Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

What do I need to look out for when receiving healthcare abroad (EU, EEA and Switzerland)?

A distinction must be made between emergency (essential) treatment and planned treatment. The terms of coverage depend on whether the treatment abroad is urgent (essential treatment) or planned.

Emergency treatment (essential treatment during the stay)

If you are staying abroad (holidays, studies, detachment etc.), any essential treatment is paid for on the basis of the European Health Insurance Card (EHIC).

Upon presentation of the EHIC or a replacement certificate, you can receive treatment in the country where you are staying under the same conditions as a resident.

Planned treatment

It is possible to deliberately decide to seek treatment abroad before leaving Luxembourg.

Inpatient care

Inpatient care (at least one overnight stay) requires prior authorisation from Luxembourg in order for the treatment to be covered. Upon presentation of a transfer request issued by a specialist doctor and following a favourable opinion from the CMSS, two types of agreement are possible.

  1. Either the CNS issues an S2 form, which guarantees coverage for planned care in the treatment country according to the rates and tariffs in force there.
  2. Or the CNS issues a "directive" authorisation, i.e. a letter of coverage that tells you the treatment is authorised and that the invoices paid will be reimbursed at Luxembourg tariffs. (Naturally, the reimbursement cannot exceed the costs actually paid.)

Outpatient care (hospital care with no overnight stay or outside of the hospital, for instance in a medical practice...)

For outpatient treatment (hospital treatment with no overnight stay or treatment outside hospital, e.g. at a doctor's practice etc.), prior authorisation is not required. However, if the treatment provided involves highly specialised and costly medical infrastructure or equipment, authorisation is necessary. Planned outpatient treatment is reimbursed by Luxembourg according to Luxembourg rates and tariffs.

 

Which country's legislation applies in cases of emergency care received in a EU Member State, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway?

If immediate access to healthcare proves necessary during a temporary stay in a EU Member State, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway, regardless of the purpose of the stay (holiday, studies, detachment etc.), treatment will be paid for based on your European Health Insurance Card.

The European card certifies that you are entitled to any health treatments necessary from a medical point of view in the country where you are staying, subject to the nature of the treatment and the planned length of your stay. This means that you are entitled to care from a medical viewpoint in order to ensure that you do not have to interrupt your stay to seek treatment.

The European Health Insurance Card entitles you to the same treatment as residents of the country where you are staying. This applies equally to procedures/conditions as to the price of the care received.

When and how can I use the European Health Insurance Card?

The European card can be used in all the Member States of the European Union as well as in Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland when you need healthcare, whether you are on holiday, studying or travelling for work, subject to the length of your stay. Under a bilateral agreement with the respective countries, the European Health Insurance Card is also valid for stays in Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro.

Your European Health Insurance Card is issued in your name and cannot be used by anyone else. If you are no longer insured in the country that issued the card, it can no longer be used. The card certifies that you are entitled to the necessary healthcare in the Member State where you are staying in order to continue your stay under safe medical conditions rather than having to interrupt your stay to seek treatment at home. Presenting the card entitles you to payment or subsequent reimbursement of medical costs incurred in the country you are visiting. This means you can be reimbursed directly for the costs incurred by the health insurance fund in the country where you are staying.

When and how am I not allowed to use the European Health Insurance Card?

The card cannot be used for planned treatment, i.e. when the only reason for your travel is to receive healthcare or medical treatment.

The European Health Insurance Card can only be used with approved healthcare providers, i.e. providers associated with the country's social security system. However, if the treatment is delivered by a non-approved or private provider, the costs can still be reimbursed under the terms of directive 2011/24 according to Luxembourg conditions and tariffs.

What can I do if my European Health Insurance Card is not accepted?

For necessary treatments, you must pay the costs for the medical care received and apply for reimbursement either from a health insurance fund in the country where you are staying or from your competent fund.

 

  • If invoices are sent/given to the fund in the country you are visiting, you will be reimbursed according to the rates and tariffs of that country.
  • If invoices are sent/given to the competent fund, it will ask the fund in the country visited for the tariffs applied (using form E126/S067). As soon as a response is received, you will be reimbursed according to the rates and tariffs of the country you visited. In addition, when the invoices are sent/given to your competent fund you can expressly request to be reimbursed based on Luxembourg rates and tariffs.

 

With an approved healthcare provider and for necessary treatment, the card can normally not be refused.

If I fall ill abroad and I do not have my European Health Insurance Card, what can I do?

If you do not have your European Health Insurance Card with you, the cover for medical treatment according to the same conditions and prices as residents does not apply. For example, even if certain emergency/necessary treatments are free (paid for directly by the foreign health fund) for residents, you may have to pay a fee.

You will have to advance all the costs for the treatment received and ask your competent health fund for a refund on your return.

However, if you are hospitalised urgently during a temporary stay abroad, your competent fund can - upon request - send you, the hospital or the foreign health insurance fund a temporary replacement certificate which guarantees the same level of protection as your European Health Insurance Card. On the basis of this certificate, treatment will be covered as if you were insured in the country where the care is provided.

Which country's legislation applies in cases of planned care received in a EU Member State, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway?

Without Authorisation

If you want to seek treatment from a doctor, physiotherapist or other healthcare provider in a foreign surgery, health centre, clinic or hospital, you do not need prior authorisation from the CNS.

You must pay the costs of the treatment in full and apply for reimbursement from the Luxembourg health fund. You will be refunded according to the conditions and tariffs in force in Luxembourg.

With Authorisation

If the treatment involves an overnight inpatient stay or highly specialised medical facilities (on the list of treatments subject to prior agreement), prior authorisation is necessary.

  • If authorisation is granted for a transfer abroad, you will receive an S2 form as specified by regulation 883/2004. This form is issued following a favourable opinion from the CMSS and certifies your right to planned treatment in another European Union Member State, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland. On presentation of the S2 to the health insurance institution in the country where the treatment will be provided, you will receive healthcare under the same conditions as people insured in that country. The treatment covered by the authorisation is thus paid for according to the conditions and tariffs in the country where it is provided.
  • In addition, payment can take place under the terms of directive 2011/24/EU on the application of patients' rights in cross-border healthcare. The provisions of the directive apply if an S2 form cannot be issued because the treatment does not fall within the scope of application of the health insurance (e.g. rare illnesses), the treatment is provided in a private institution or you choose to apply the provisions of the directive. In this case, you pay the costs of the treatment in full and are refunded by your competent fund in Luxembourg according to the conditions and tariffs in force in Luxembourg.

NB. Make sure you keep detailed invoices so that the refund can be made at Luxembourg tariffs.

If I fall ill abroad, where should I send my medical certificate of incapacity for work?

An insured person in Luxembourg should send all medical certificates of incapacity for work to the CNS within 3 days. This means that if you fall ill in your country of residence or during a temporary stay abroad and you receive a medical certificate of incapacity for work, the certificate should always be sent to the health insurance fund in your country of affiliation rather than your country of residence.

If you are staying in a country that does not issue medical certificates of incapacity for work, the health insurance fund in the country you are visiting will still be able to issue a form certifying your illness. This form should be sent to the CNS.

Under what circumstances can a refund at Luxembourg tariffs be refused?

A refund may be refused, partially or in full, because of:

  • Treatment not provided for in Luxembourg;
  • Limits specified by the classification system (e.g. reductions, combinations of treatments, more than three actions, actions that cannot be combined with a consultation etc.);
  • Medication not included on the positive list of medications;
  • Analyses with no prior medical prescription attached;
  • Analyses invoiced by a medical clinic (grand ducal regulation restrictive list);
  • Physiotherapy, speech therapy, hearing aids without entitlement;
  • Physiotherapy by a provider other than a physiotherapist, e.g. a midwife;
  • Services that are non-refundable in Luxembourg (dental crowns with no prior quotation, adult orthodontics, orthosis over €125 etc. with no quotation and the prior authorisation of the CMSS);
  • Psychomotor treatment without the prior authorisation (APCM) of the CMSS;
  • Renewal interval not respected;
  • Requirement for entitlement to cover for physiotherapy, speech therapy and hearing aids;
  • Requirement to entitlement for medication not included on the positive list (following a request from a doctor); 
  • Prior authorisation from the CMSS for psychomotor treatment...

This is not an exhaustive list.

Any medical technique or diagnostic method used by a foreign specialist doctor involving hospital infrastructure and inpatient or partial inpatient accommodation costs not covered by prior authorisation from the CMSS (S2 form) will not be reimbursed and must be paid for in full.

What is the normal waiting time for the reimbursement of medical costs incurred abroad?

For emergency treatment abroad, the reimbursement time depends on the timeliness of the response provided by the foreign health insurance fund. When emergency treatment is provided, Luxembourg requests the tariff from the fund in the country where you were staying. This means that the reimbursement time varies depending on the time the various foreign funds take to respond.

In the case of planned outpatient treatment (without prior authorisation) in a country of the EU, EEA and Switzerland, Luxembourg issues the refund according to Luxembourg conditions, rates and tariffs. The normal waiting time is a few weeks.

Dernière mise à jour

Häufig gestellte Fragen - Urlaub in der EU, dem EWR und der Schweiz

Auf was muss ich achten, wenn ich Gesundheitsleistungen im Ausland in Anspruch nehme (EU, EWR + Schweiz)?

Es ist zwischen einer Notfallversorgung (notwendige Gesundheitsversorgung) und geplanten Gesundheitsleistungen zu unterscheiden. Die Erstattungsbedingungen sind je nachdem, ob es sich um eine Notfallversorgung oder um geplante Gesundheitsleistungen im Ausland handelt, unterschiedlich.

Notfallversorgung (notwendige Gesundheitsversorgung während des Aufenthalts)

Im Fall eines Auslandsaufenthalts (Ferien, Studium, Entsendung, ...) wird die eventuell in Anspruch genommene notwendige Gesundheitsversorgung durch die europäische Krankenversicherungskarte (EHIC) abgedeckt.

Bei Vorlage der EHIC oder einer Ersatzbescheinigung haben Sie im Land Ihres Aufenthalts zu den gleichen Bedingungen wie dort Ansässige, Recht auf Zugang zu Gesundheitsleistungen.

Geplante Gesundheitsleistungen

Es kann sein, dass Sie sich bewusst für eine Behandlung im Ausland entscheiden.

Im Fall einer stationären Behandlung

Im Fall einer stationären Behandlung benötigen Sie die vorherige Zustimmung aus Luxemburg, damit die Gesundheitsleistungen übernommen werden. Bei Vorlage eines Überweisungsantrags, der von einem Facharzt ausgestellt wurde, und nach einer befürwortenden Stellungnahme des CMSS sind zwei Arten von Genehmigung möglich.

  1. Entweder die CNS stellt ein Formular S2 aus, das Ihnen die Übernahme von geplanten Behandlungen im Behandlungsland gemäß den dort anwendbaren Sätzen und Tarifen garantiert.
  2. Oder die CNS stellt eine Genehmigung gemäß Richtlinie aus, d. h. ein Schreiben, das Ihnen bestätigt, dass die Behandlungen genehmigt sind und dass ausgehend von quittierten Rechnungen, eine Erstattung in Höhe des luxemburgischen Tarifs erfolgt (es wird natürlich nicht mehr als die tatsächlich angefallenen Kosten rückerstattet).

Im Fall einer ambulanten Behandlung (im Krankenhaus ohne Einweisung oder außerhalb des Krankenhauses, z. B. in einer Arztpraxis, ...

Im Fall einer ambulanten Behandlung (im Krankenhaus ohne Einweisung oder außerhalb des Krankenhauses, z. B. in einer Arztpraxis, ...) ist keine vorherige Zustimmung notwendig. Wenn die Behandlung im Rahmen von hochspeziellen und kostspieligen Infrastrukturen oder medizinischen Einrichtungen in Krankenhäusern erfolgt, ist eine Genehmigung erforderlich. Die geplanten ambulanten Gesundheitsleistungen werden von Luxemburg zu den anwendbaren luxemburgischen Sätzen und Tarifen rückerstattet.

 

Welche Gesetzgebung ist im Fall einer Notfallversorgung in einem Mitgliedsstaat der Europäischen Union, in der Schweiz, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen maßgebend?

Falls sich anlässlich eines vorübergehenden Aufenthalts in einem EU-Mitgliedsstaat, der Schweiz, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen und unabhängig vom Grund des Aufenthalts (Urlaub, Studium, Entsendung, ...) ein unmittelbarer Zugang zu Gesundheitsleistungen als notwendig erweisen sollte, ist Ihre Behandlung durch Ihre Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte abgedeckt.

Die europäische Karte belegt, dass Sie im Land Ihres Aufenthalts unter Berücksichtigung der Art der Leistungen und der geplanten Dauer des Aufenthalts, Anspruch auf Gesundheitsleistungen haben, die aus medizinischer Sicht notwendig sind. Sie haben also aus medizinischer Sicht Anspruch auf eine Behandlung, die gewährleistet, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt nicht unterbrechen müssen, um sich behandeln zu lassen.

Die Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte gewährt Ihnen das Recht auf die gleiche Behandlung, die auch Ansässige im Land Ihres Aufenthalts bekommen. Das gilt für die Methoden/Bedingungen ebenso wie für die Preise der in Anspruch genommenen Leistungen.

 

Wann und wie kann ich meine europäische Krankenversicherungskarte nutzen?

Die europäische Karte kann in allen Mitgliedsstaaten der Europäischen Union, in Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen und der Schweiz genutzt werden, wenn eine Behandlung unter Berücksichtigung der Dauer des temporären Aufenthalts notwendig wird, egal, ob es sich um Urlaub, ein Auslandsstudium oder Entsendungen handelt. Durch ein bilaterales Abkommen mit den jeweiligen Ländern gilt die Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte auch bei einem Aufenthalt in Mazedonien, Serbien und Montenegro.

Ihre Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte ist auf Ihren Namen ausgestellt und kann nur von Ihnen genutzt werden. Wenn Sie nicht mehr in dem Land, das die Karte ausgestellt hat, versichert sind, darf die Karte auch nicht mehr genutzt werden. Die Karte bescheinigt, dass Sie im Mitgliedsland Ihres Aufenthalts Anspruch auf medizinische Behandlungen haben, die erforderlich sind, damit Sie Ihren Aufenthalt zu medizinisch gesicherten Bedingungen fortsetzen können, anstelle gezwungen zu sein, Ihren Aufenthalt zu unterbrechen, um sich zu Hause behandeln zu lassen. Die Vorlage der europäischen Karte garantiert Ihnen die Übernahme oder die Erstattung der angefallenen medizinischen Kosten vor Ort. Sie haben daher die Möglichkeit, sich die entstandenen Kosten direkt von der Kasse Ihres Aufenthaltsortes erstatten zu lassen.

 

Wann und wie kann ich meine europäische Krankenversicherungskarte nicht nutzen?

Die Karte kann nicht genutzt werden, wenn die Behandlung geplant ist, das heißt wenn Sie mit dem alleinigen Ziel verreisen, Gesundheitsleistungen in Anspruch zu nehmen oder sich einer medizinischen Behandlung zu unterziehen.

Die Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte kann ausschließlich bei Leistungserbringern genutzt werden, die einer Konvention beigetreten und so an die Sozialversicherung in ihrem Land angeschlossen sind. Besteht für den Leistungserbringer dagegen kein Abkommen oder handelt es sich um einen privaten Leistungserbringer, so kann die Übernahme durch eine Erstattung gemäß den Bedingungen der europäischen Richtlinie 2011/24 zu luxemburgischen Bedingungen und Tarifen erfolgen.

Was kann ich machen, wenn meine europäische Krankenversicherungskarte nicht akzeptiert wird?

Handelt es sich um notwendige Gesundheitsleistungen, so müssen Sie die Kosten für die in Anspruch genommene medizinische Behandlung bezahlen und die Erstattung entweder bei einer Krankenkasse im Aufenthaltsland oder bei Ihrer zuständigen Kasse beantragen.

  • Wenn Sie Rechnungen bei der Kasse im Aufenthaltsland einreichen, erhalten Sie die Erstattung zu den Sätzen und Tarifen des Aufenthaltslands.
  • Wenn Sie Rechnungen bei der für Sie zuständigen Kasse einreichen, nimmt diese eine Tariffestsetzung der Rechnungen bei der Kasse des Aufenthaltslands vor (mittels Formular E126/S067). Nach Eingang der Antwort werden Ihnen die Kosten zu den Sätzen und Tarifen des Aufenthaltslands zurückerstattet. Darüber hinaus haben Sie die Möglichkeit, bei der zuständigen Kasse ausdrücklich zu beantragen, die Erstattung der eingereichten Rechnungen zu den luxemburgischen Sätzen und Tarifen zu erhalten.

Besteht für den Leistungserbringer ein Abkommen und ist die Behandlung notwendig, so kann die Karte normalerweise nicht abgelehnt werden.

Ich werde im Ausland krank und habe meine europäische Krankenversicherungskarte nicht dabei. Was kann ich tun?

Die Tatsache, dass Sie Ihre Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte nicht mit dabei haben, bedeutet, dass eine Kostenübernahme der medizinischen Behandlungen nicht zu den gleichen Bedingungen und Preisen wie für Ansässige erfolgt. Wenn also bestimmte notwendige Leistungen/Notfallversorgungen für Ansässige kostenlos sind (direkt von der Kasse übernommen werden), kann es sein, dass Sie dafür bezahlen müssen.

Sie müssen alle Kosten für die in Anspruch genommenen Leistungen vorstrecken und die Erstattung dann nach Ihrer Rückkehr bei der zuständigen Kasse beantragen.

Im Fall einer Notaufnahme in ein Krankenhaus während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthalts im Ausland kann Ihre zuständige Kasse Ihnen, dem Krankenhaus oder der ausländischen Krankenkasse auf Anfrage eine provisorische Ersatzbescheinigung mit begrenzter Gültigkeit zusenden, die Ihnen den gleichen Schutz wie Ihre europäische Krankenversicherungskarte bietet. Mit dieser Bescheinigung werden die Leistungen so übernommen, als wären Sie in dem Land versichert, in dem die Behandlungen erfolgen.

Ich werde im Ausland krank. Wohin muss ich meine Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung schicken?

Ein luxemburgischer Versicherter muss jede Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung innerhalb von drei Tagen an die CNS schicken. Wenn Sie also im Land Ihres Aufenthalts oder während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthalts im Ausland krank werden und Sie eine Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung bekommen, muss auch diese an die Krankenkasse des Landes, in dem Sie Ihre Beiträge bezahlen, und nicht an die Ihres Aufenthaltslands geschickt werden.

Im Fall eines Aufenthalts in einem Land, das keine Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigungen ausstellt, kann die Krankenkasse dieses Aufenthaltslandes ein Formular ausstellen, das die Krankheit bescheinigt. Dieses Formular ist an die CNS zu richten.

Wann kann eine Erstattung gemäß luxemburgischen Tarifen abgelehnt werden?

Eine Erstattung kann aus folgenden Gründen teilweise oder ganz abgelehnt werden:

  • Behandlung in Luxemburg nicht vorgesehen,
  • Einschränkungen durch die Nomenklaturen (z. B. Abzüge, Kumulierungen, mehr als 3 Akte, Akte nicht kumulierbar durch Konsultation usw.),
  • Medikamente stehen nicht auf der Positivliste für Arzneimittel,
  • Analysen ohne zuvor beigefügte medizinische Verschreibung,
  • Analysen von Arztpraxis berechnet (einschränkende Liste der großherzoglichen Verordnung),
  • Krankengymnastik, Logopädie, Hörgeräte ohne Beleg,
  • Krankengymnastik bei einem anderen Leistungserbringer als einem Krankengymnasten, z. B. einer Hebamme,
  • Leistungen in Luxemburg nicht erstattungsfähig (Zahnkronen ohne vorherigen Kostenvoranschlag, Zahnregulierungen für Erwachsene, Orthesen (falls teurer als 125 €) etc. ohne Kostenvoranschlag und vorherige Zustimmung des (CMSS),
  • psychomotorische Behandlung ohne vorherige Zustimmung des medizinischen Kontrolldienstes (APCM),
  • Erneuerungsfrist nicht eingehalten (siehe Frage 15),
  • Erstattungsbeleg erforderlich für Krankengymnastik, Logopädie oder Hörgeräte,
  • Erstattungsbeleg erforderlich für Medikamente, die nicht in der Positivliste stehen (im Anschluss an einen Antrag seitens eines Arztes),
  • vorherige Bewilligung durch den medizinischen Kontrolldienst der Sozialversicherung bei psychomotorischer Behandlung, ...

Diese Aufzählung erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit.

Jede technische Maßnahme und jede Art von Diagnostik eines ausländischen Facharztes, die mithilfe der Infrastruktur eines Krankenhauses durchgeführt wurde, wie auch die Kosten für eine stationäre oder halbstationäre Behandlung, die nicht durch eine vorherige Genehmigung des CMSS (Formular S2) abdeckt wurde, sind von der Erstattung ausgenommen und müssen vollständig von Ihnen übernommen werden.

 

Wie lange dauert es normalerweise, bis die Kosten für eine medizinische Versorgung im Ausland erstattet werden?

Im Falle einer Notfallversorgung im Ausland hängt die Dauer für die Erstattung davon ab, wie schnell die ausländische Krankenkasse antwortet und den zu erstattenden Betrag nennt. Im Fall einer Notfallversorgung bittet Luxemburg die Kasse im Aufenthaltsland um eine Tariffestsetzung. Daher hängt die Dauer der Erstattung davon ab, wie lange die unterschiedlichen ausländischen Kassen für eine Antwort brauchen.

Im Fall von geplanten ambulanten Gesundheitsleistungen in einem Mitgliedsstaat der EU, des EWR oder in der Schweiz, erstattet Luxemburg zu den in Luxemburg anwendbaren Bedingungen, Sätzen und Tarifen. Die normale Wartezeit liegt bei einigen Wochen.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am