Cures

Certain strictly defined disorders may justify a thermal or therapeutic cure in the Thermal Centre in Mondorf-les-Bains. In certain cases, and following favourable opinion from the Medical Board of the Social Security (CMSS), the insured person may follow a cure abroad.

Thermal or therapeutic cures in Mondorf-les-Bains

Administrative procedure

The costs of a thermal or therapeutic cure in Mondorf will only be covered if the insured person has obtained prior authorisation from the CNS.

Generally speaking, the insured person will need to arrange an appointment with a doctor practising in the Centre thermal and present a recommendation from their attending physician. Once the request has been reviewed by the doctor practising in the Centre thermal, it is decided whether there are sufficient reasons to approve it, by checking the patient’s conditions against the list of conditions for which the requested cure is medically indicated. In the case of approval, the doctor at the Centre thermal will submit an authorisation request to the CNS, which checks whether the administrative data is in order and whether the approval of the doctor practising in Mondorf is attached to the request.

The CNS issues prior authorisation in the form of a certificate of coverage. This certificate is valid for one year. If the insured person does not start an authorised cure within one year of the issue date of the authorisation, a new authorisation is required.

Conditions for reimbursement

Health insurance covers the insured person's accommodation costs on a fixed day rate basis. This day rate is paid per night that the insured person spends in a hotel or other establishment offering accommodation services in the commune of Mondorf. The chosen establishment must have CNS accreditation. The following types of accommodation are not covered: camping in a tent, staying in a caravan/mobile home, or staying in a guest bedroom at a private home.

The day rate is paid by the CNS following receipt of an invoice issued by the establishment where the insured person was staying. The invoice, dated and issued in the name of the insured person, must indicate the number of overnight stays, along with the start and end dates of the stay.

Insured persons whose official residence is in the commune of Mondorf-les-Bains are entitled to a fixed day rate from the health insurance. This day rate is paid upon receipt of paid invoices issued for the dates of their cure programme.

If the insured person's stay is interrupted due to the normal cessation of the spa programme at weekends and on public holidays, they are not entitled to any part of the health insurance costs for these days.

Special conditions

For some cures, the CNS statutes dictate specific physical requirements.

Thermal cure for lympho-venous stasis

The thermal cure for lympho-venous stasis (T180) is only covered in the case of complicated venous insufficiency or lymphoedema.

Thermal cure for pathological obesity

Spa treatment for pathological obesity T190 (inpatient treatment) and T192 (outpatient treatment) is covered if the insured has

  1. either a body mass index (BMI/BMI) greater than 35,
  2. or a body mass index (BMI/BMI) greater than or equal to 30 in combination with at least one of the following criteria:  
    • diabetes mellitus with HbA1c >7;  
    • treatment-resistant hypertension defined as blood pressure greater than 140/90 mmHg, despite treatment for one year with three antihypertensive drugs simultaneously;
    • sleep apnoea syndrome as determined by polysomnographic examination in a hospital with a sleep laboratory;
    • android morphological type (waist circumference exceeding 88 cm in women and 102 cm in men);
    • cardiological history (documented coronary artery disease/cardiomyopathy).

In the case of inpatient obesity treatment, lunch and dinner must be taken at the spa.

Limitations

The insured person is entitled to one cure of the same type per year covered by health insurance and a new authorisation requests may be submitted at the earliest 12 months after the end of the previous cure, with the exception of outpatient back, neck and shoulders cures (back, neck and shoulders).

The costs of a cure interrupted without valid reason cannot be covered by health insurance.

Back, neck and shoulder cures

Outpatient cures (T200, T203 and T206) are to be carried out in a cycle of 24 sessions to be completed within 6 months unless interrupted for medical reasons certified by the treating physician and accepted by the CNS. The waiting period between two series of treatment of the same level is fixed at 24 months except for the shoulders where a new cycle of 24 sessions can be granted in case of pathology of the other shoulder.

Maintenance sessions are covered provided that a cycle of 24 sessions of initial treatment has been granted and performed previously. 2 maintenance sessions per month can be covered.

Cure for pathological obesity

The number of cures for pathological obesity is limited to 2 per insured person. 14 strengthening modules are covered within 18 months of the end of the cure for pathological obesity.

Cures abroad

The insured person can consider a cure abroad only if it cannot be carried out in Luxembourg because specific healthcare is required.

A duly completed and motivated authorisation request for a transfer abroad, filled out and medically justified by a doctor, must be submitted to the CNS before the planned cure begins. If the CMSS gives a favourable opinion, the CNS can issue an authorisation for a cure abroad. 

The insured person may follow a cure in any Member State of the European Union, Norway, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Switzerland, or in any other country that has signed a bilateral social security agreement with Luxembourg (Bosnia-Herzegovina, Cape Verde, Morocco, Montenegro, Serbia, Tunisia and Turkey). The facility offering the cure must be approved by the relevant authority in the country of stay.

The S2 authorisation, which allows for coverage of the treatment abroad, does not include advances on accommodation or apartment rental costs. These must be paid upfront by the insured person. They will then be reimbursed upon presentation of the corresponding invoices, issued in the name of the insured person, dated and duly paid. If the insured person rents an apartment, the lease must be submitted.

In the event of an authorised cure abroad for a minor, the costs of an accompanying person will be covered by the health insurance fund on request and up to the amount stipulated in the CNS statutes.

The insured person will be required to cover all travel expenses. These will not be reimbursed.

Coverage rates and reimbursement

Various flat rates or one-off services can be covered by the health insurance. Authorised thermal treatments are mainly covered at the rate of 80% (rate increased to 87,40 % for years 2020/2021).

Loco-regional natural fango (T260) and global natural fango (T261) are covered at a rate of 70%.

The health insurance contributes to the insured person’s accommodation costs on a fixed day rate basis, currently 57,01 euros. This day rate is paid per night that the insured person spends in a hotel or other establishment offering accommodation services in the commune of Mondorf. The chosen establishment must have official authorisation to provide accommodation services, or must have CNS accreditation.

The following types of accommodation are not covered: camping in a tent, staying in a caravan/mobile home, or staying in a guest bedroom at a private home.

The day rate is paid by the CNS following receipt of an invoice issued by the establishment where the insured person was staying. The invoice, dated and issued in the name of the insured person, must indicate the number of overnight stays, along with the start and end dates of the stay.

Insured persons whose official residence is in the commune of Mondorf-les-Bains are entitled to a fixed day rate from the health insurance,  currently 16,66 euros. This day rate is paid upon receipt of paid invoices issued for the dates of their cure programme.

The costs of a cure interrupted without valid reason cannot be covered by the health insurance.

Last update

Kuren

Genau definierte Erkrankungen können eine Thermalkur oder eine therapeutische Behandlung im Thermalzentrum von Mondorf-les-Bains erforderlich machen. In einigen Fällen, und nach Genehmigung durch die CNS, können Kuren auch im Ausland erfolgen.

Thermalkuren und therapeutische Behandlungen in Mondorf-les-Bains

Administrative Formalitäten

Eine vorherige Genehmigung seitens der CNS ist unerlässlich, damit der Krankenversicherte eine Thermalkur oder therapeutische Behandlung in Mondorf in Anspruch nehmen kann.

Im Allgemeinen wendet sich der Versicherte mit einer Überweisung seines behandelnden Arztes an einen der im Thermalzentrum praktizierenden Ärzte. Nach der Beurteilung der Akte entscheidet der im Thermalzentrum praktizierenden Arzt, ob der Antrag begründet ist. Festgestellt wird hier vor allen Dingen, ob eine oder mehrere typische Erkrankungen vorliegen, für die die beantragte Kur medizinisch indiziert ist. Im Falle des Einverständnisses reicht er den Genehmigungsantrag bei der CNS ein, die prüft, ob die administrativen Daten in Ordnung sind und ob die Zustimmung des in Mondorf praktizierenden Arztes dem Antrag beigefügt ist.

Die vorherige Genehmigung durch die CNS erfolgt in Form einer Kostenübernahmebestätigung, die ein Jahr lang gültig bleibt. Falls eine bewilligte Kur nicht innerhalb eines Zeitraums von einem Jahr nach der Benachrichtigung hinsichtlich ihrer Genehmigung begonnen wird, muss diese erneuert werden.

Bedingungen für die Kostenübernahme

Die Krankenversicherung beteiligt sich an den Aufenthaltskosten des Versicherten mit einer Tagespauschale. Diese Pauschale ist fällig pro Nacht, die er tatsächlich in einem Hotel oder einer anderen Einrichtung, die zur Beherbergung von Personen zugelassen ist verbracht hat und sich in der Gemeinde Mondorf befindet. Die Unterbringung in Zelten, Wohnwagen oder möblierten oder unmöblierten Zimmern in Privathäusern wird nicht übernommen.

Die Rückerstattung der Pauschale erfolgt bei Vorlage einer Rechnung der Einrichtung, die den Versicherten beherbergt hat. Die Rechnung, datiert und auf den Namen des Versicherten ausgestellt, muss in jedem Fall die Zahl der Nächte wie auch das Anfangs- und Enddatum des Aufenthalts anführen.

Versicherte, die ihren offiziellen Wohnsitz in der Gemeinde Mondorf-les-Bains haben, haben Anrecht auf eine von der Krankenkasse übernommene Tagespauschale. Damit diese ausgezahlt werden kann, muss die vorgelegte quittierte Rechnung an einem Datum ausgestellt sein, an welchem der Versicherte auch an einem Kurprogramm teilgenommen hat.

Wird der Aufenthalt der versicherten Person wegen des normalen Abbruchs des Kurprogramms an Wochenenden und Feiertagen unterbrochen, hat sie für diese Tage keinen Anspruch auf einen Teil der Krankenversicherungskosten.

Besondere Bedingungen

Die Satzungen der CNS schreiben für bestimmte Kuren genaue physikalische Bedingungen vor.

Thermische Kur bei lympho-venöser Stase

Die Thermalkur bei lympho-venöser Stase (T180) wird nur bei komplizierter venöser Insuffizienz oder bei Lymphödemen übernommen.

Thermische Kur für pathologische Adipositas

Die Kurbehandlung bei pathologischer Adipositas T190 (stationnäre Behandlung) und T192 (ambulante Behandlung) wird übernommen, wenn der Versicherte Folgendes aufweist:

  1. entweder einen Body-Mass-Index (BMI/BMI) größer als 35,
  2. oder ein Body-Mass-Index (BMI/BMI) größer oder gleich 30 in Verbindung mit mindestens einem der folgenden Kriterien:
  • Diabetes mellitus mit HbA1c >7;
  • behandlungsresistente Hypertonie, definiert als Blutdruck größer als 140/90 mmHg, trotz einjähriger Behandlung mit drei blutdrucksenkenden Medikamenten gleichzeitig;
  • Schlafapnoe-Syndrom, ermittelt durch polysomnographische Untersuchung in einem Krankenhaus mit Schlaflabor;
  • androider morphologischer Typ (Taillenumfang von mehr als 88 cm bei Frauen und 102 cm bei Männern);
  • Kardiologische Vorgeschichte (dokumentierte koronare Herzkrankheit/Kardiomyopathie).
Bei einer stationären Adipositas-Kur muss das Mittag- und Abendessen im Kurort eingenommen werden.

Begrenzungen

Der Versicherte hat Anspruch auf eine einzige Kur der gleichen Art pro Jahr und eine neue Kur kann frühestens 12 Monate nach Ende der letzten Kur beantragt werden, mit Ausnahme von ambulanten Kuren zur Behandlung von Hals- und Schulterschmerzen oder dorsal-lumbalen Schmerzen (Rücken, Nacken und Schulter).

Eine Kur, die ohne triftigen Grund abgebrochen wird, wird nicht übernommen.

Kuren Rücken, Nacken, Schulter

Ambulante Kuren (T200, T203 und T206) sind in einem Zyklus von 24 Sitzungen durchzuführen und innerhalb von 6 Monaten abzuschließen, es sei denn, sie werden aus medizinischen Gründen unterbrochen, die vom behandelnden Arzt bescheinigt und von der CNS akzeptiert werden. Die Wartezeit zwischen zwei Behandlungsserien der gleichen Stufe ist auf 24 Monate festgelegt, außer bei den Schultern, wo ein neuer Zyklus von 24 Sitzungen im Falle einer Pathologie der anderen Schulter gewährt werden kann.

Erhaltungsbehandlungen sind abgedeckt, wenn zuvor ein 24-Sitzungs-Zyklus der Erstbehandlung bewilligt und durchgeführt wurde. Es können 2 Wartungssitzungen pro Monat abgedeckt werden.

Heilung für pathologische Adipositas

Die Anzahl der Kuren bei krankhaftem Übergewicht ist auf 2 pro Versicherten begrenzt. 14 Stärkungsmodule werden innerhalb von 18 Monaten nach Beendigung der Kur für pathologische Adipositas abgedeckt.

Kuren im Ausland

Falls spezielle Behandlungen erforderlich sind, die eine Kur in Luxemburg nicht leisten kann, kann eine Kur im Ausland in Betracht gezogen werden.

Ein Genehmigungsantrag zur Überweisung ins Ausland, der von einem Arzt ordnungsgemäß ausgefüllt und medizinisch begründet wird, muss vor Beginn der geplanten Kur bei der CNS eingereicht werden.  Im Falle einer positiven Stellungnahme stellt die CNS eine Genehmigung für die Kostenübernahme einer Kur im Ausland aus.

Diese Kuren können in einem EU-Mitgliedsstaat, Norwegen, Island, Liechtenstein und der Schweiz gemacht werden, ebenso in einem Land, mit dem das Großherzogtum Luxemburg ein bilaterales Abkommen zur Sozialversicherung abgeschlossen hat: Bosnien-Herzegowina, Kap Verde, Marokko, Montenegro, Serbien, Tunesien, Türkei. Die anbietende Kureinrichtung muss vom Aufenthaltsland zugelassen sein.

Die ausgestellte S2 Bewilligung, welche die Kostenübernahme ermöglicht, sieht keine Vorschusszahlung für Aufenthalts- oder Mietskosten eines Appartements vor. Diese müssen vom Versicherten vorgestreckt werden. Sie werden anschließend, bei Vorlage der auf den Namen des Versicherten ausgestellten, datierten und gezahlten Rechnungen, rückerstattet. Falls ein Appartement angemietet wurde, muss der Mietvertrag vorgelegt werden.

Bei einer genehmigten Auslandskur für einen Minderjährigen werden die Kosten für eine Begleitperson auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch bis zu dem in den CNS-Satzung festgelegten Betrag von der Krankenkasse übernommen.

Die Reisekosten sind vom Versicherten zu übernehmen und werden nicht zurückerstattet.

Erstattungssätze und Rückerstattung

Unterschiedliche Pauschalen sowie einzelne Leistungen können von der Krankenversicherung übernommen werden. Die bewilligten Leistungen einer Thermalkur werden größtenteils zu 80% übernommen.

Loko-regionaler natürlicher Fango (T260) und globaler natürlicher Fango (T261) werden zu 70 % abgedeckt.

Die Krankenversicherung beteiligt sich an den Aufenthaltskosten des Versicherten mit einer Tagespauschale, von derzeit 61,39 €. Diese Pauschale ist fällig pro Nacht, die er tatsächlich in einem Hotel oder einer anderen Einrichtung, die in der Gemeinde Mondorf hotelähnliche Leistungen anbietet, verbracht hat. Die gewählte Unterkunft muss entweder eine offizielle Genehmigung zur Unterbringung von Personen oder eine Genehmigung der CNS haben. Bei Unterbringung in Zelten, Wohnwagen oder möblierten Zimmern in Privathäusern ist keine Rückerstattung möglich.

Die Rückerstattung der Pauschale erfolgt bei Vorlage einer Rechnung der Einrichtung, die den Versicherten beherbergt hat. Die Rechnung, datiert und auf den Namen des Versicherten ausgestellt, muss in jedem Fall die Zahl der Nächte wie auch das Anfangs- und Enddatum des Aufenthalts anführen.

Versicherte, die ihren offiziellen Wohnsitz in der Gemeinde Mondorf-les-Bains haben, haben Anrecht auf eine von der Krankenkasse übernommene Tagespauschale von derzeit 17,94 €. Damit diese ausgezahlt werden kann, muss die vorgelegte quittierte Rechnung an einem Datum ausgestellt sein, an welchem der Versicherte auch an einem Kurprogramm teilgenommen hat.

Eine Kur, die ohne triftigen Grund abgebrochen wird, wird nicht übernommen.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am