Hospitals in Luxembourg

The hospital sector in Luxembourg includes acute care hospitals as well as the "Centre hospitalier neuro-psychiatrique", the "Centre national de rééducation et de réadaptation fonctionnelles", the "Institut national de chirurgie cardiaque et cardiologie interventionnelle pour la chirurgie cardiaque" and the "Centre pour radiothérapie François Baclesse" in Esch-sur-Alzette.

List of hospitals (10 in total and Colpach is part of the LNS)

Course of the patient's stay

Except in emergencies, the patient has the free choice of the hospital as well as the doctor among those admitted to practice in the hospital.

For inpatient treatment

Insured persons are admitted to an inpatient treatment under the responsibility of a licensed hospital doctor, who registers the date and time of admission.

At the end of an inpatient hospital stay, the attending physician sets the date of the insured person's discharge.

For outpatient treatment

Outpatient treatments are covered according to the same terms as consultations/treatments in medical practices.

The patient has the right to leave the hospital at any time, at his own risk. When the discharge poses a danger to the patient and is made against the doctor's advice, the patient is required to sign a certificate of discharge against medical opinion, after having been informed of the risks of his discharge.

What is covered

Outpatient or inpatient treatments and hospitalisations in second-class rooms, with the exception of medical fees, are fully covered.

The attending physicians must invoice the acts and services provided for in the table of the nomenclature of acts and services of doctors and dentists.

The hospital shall adequately inform the patient of the financial conditions of his or her stay, including the amounts to be paid by the patient.

Maximum coverage

The CNS covers hospitalisations in rooms that fall within the definition of a second class room without extra charge.

In the event of hospitalisation of a child under 14 years of age, accomodation costs (provision of a bed), with the exception of catering costs generated by the presence of an accompanying person in the hospital, are covered by health insurance.

Second class room: one or more sinks, a toilet, a shower, an electronic nurse call equipment with integrated radio  

What is not covered

Treatments not covered by health insurance

Benefits not prescribed by the legislation, regulations and statutes in force are not covered, in particular: accommodation, cosmetic surgeries (unless authorised by the Medical Board of Social Security and unless the first treatment results in complications).

Accommodation: a stay during which no further treatment is carried out and the patient is waiting for his discharge, a classic case, is a patient waiting for a place available in a retirement home.  

Dental treatments

Except in the event of delivery by the official care or emergency service, or in the case of extraction of more than three teeth, hospital stays and treatments in connection with dental treatments are only covered by health insurance with the prior agreement of the Medical Board of the Social Security and under specific conditions.

Amounts to be paid by the patient (in second class)

Daily participation:

  • Insured persons, with the exception of children under 18 years of age, participate in their maintenance during an inpatient hospital stay at a rate of 21.99 euros for each day of hospitalisation started, up to a maximum of 30 days per calendar year. In the event of hospitalisation during childbirth, this contribution is not due during the first 12 days.
  • Insured persons, with the exception of children under 18 years of age, placed under surveillance in a hospital or admitted to hospital day care participate in their maintenance at a rate of 10.99 euros per day. Specific rules apply to treatments in psychiatric day hospitals.

Various supplements (personal convenience/1st class)

Personal convenience:

  •  telephone, TV, internet access etc.

A stay in 1st class/individual room leads to:

  • the invoicing of a supplement per day according to the type of room occupied. This supplement per day varies according to the type of room occupied (with or without shower, etc.)
  • a 66% increase in medical fees. In this case, the physician or other intervening physicians (anaesthetist etc.) are entitled to apply a rate increased by sixty-six percent (66%) over the official rate applied for consultations, visits and second-class medical procedures and services.

The supplement per day for 1st class and the 66% increase are not covered by health insurance.

The 66% increase:

A 66% increase in the rate cannot be applied when hospitalisation in a single room is necessary for medical reasons.

Surgical procedures in the operating room may also be increased by 66% if the insured person's occupancy of the first-class room only begins within 48 hours of the surgery or exit from the intensive care unit.

If, during hospitalisation, several surgical operations are carried out, at least one of which is not covered by health insurance, the costs normally covered and incurred during the period of hospitalisation shall be covered only if the most important operation is covered by health insurance.

Last update

Krankenhäuser in Luxemburg

Zum Krankenhaussektor in Luxemburg zählen die Akutspitäler, sowie das "Centre hospitalier neuro-psychiatrique", das "Centre national de rééducation et de réadaptation fonctionnelles (Rehazenter)", das "Institut national de chirurgie cardiaque et cardiologie interventionnelle" für Herz-Chirurgie und das "Centre pour radiothérapie François Baclesse" in Esch-sur-Alzette.

Liste der Krankenhauseinrichtungen (10 Einrichtungen im Ganzen und Colpach ist ein Teil des LNS)

Ablauf des Aufenthalts

Mit Ausnahme von Notfallsituationen hat der Patient das Recht, das Krankenhaus und den dort praktizierenden Arzt frei zu wählen.

Die stationäre Behandlung

Die Aufnahme in die stationäre Behandlung einer versicherten Person geschieht unter der Verantwortung eines zugelassenen Arztes des Krankenhauses, das Datum und die Uhrzeit der Aufnahme des Patienten einträgt. 

Am Ende des stationären Aufenthalts legt der behandelnde Arzt ein Datum fest, an dem der Versicherte das Krankenhaus verlassen kann.

Die ambulante Behandlung

Ambulante Behandlungen finden unter den gleichen Umständen statt wie die von Sprechstunden/Behandlungen in Arztpraxen.

Der Patient hat zu jeder Zeit das Recht, das Krankenhaus zu verlassen, dies auf eigenes Risiko. Wenn das Verlassen des Krankenhauses eine Gefahr für den Patienten darstellt und es gegen ärztlichen Ratschlag stattfindet, muss der Patient eine Ausgangsbescheinigung gegen ärztlichen Ratschlag unterzeichnen, nachdem er über die Risiken seines Ausgangs informiert wurde.

Was wird übernommen?

Die ambulante oder stationäre Behandlung im Krankenhaus, genauso wie der Aufenthalt in einem Zimmer zweiter Klasse, mit Ausnahme der Arzthonorare, werden vollständig übernommen.

Die behandelnden Ärzte müssen die Leistungen, die in der Tabelle der Nomenklatur der Leistungen der Ärzte und Zahnärzte vorgesehen sind, in Rechnung stellen.

Das Krankenhaus informiert den Patienten auf angemessene Weise über die finanziellen Bedingungen seines Aufenthalts, inklusive der Beträge zu Lasten des Patienten.

Die maximale Kostenübernahme

Die CNS übernimmt einen Krankenhausaufenthalt in Zimmern zweiter Klasse ohne Aufpreis.

Im Fall eines Krankenhausaufenthalts eines Kindes unter 14 Jahren werden die Aufenthaltskosten (Berietstellung eines Bettes), mit Ausnahme der Verpflegungskosten für die Gegenwart einer Begleitperson, von der Krankenversicherung übernommen.

Definition Zimmer zweiter Klasse: ein oder mehrere Waschbecken, eine Toilette, eine Dusche und ein Krankenpflegerrufsystem mit integriertem Radio

Was wird nicht übernommen?

Behandlungen, die nicht von der Krankenkasse übernommen werden

Leistungen, die nicht in der Gesetzgebung, Regelungen und geltenden Statuten vorgesehen sind, werden nicht übernommen, wie z. B.: Unterkunft, plastische Chirurgie (es sei denn es besteht eine Vereinbarung mit dem Kontrollarzt oder eine Komplikation, die durch eine erste Behandlung hervorgerufen wurde).

Unterkunft: ein Aufenthalt, bei dem keine weitere Behandlung durchgeführt wird, sondern der Patient auf seine Entlassung wartet, ein klassischer Fall ist ein Patient der auf einen freien Platz in einem Altersheim wartet  

Zahnärztliche Behandlungen

Außer im Fall einer geleisteten Behandlung durch den Bereitschafts- oder Notfalldienst, oder im Fall einer Zahnextraktion von mehr als 3 Zähnen, werden Aufenthalt und stationäre Behandlungen im Zusammenhang mit Zahnbehandlungen nur von der Krankenversicherung übernommen, wenn eine vorherige Zustimmung durch den kontrollärztlichen Dienst stattgefunden hat, unter spezifischen Bedingungen.

Beträge zu Lasten des Patienten (in zweiter Klasse)

Täglicher Beitrag:

  • versicherte Personen, mit Ausnahme von Kindern unter 18 Jahren, leisten für ihren stationären Aufenthalt einen Beitrag von 21,99 Euro pro angefangenen Hospitalisationstag bis zu einem Maximum von 30 Tagen pro Kalenderjahr. Im Fall eines Krankenhausaufenthaltes bei einer Entbindung muss dieser Beitrag in den ersten 12 Tagen nicht geleistet werden;
  • versicherte Personen, mit Ausnahme von Kindern unter 18 Jahren, die zur Überwachung oder in die Tagesklinik zugelassen wurden, leisten für ihren Aufenthalt einen Beitrag von 10,99 Euro pro Tag. Für Behandlungen in der tagesklinischen Psychiatrie sind spezifische Regeln vorgesehen.

Diverse Aufpreise (persönliche Ansprüche/erste Klasse)

Persönliche Ansprüche:

  •  Telefon, TV, Internetzugang usw.

Einem Aufenthalt in der 1. Klasse/im Einzelzimmer folgt:

  • die Berechnung eines Aufpreises pro Tag je nach Art des belegten Zimmers. Der Aufpreis pro Tag variiert je nach Art des belegten Zimmers (mit oder ohne Dusche, usw.);
  • ein Zuschlag der Arzthonorare von 66%. In diesem Fall hat der Arzt und alle anderen behandelnden Ärzte (Anästhesist usw.) das Recht, einen Tarif zu berechnen der sechsundsechzig Prozent (66%) höher ist als der offizielle Tarif, der für Sprechstunden, Hausbesuche und medizinische Leistungen zweiter Klasse berechnet wird.

Der Aufpreis pro Tag für die erste Klasse und der Zuschlag von 66% werden nicht von der Krankenkasse übernommen.

Zuschlag von 66%

Ein Zuschlag des Tarifs von 66% kann nur berechnet werden, wenn der Aufenthalt in einem Einbettzimmer medizinisch notwendig ist.

Leistungen, die im Operationssaal erbracht wurden, können ebenfalls um 66% erhöht werden, sogar wenn das Zimmer in der 1. Klasse durch die versicherte Person erst 48 Stunden nach dem chirurgischen Eingriff oder nach Verlassen der Intensivstation belegt wird.

Wenn im Zuge eines Krankenhausaufenthalts mehrere chirurgische Eingriffe vorgenommen werden, wovon mindestens einer nicht von der Krankenversicherung übernommen wird, werden die Kosten, die während des Krankenhausaufenthalts angefallen sind und die normalerweise zu Lasten der Krankenversicherung sind nur übernommen, wenn der bedeutendste Eingriff übernommen wird.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am