Countries outside of the EU, the EEA and Switzerland

Countries bound by bilateral agreement with Luxembourg should be distinguished from countries with no agreements.

All medical treatment planned before departure is subject to prior authorisation from the CNS based on a favourable opinion from the CMSS. The same procedure for requesting authorisation applies here and in the other EU and EEA countries as well as Switzerland.

 

Countries linked to Luxembourg by an agreement in terms of social security

The principles laid out by the respective agreement apply. If authorisation is granted, some agreements provide for a specific form allowing for coverage according to the rates and tariffs in force in the country of treatment. The specific details of each agreement must be checked on a case-by-case basis.

The countries are:

Bosnia-Herzegovina LU-BiH112
Macedonia L-RM112
Montenegro MNE/L-112
Serbia SRB/LUX 112
Turkey TR/L-3

 

Third-countries not linked to Luxembourg by an agreement in terms of social security

If a justified request is made by a specialist doctor and if the CMSS issues a favourable opinion, it is possible to receive a transfer authorisation for medical treatment in one of these countries with no bilateral agreement. If agreement is given, the insured person receives a certificate of coverage (titre de prise en charge) from the CNS.

The insured person must pay the costs of the treatment in full and apply for reimbursement on their return. The CMSS sets the refund amount or decides whether any increase may be granted.

If agreement is given for treatment outside the European Union and the European continent, the insured person is entitled to a special fixed travel allowance. The same allowance is payable for an authorised accompanying person.

Last update

Länder außerhalb der EU, des EWR und der Schweiz

Es ist zwischen Ländern, die ein bilaterales Abkommen mit Luxemburg haben, und Ländern, die ein solches Abkommen nicht haben, zu unterscheiden.

Jede geplante medizinische Behandlung muss vor Abreise zwecks Genehmigung der CNS nach positiver Stellungnahme des CMSS vorgelegt werden. Hier - wie auch in den EU-Ländern, der Schweiz und dem EWR - ist das Verfahren des Antrags auf Genehmigung gleich.

Länder, die ein bilaterales Sozialversicherungsabkommen mit Luxemburg abgeschlossen haben

Wenn es sich um ein Land handelt, welches ein bilaterales Sozialversicherungsabkommen mit Luxemburg abgeschlossen hat, finden die Prinzipien dieses Abkommens Anwendung. Einige Abkommen sehen ein spezielles Formular vor, das bei Genehmigung eine Übernahme der Kosten gemäß den im Behandlungsland anwendbaren Sätzen und Tarifen vorsieht. Die möglichen Besonderheiten des Abkommens müssen von Fall zu Fall überprüft werden.

Es handelt sich um folgende Länder:

Bosnien-Herzegowina LU-BiH112

Mazedonien

L-RM112
Montenegro MNE/L-112
Serbien SRB/LUX 112
Türkei TR/L-3

Länder, die kein bilaterales Sozialversicherungsabkommen mit Luxemburg abgeschlossen haben

Im Fall eines begründeten Antrags von einem Facharzt und nach positiver Stellungnahme des CMSS besteht eventuell die Möglichkeit einer Überweisungsgenehmigung für eine medizinische Behandlung in einem Land ohne Abkommen mit Luxemburg. Bei Genehmigung erhält der Versicherte einen Erstattungsbeleg (titre de prise en charge) ausgestellt von der CNS.

Der Versicherte muss alle Kosten vorstrecken und nach seiner Rückkehr die Erstattung beantragen. Der CMSS legt den zu erstattenden Betrag fest oder entscheidet, ob gegebenenfalls ein Zuschlag gewährt werden kann.

Falls die Behandlung außerhalb der Europäischen Union und des europäischen Kontinents genehmigt wird, hat der Versicherte Anspruch auf Erstattung eines Pauschalbetrags für die Reisekosten. Die gleiche Erstattung erfolgt auch an die genehmigte Begleitperson.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am