here again, if authorisation is granted, the entitlement to cover only applies to the specific establishment mentioned on the request.

How does cover work for the costs incurred through authorised treatment at a foreign hospital? Do I have to pay the foreign clinic directly?
  1. If you have S2 authorisation, the cost of treatment is covered by a health insurer in the country of treatment at the rates and tariffs of that country. Ideally, cover is provided through the third-party payment system, i.e. the fund in the treatment country covers the treatment and you are responsible only for the proportion payable by the patient and any supplements.

    If third-party payment does not apply, you must advance the costs and apply to your insurer in the treatment country or the Luxembourg fund for a reimbursement. The reimbursement is provided at the rates of the treatment country. On express request, an additional refund may be applied for from the competent fund in Luxembourg.
  2. In the case of a 2011/24 directive agreement, you must advance the costs in all cases and apply for reimbursement from the Luxembourg health fund. The reimbursement will be made at the rates, tariffs and conditions in force in Luxembourg.
What is covered?
  1. The S2 authorisation only allows for coverage under the same conditions and at the same rates and tariffs of the country of treatment. The S2 form does not guarantee full coverage of the medical costs incurred.

    For example, fee supplements and other personal arrangements are not covered (e.g. Chefarztbehandlung, Wahlleistungen, supplement for a room with one bed or two beds, etc.) You can request an additional refund from the competent insurer. If the costs payable by you, excluding any supplements, are higher than the costs theoretically payable in your competent country, you can receive the difference within the limit of the reimbursement rates and tariffs in the competent country.

  2. With an authorisation under article 20 of the CSS (following transposition of directive 2011/24 into Luxembourg Law), healthcare is covered at the rates and tariffs of the competent country.
What can I do if the S2 is not taken into consideration by the provider and I receive an invoice to pay the total amount?

It is important to obtain as much information as possible about the coverage through the S2 form before treatment begins. The healthcare professional or even the health insurance fund in the country of treatment can provide you with information.

If the provider refuses coverage based on the S2, you must pay the invoice and request a refund.

In the case of inpatient treatment, approved centres should invoice the treatment directly to the insurer in the country of treatment. They may sometimes request a coverage form/certificate issued by this local health insurer. This is why it is important to seek information beforehand.

In the case of inpatient treatment, if you receive an invoice from the establishment even though you provided the S2 form, it is advisable to contact the establishment and try to arrange direct coverage. The CNS International Department can also assist; they will try to convince the provider to accept the S2 form and withdraw the invoice.

I would like to receive treatment in a country outside the European Union, Switzerland and the EEA. What rules do I need to observe?

Countries bound by bilateral agreement with Luxembourg should be distinguished from countries with no agreements.

All medical treatment planned before departure is subject to prior authorisation from the CNS based on a favourable opinion from the CMSS. The same procedure for requesting authorisation applies here and in the other EU and EEA countries as well as Switzerland.

  1. For countries linked to Luxembourg by an agreement in terms of social security, the principles laid out by the respective agreement apply. If authorisation is granted, some agreements provide for a specific form allowing for coverage according to the rates and tariffs in force in the country of treatment. The specific details of each agreement must be checked on a case-by-case basis.
    The countries are:
  2. Bosnia-Herzegovina LU-BiH112
    Macedonia L-RM112
    Montenegro MNE/L-112
    Serbia SRB/LUX 112
    Turkey TR/L-3
  3. For third-countries not linked to Luxembourg by an agreement in terms of social security, if authorisation is granted, you receive a certificate of coverage (titre de prise en charge) from the CNS. You must pay the costs of the treatment in full and apply for reimbursement on their return. The CMSS sets the refund amount or decides whether any increase may be granted
What reasons might lead to authorisation for treatment abroad being refused?

Administrative reasons

  • No affiliation;
  • Non-compliance with the APCM (prior authorisation from the CMSS);
  • Non-compliance with the authorisation request procedure;
  • The treatment falls outside the scope of health insurance;
  • The treatment is not covered or the conditions for coverage are not fulfilled;
  • ...

Medical reasons

  • The healthcare can be provided in Luxembourg within a time limit that is medically justifiable, taking into account his current state of health and the probable course of the condition;
  • A clinical examination shows with sufficient certainty that the patient will be exposed to a safety risk that cannot be considered acceptable given the potential advantage for the patient of seeking healthcare abroad;
  • There are valid reasons to think that the general public will be exposed to a considerable safety risk if the patient seeks healthcare abroad;
  • The healthcare must be provided by a foreign healthcare provider that arouses serious specific concerns with regard to compliance with standards and approaches relating to the quality of care and patient safety.
  • ...
What can be done if authorisation for treatment abroad is refused (appeal process)?

If authorisation is not granted, the parties may send a written objection to the Council of Administration of the CNS within forty days of receiving the decision.

To be valid, the objection must be signed by yourself, your legal representative or your proxy. The proxy may be a lawyer or a representative of a professional association or trade union of which you may be a member and must have a special written power of attorney.

It is advisable to send the objection by registered post to the address of the Council of Administration of the CNS.

Where can the S2 authorisation form be found?

The S2 authorisation form can be found under the section Forms.

Last update

Häufig gestellte Fragen - Behandlung im Ausland

Ist im Falle eines Arztbesuchs in einem EU-Mitgliedsstaat eine vorherige Genehmigung erforderlich?

Nein, für einfache Konsultationen eines Arztes (in einem Zentrum, einer Klinik oder einem Krankenhaus im Ausland) müssen Sie keine vorherige Genehmigung erhalten. Die Erstattung erfolgt nach den luxemburgischen Sätzen und Tarifen. Denken Sie daran, dass bei einer Nichtbeachtung der durch die Satzungen der CNS vorgesehenen Modalitäten keinerlei Erstattung gewährt werden kann.

Dagegen ist eine Genehmigung notwendig, wenn der Arzt für diese Konsultation ein hochspezialisiertes medizinisches Gerät nutzt, das in der einschränkenden Liste (tableau des équipements et appareils soumis à planification) angegeben ist, oder wenn die Maßnahme des Arztes die Nutzung der Krankenhausinfrastruktur benötigt.

Eine vorherige Genehmigung kann immer beantragt werden, wenn ein verschreibender Arzt den Patienten an einen Kollegen im Ausland verweist. In diesem Fall ist das Verfahren zur Beantragung einer vorherigen Genehmigung einzuhalten.

Mit einer vorherigen Überweisungsgenehmigung hat der Versicherte Anspruch auf die Zahlung einer Reiseentschädigung, was nicht der Fall ist, wenn er über keine vorherige Überweisungsgenehmigung verfügt.

 

Ich möchte in einen Mitgliedsstaat der EU, die Schweiz, nach Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen reisen, um mich behandeln zu lassen. Was muss ich beachten?

Die Bedingungen für die Kostenerstattung hängen von den Leistungen ab, die Sie im Ausland in Anspruch nehmen wollen, und ob es sich um eine genehmigte Behandlung oder nicht handelt.

  1. Bestimmte Arten von Behandlungen können im Ausland nur nach vorheriger Genehmigung durchgeführt werden. Zu den Leistungen, die zwingend einer vorherigen Genehmigung durch das zuständige Land unterliegen, gehören:
    1. stationäre Behandlungen (mindestens 1 Nacht im Krankenhaus),
    2. Behandlungen, die die Infrastruktur eines Krankenhauses nutzen,
    3. Behandlungen, die eine hochspezialisierte medizinische Ausstattung erfordern,
    4. eine Behandlung, die dem APCM unterliegt,
    5. ...
  2. Im Fall von ambulanten Leistungen, die keiner vorherigen Genehmigung bedürfen (z. B. Arztpraxis, einfache Konsultation eines Facharztes in einem Zentrum oder einer Klinik im Ausland usw.), ist die Erstattung bei Vorlage der ordnungsgemäß quittierten Rechnungen gemäß dem Tarif des zuständigen Landes ohne vorherige Genehmigung möglich.
Wie sieht die Genehmigung einer Behandlung im Ausland aus?

Es gibt zwei Arten einer möglichen Behandlungsgenehmigung im Ausland:

S2 Genehmigung

Dieses Formular S2 ist durch die Verordnungen (EG) 883/2004 und (EG) 987/2009 vorgesehen. Es wird nach einer positiven Stellungnahme des CMSS ausgehändigt und erlaubt die Kostenübernahme in Höhe der Tarife des Behandlungslandes. Im Idealfall ist die Kostenübernahme durch das System des Drittzahlers im Behandlungsland möglich. Eine ergänzende Erstattung kann im zuständigen Land (Luxemburg) beantragt werden.

Da die Abrechnung und/oder die Erstattung von Leistungen im Ausland von den Abrechnungen/Erstattungen in Luxemburg abweichen kann, ist es wichtig, auch alle Formalitäten bei einer eventuellen Ergänzungskasse zu erledigen (Kopien des Antrags + S2 Genehmigung der CNS).

Genehmigung im Rahmen des Artikels 20 des Gesetzbuches der sozialen Sicherheit

Die europäische Richtlinie 2011/24, die in luxemburgisches Recht umgesetzt wurde (Artikel 20 des Gesetzbuches der sozialen Sicherheit), sieht auch die Genehmigung von Gesundheitsleistungen im Ausland vor. Im Fall einer Genehmigung per Richtlinie zahlen Sie die entstandenen Kosten ganz und erhalten dann die Erstattung von Ihrer zuständigen luxemburgischen Kasse zu den in Luxemburg anwendbaren Bedingungen und Tarifen. Im Fall einer Genehmigung erhält der Versicherte einen Erstattungsbeleg, der die Erstattungsmodalitäten erklärt (vorzustreckende Kosten, bei der zuständigen luxemburgischen Kasse zu beantragende Erstattung, gemäß den Tarifen oder festgelegte Pauschalbeträge). Da die berechneten Kosten hoch und weit höher als der von der luxemburgischen Kasse erstattete Betrag sein können, sollte der Versicherte in seinem eigenen Interesse darauf achten, sich im ausländischen Fachzentrum einen Kostenvoranschlag für seine Behandlung geben zu lassen.

Das Verfahren des Antrags auf Genehmigung ist für beide Arten von Genehmigungen gleich.

Im Fall einer stationären Behandlung oder einer anderen genehmigungspflichtigen Behandlung ohne S2 oder Genehmigung per Richtlinie wird die Erstattung abgelehnt.

Was ist ein Formular S2?

Dieses Formular bestätigt Ihren Anspruch auf eine geplante Behandlung im Ausland. Mit dem Formular S2 haben Sie Anspruch auf die gleichen Bedingungen bei der Erstattung und die gleichen Tarifen wie die Sozialversicherten im Behandlungsland. Im Idealfall ermöglicht es die Übernahme der Behandlungskosten per Drittzahler durch eine lokale Krankenkasse im Behandlungsland.

Falls das Prinzip des Drittzahlers nicht greift, wird eine Erstattung zu den Sätzen der Sozialtarife des Behandlungslands durch den Träger des Behandlungslands vorgesehen. Bei der zuständigen Kasse in Luxemburg kann eine mögliche ergänzende Erstattung beantragt werden.

Wie erhalte ich eine Genehmigung einer Behandlung im Ausland?

Jede Genehmigung ist bei der CNS vor Beginn der geplanten Behandlung zu beantragen. Dies geschieht durch den schriftlich begründeten Antrag eines Facharztes. Die Zustimmung der CNS nach positiver Stellungnahme des CMSS ist notwendig, um in diesem Fall später Anspruch auf Erstattung zu haben. Auf jeden Antrag folgt eine administrative und medizinische Beurteilung. Die Genehmigung oder auch Ablehnung werden dem betroffenen Versicherten dann mitgeteilt.

Für den Antrag gibt es ein spezielles Formular (Anhang L der CNS Satzungen), welches die Ärzte verwenden. Der Antrag kann bei der CNS schriftlich, per Fax oder per E-Mail eingereicht werden.

Wie lange gilt das Formular S2? Kann es erneuert werden? Falls ja, unter welchen Umständen?

Das S2 ist für den unter Punkt 2.3.1 des Formulars angegebenen Zeitraum gültig. Im Allgemeinen entspricht dieser Gültigkeitszeitraum dem Zeitraum, den der verschreibende Arzt anfordert und auf Basis dessen der kontrollärztliche Dienst der sozialen Sicherheit (CMSS) seine Stellungnahme abgegeben hat. Eine Verlängerung kann, falls erforderlich, durch die behandelnden Ärzte mit medizinischer Begründung beantragt werden.

Eine Erneuerung kann von den behandelnden Ärzten (bei Behandlung: Fachärzten) in der gleichen Form wie der ursprüngliche Antrag beantragt werden.

Falls die Behandlung im Ausland genehmigt wird, was mache ich dann mit dem Formular S2? Bei wem reiche ich es ein?

Es ist nicht eindeutig festgelegt, ob der ausländische Facharzt, der die Behandlung anbietet, verpflichtet ist, das Formular S2 anzunehmen. Es empfiehlt sich daher, sich im Vorfeld bei dem spezialisierten Zentrum im Ausland darüber zu informieren, ob sie das Formular S2 akzeptieren und alle erforderlichen Schritte bei der gesetzlichen Krankenkasse im Ausland unternimmt.

Falls das spezialisierte Zentrum die Schritte nicht einleitet, müssen Sie daran denken, sich bei einer lokalen Kasse Ihrer Wahl über die Vorgehensweise zu informieren, die es beim Formular S2 zu beachten gilt.

Falls es sich lediglich um Konsultationen oder um ambulante Untersuchungen handelt, können Sie die Kosten auch vorstrecken und die Erstattung dann bei Ihrer Kasse in Luxemburg beantragen.

Bei Behandlungen, bei denen hochspezialisierte oder andere medizinische Geräte zum Einsatz kommen, die speziellen Genehmigungsverfahren durch die Krankenkasse am Ort der Behandlung unterliegen, ist es wichtig, dass das Formular S2 mit dem Antrag auf Übernahme des medizinischen Geräts, der Krankenkasse im Ausland zwecks Genehmigung vorgelegt wird. Im Allgemeinen achtet das Fachzentrum im Ausland darauf, dass die Verfahren dort eingehalten werden.

Kann ich mich im Fall einer Behandlung in einem EU-Mitgliedsstaat in einer Einrichtung meiner Wahl behandeln lassen oder gibt es hier Einschränkungen?

Im Rahmen der Verordnung 883/2044 wird die Behandlung nur für die Einrichtung, die im S2 angeführt ist, übernommen. Der Überweisungsantrag betrifft eine genau definierte Behandlung in einer genau festgelegten Einrichtung und wird von der CNS nach positiver Stellungnahme des CMSS genehmigt.

Falls der Antrag eine Privateinrichtung betrifft, die kein Abkommen hat und das S2 nicht akzeptiert, findet die europäische Richtlinie 2011/24 Anwendung. Bei Genehmigung gilt der Erstattungsbeleg (titre de prise en charge) hier ebenfalls nur für die auf dem Antrag angegebene Einrichtung.

Wie läuft die Übernahme der Kosten, die für eine genehmigte Behandlung in einem ausländischen Krankenhaus angefallen sind? Muss ich in der ausländischen Klinik direkt bezahlen?
  1. Im Falle einer Genehmigung mit einem S2 hat eine Übernahme der Behandlungskosten durch die Krankenkasse im Behandlungsland zu den Sätzen und Tarifen dieses Behandlungslands stattgefunden. Im Idealfall erfolgt die Übernahme über einen Drittzahler, d. h. dass die Kasse des Behandlungslands die Behandlungskosten übernimmt und Sie lediglich den Patientenanteil und gegebenenfalls Zuschläge bezahlen müssen.
    Falls das Prinzip des Drittzahlers nicht greift, müssen Sie die Kosten vorstrecken und bei Ihrer Kasse im Behandlungsland oder der luxemburgischen Kasse die Erstattung beantragen. Die Erstattung erfolgt zu den Sätzen und Tarifen des Behandlungslandes. Bei der zuständigen Kasse in Luxemburg kann eine mögliche ergänzende Erstattung beantragt werden.
  2. Im Falle einer Zustimmung durch die europäische Richtlinie 2011/24 müssen Sie in jedem Fall alle Kosten vorstrecken und die Erstattung bei der luxemburgischen Kasse beantragen. Die Erstattung erfolgt zu den in Luxemburg anwendbaren Sätzen, Tarifen und Bedingungen.
Was wird übernommen?
  1. Im Fall einer S2 Genehmigung erlaubt das Formular S2 lediglich die Kostenübernahme zu den Sätzen und Tarifen des Behandlungslands. Dieses S2 ist keine Garantie dafür, dass der Gesamtbetrag übernommen wird.
    So sind beispielsweise Überschreitungen der Honorare oder andere persönlich gewählte Optionen nicht erstattungsfähig (z. B. Chefarztbehandlung, Wahlleistungen, Zuschlag Einzel- oder Doppelbettzimmer usw.).

    Sie können bei der zuständigen Kasse eine ergänzende Erstattung beantragen. Falls die Kosten zu Ihren Lasten, abgesehen von eventuellen Zuschlägen, höher sind als die theoretisch zu Ihren Lasten gehenden Kosten in Ihrem zuständigen Land, erhalten Sie diese Ergänzung im Rahmen der Sätze und Tarife des zuständigen Landes.
  2. Im Falle einer Genehmigung per europäische Richtlinie 2011/24 werden die Kosten in Höhe der Sätze und Tarife des zuständigen Landes übernommen.
Was kann ich tun, wenn das S2 vom Dienstleister nicht berücksichtigt wird und ich eine Rechnung erhalte um den Gesamtbetrag zu begleichen?

Vor Beginn der Behandlung müssen Sie sich so gut wie möglich über die Möglichkeit einer Kostenübernahme auf Basis des S2 informieren, sowohl beim Leistungserbringer sowie eventuell auch bei einer Krankenkasse im Behandlungsland.

Falls der Leistungserbringer die Übernahme auf der Basis des S2 ablehnt, sind Sie gezwungen, die Rechnung zu bezahlen und die Erstattung zu beantragen.

Im Fall einer stationären Behandlung müssen die Zentren mit Abkommen die Gesundheitsleistungen direkt mit der Kasse im Behandlungsland abrechnen. Es kann vorkommen, dass sie ein Formular zur Übernahme fordern, das von dieser lokalen Krankenkasse ausgestellt wurde. Daher ist es wichtig, sich im Vorfeld zu informieren.

Wenn Sie im Fall einer stationären Behandlung eine Rechnung von der Einrichtung erhalten, obwohl Ihnen ein S2 ausgehändigt wurde, ist es ratsam, Kontakt mit der Einrichtung aufzunehmen, um eventuell zu arrangieren, dass die Kostenübernahme direkt erfolgt. Auch die internationale Abteilung der CNS kann eingeschaltet werden. Die Sachbearbeiter versuchen, den Leistungserbringer dazu zu überreden, das Formular S2 anzunehmen und die Rechnung zurückzuziehen.

 

Ich möchte mich in einem Land außerhalb der Europäischen Union, der Schweiz, des EWR behandeln lassen. Was muss ich beachten?

Es ist zwischen Ländern, die ein bilaterales Abkommen mit Luxemburg haben, und Ländern, die ein solches Abkommen nicht haben, zu unterscheiden.

Jede geplante medizinische Behandlung muss vor Abreise zwecks Genehmigung der CNS nach positiver Stellungnahme des CMSS vorgelegt werden. Hier - wie auch in den EU-Ländern, der Schweiz und dem EWR - ist das Verfahren des Antrags auf Genehmigung gleich.

  1. Wenn es sich um ein Land handelt, das ein bilaterales Sozialversicherungsabkommen mit Luxemburg abgeschlossen hat, finden die Prinzipien dieses Abkommens Anwendung. Einige Abkommen sehen ein spezielles Formular vor, das bei Genehmigung eine Übernahme der Kosten gemäß den im Behandlungsland anwendbaren Sätzen und Tarifen vorsieht. Die möglichen Besonderheiten des Abkommens müssen von Fall zu Fall überprüft werden. Es handelt sich um folgende Länder:
  2. Bosnien-Herzegowina

    LU-BiH112
    Mazedonien L-RM112
    Montenegro MNE/L-112
    Serbien SRB/LUX 112
    Türkei TR/L-3
  3. Wenn es sich um ein Land ohne Abkommen handelt, erhalten Sie bei Genehmigung einen Erstattungsbeleg (titre de prise en charge) ausgestellt von der CNS. Sie müssen alle Kosten vorstrecken und nach Ihrer Rückkehr die Erstattung beantragen. Der CMSS legt den zu erstattenden Betrag fest oder entscheidet, ob gegebenenfalls ein Zuschlag gewährt werden kann.
Aus welchen Gründen kann die Genehmigung einer Behandlung im Ausland abgelehnt werden?

Administrative Gründe

  • Keine Mitgliedschaft,
  • Nichteinhaltung des APCM (vorherige Genehmigung durch den kontrollärztlichen Dienst der sozialen Sicherheit),
  • das Verfahren zum Genehmigungsantrag wurde nicht eingehalten,
  • die Behandlung fällt nicht unter den Anwendungsbereich der Kasse,
  • die Behandlung wird nicht übernommen oder die Bedingungen für die Übernahme werden nicht erfüllt,
  • ...

Medizinische Gründe

  • Die Gesundheitsleistungen können auf luxemburgischem Gebiet innerhalb einer aus medizinischer Sicht akzeptablen Frist erbracht werden, wobei der aktuelle Gesundheitszustand des betroffenen Patienten und die vermutliche Entwicklung seiner Krankheit berücksichtigt werden,
  • eine klinische Untersuchung zeigt mit ausreichender Sicherheit, dass der Patient einem Sicherheitsrisiko ausgesetzt wird, das nicht als annehmbar erachtet werden kann, wenn man den möglichen Vorteil für den Patienten bei den gewünschten grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsleistungen dagegen abwägt,
  • es gibt gute Gründe für die Annahme, dass die breite Öffentlichkeit einem beträchtlichen Sicherheitsrisiko ausgesetzt wird, wenn es um die in Frage kommenden grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsleistungen geht,
  • die Gesundheitsleistungen müssen von einem Leistungserbringer für Gesundheitsversorgung erbracht werden, der Anlass zur Besorgnis gibt. Erhebliche Besorgnis besteht hier vor allen Dingen, was die Einhaltung von Normen und die Einstellung zur Leistungsqualität und Patientensicherheit betrifft.
  • ...
Was ist zu tun, wenn eine Behandlung im Ausland nicht genehmigt wird? (Rechtsmittel)

Im Fall einer ABLEHNUNG DER GENEHMIGUNG steht es den Parteien frei, innerhalb von vierzig Tagen ab der Benachrichtigung schriftlich Einspruch beim Verwaltungsrat der CNS einzulegen.

Ein Einspruch muss, um zulässig zu sein, von Ihnen selbst, Ihrem gesetzlichen Vertreter oder Ihrem Rechtsvertreter unterzeichnet sein. Beim Rechtsvertreter kann es sich um einen Anwalt oder den Vertreter eines Berufs- oder Gewerkschaftsverbands handeln, dem Sie möglicherweise angehören. Dies wird durch eine schriftliche Sondervollmacht belegt.

Es ist gegebenenfalls ratsam, den Einspruch per Einschreiben an den Verwaltungsrat der CNS zu schicken.

Wo finde ich das Formular "Antrag auf vorherige Genehmigung einer Auslandsüberweisung"?

In der Rubrik Formulare finden Sie den Antrag auf vorherige Genehmigung einer Auslandsüberweisung.

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am