Doctors

Most doctors in Luxembourg are self-employed. As part of a liberal medical system, they either work in individual private practices or they collaborate with one or more doctors in one practice.

General information

The role of doctors

The main duty of doctors is to treat and prevent diseases. This is referred to as primary care, which is mainly provided by general practitioners and specialists in medical practices.

Each person should choose a general practitioner for themselves and a paediatrician and/or general practitioner for their child. These healthcare providers will be the first point of contact in the event of illness and will guide them. If the usual doctor is not available, the insured person may contact another doctor of their choice, in accordance with the principle of free choice of service provider.

Free choice of service provider

Except in case of emergency, the insured person is free to choose a healthcare provider. He can also consult a specialist without first going through a general practitioner and does not need a transfer/prescription from his doctor to consult the specialist. The insured person may change doctors at any time.

However, in a hospital setting, choice can often be limited, as hospital organisational structures allow only health professionals licensed by the hospital to provide medical care.

Medical specialities

In Luxembourg, the term "doctors" (excluding dentists) refers to doctors practicing general medicine and medical specialists. The various medical specialities recognised in Luxembourg are defined by a Grand-Ducal regulation, here are some examples: cardiology, general surgery, dermatology, gastroenterology, ophthalmology, paediatrics, urology, etc.

Compulsory agreement of the doctor

In order for services such as consultations, visits, procedures, medical and care services to be covered by the health insurance fund, they must be delivered by providers who are covered by agreements. In Luxembourg, there is a general and mandatory convention system. All doctors and dentists authorised to practise in Luxembourg are therefore automatically and mandatorily covered by agreements and they have to comply with the nomenclatures and tariffs.

Conditions of cost coverage

Affiliation to health insurance

Any person working in Luxembourg must be affiliated with the CNS or the competent public sector fund. An insured person may co-insure their family members in order to benefit from medical care in Luxembourg. The insured person receives a social security card with a 13-digit national identification number, which is to be presented to healthcare providers.

Acts and services specified in the nomenclature

In order for an act or service provided by a doctor to be reimbursed, this act or service must be recorded in a nomenclature. For doctors and specialist doctors, these procedures are provided in the nomenclature of acts and services of doctors.

Limitation of coverage

Authorisation

Certain acts or services can only be covered with the authorisation or prior authorisation of the National Health Fund (CNS), with the assent of the Medical Board of the Social Security (CMSS). In the doctors' nomenclature of acts and services and the CNS statutes, these acts are indicated by ACM (authorisation of the Medical Board of the Social Security required) or APCM (prior authorisation of the Medical Board of the Social Security required).

Number of consultations/visits

The CNS only covers:

  • one consultation or visit from the general practitioner or specialist in the same medical discipline per 24 hours, unless there is an intervention by the emergency medical service,
  • two consultations or visits by the general practitioner or specialist in the same medical discipline per seven-day period,
  • twelve consultations or visits by a general practitioner or a specialist in the same medical discipline per semester, unless they are consultations or visits delivered during a long stay in the geriatric ward or in hospital,
unless a previously requested authorisation was given or a medical justification accepted, with the approval of the Medical Board of the Social Security.
 

Prescription renewals and serial injections and dressings shall not be taken into consideration for the application of the foregoing provisions.

Personal conveniences

Doctors have the right to charge additional fees for personal conveniences, provided that the insured person has been previously informed about it. The treatment in question can only be started when the insured person authorises the doctor to charge the additional fee. These fees are not covered by health insurance.

Medical emergencies

A person should only go to the emergency services of an on-duty hospital if they fall seriously ill, or if they suffer an acute injury or fracture, etc.

Primary care centres (“maisons médicales”)

Primary care centres have been set up to provide a replacement service for general practitioners whenever the insured person requires general medical care during evening or night hours (8pm to 7am), weekends and public holidays (8am to 7am).

During the closing hours of medical practices, primary care centres provide an alternative service in the form of a general medical permanence. It is important to note that these are not emergency services and that in the event of a medical emergency, the insured person must immediately call 112.

In Luxembourg, three on-call primary care centres have been set up: Luxembourg City, Esch-sur-Alzette and Ettelbruck.

Paediatric emergencies

When a child falls seriously ill, a paediatric primary care centre (“maison médicale”), is available or, in second instance, the paediatric emergency services, which are both located within the "KannerKlinik" at the Luxembourg Hospital Centre (CHL). After the administrative admission at the KannerKlinik's reception desk, a triage and guidance nurse will refer the patient either to the paediatric emergency services or to the paediatric primary care centre, depending on the reason for admission and scientific triage criteria.

The paediatric emergency services are open 24 hours a day.

The paediatric primary care centre offers care provided by paediatric doctors, from Monday to Friday between 7 p.m. and 10 p.m. all year round; on weekends and on public holidays, from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

The Paediatric Policlinic manages EMERGENCIES 7 days a week from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. It is located on the ground floor of Kirchberg Hospital.

The paediatric emergency services take care of children from birth to the age of 15.

Medical care received abroad

Medical care scheduled abroad (member state of the EU, the EEA and Switzerland)

The insured person may choose to deliberately seek treatment abroad:

Outpatient care (care in hospital without overnight stay or outside the hospital, e. g. medical practice...)

Prior authorisation is not required. Scheduled outpatient care is reimbursed by Luxembourg according to Luxembourg conditions, rates and tariffs. When care is provided using highly specialised and costly hospital infrastructure or medical equipment, prior authorisation is required.

Inpatient care

A prior authorisation from Luxembourg is required for coverage, upon presentation of a transfer request filled out by a doctor and following a favourable opinion from the CMSS.

Emergency care (medical care required during a stay abroad)

When traveling abroad, immediate access to healthcare may be necessary. In order to avoid any inconveniences, different steps must be taken before, during and after the holidays. Destinations can be subdivided into three categories.

Care received in the country of residence of a cross-border worker

For cross-border workers, the health insurance fund of the country of residence is responsible for reimbursing healthcare provided in that country. For medical care provided in Luxembourg or any other country, the cross-border worker may request reimbursement from the CNS.

 

Last update

Ärzte

Ärzte in Luxemburg arbeiten als Freiberufler in einem liberalen Gesundheitssystem. Sie arbeiten entweder in einzelnen Privatpraxen oder sie arbeiten mit einem oder mehreren Ärzten in einer Praxis zusammen.

Allgemeine Informationen

Die Aufgabe von Ärzten

Die Hauptaufgabe der Ärzte ist die Behandlung und Prävention von Krankheiten. In diesem Zusammenhang sprechen wir von einer Primärversorgung, die hauptsächlich von Allgemeinmedizinern und Fachärzten in Arztpraxen durchgeführt wird.

Es wird geraten, sich einen Hausarzt für sich selbst und einen Kinderarzt und/oder einen Hausarzt für sein Kind auszusuchen, der zur ersten Kontaktperson im Krankheitsfall wird. Der Versicherte wendet sich also an erster Stelle an den Hausarzt oder den Kinderarzt. Dieser wird ihn dann weiter orientieren. Wenn der behandelnde Hausarzt einmal nicht verfügbar ist, kann der Versicherte nach dem Grundsatz der freien Wahl des Leistungserbringers, einen anderen Arzt seiner Wahl aufsuchen.

Freie Wahl des Leistungserbringers

Außer im Notfall hat die versicherte Person die freie Wahl des Leistungserbringers. Der Versicherte kann außerdem einen Facharzt aufsuchen, ohne vorher einen Hausarzt aufsuchen zu müssen, und benötigt für die Sprechstunde beim Spezialisten keine Überweisung / Verschreibung von seinem Arzt. Der Versicherte hat das Recht, den Arzt jederzeit zu wechseln.

In einem Krankenhaus kann die Auswahl jedoch oft eingeschränkt sein, da die Organisationsstrukturen des Krankenhauses es nur von der Institution zugelassenen medizinischen Fachkräften erlauben medizinische Versorgung zu erbringen.

Medizinische Fachgebiete

In Luxemburg umfasst der Begriff "Ärzte" (mit Ausnahme von Zahnärzten) Allgemeinärzte und Fachärzte. Die verschiedenen in Luxemburg anerkannten medizinischen Fachgebiete werden durch eine großherzogliche Verordnung definiert, hier einige Beispiele: Kardiologie, Allgemeinchirurgie, Dermatologie, Gastroenterologie, Ophthalmologie, Pädiatrie, Urologie, usw.

Zulassung des Arztes

Damit Leistungen wie Sprechstunden, Besuche, Behandlungen, medizinische und pflegerische Leistungen von der Krankenkasse übernommen werden können, müssen sie von Leistungserbringern erbracht werden, die offiziell anerkannt sind. In Luxemburg gibt es ein allgemeines und obligatorisches Zulassungssystem. Alle in Luxemburg niedergelassenen Ärzte und Zahnärzte sind daher automatisch und zwingend vertraglich gebunden und zur Einhaltung der Nomenklaturen und Tarife verpflichtet.

Bedingungen der Kostenübernahme

Mitgliedschaft der Krankenversicherung

Jede Person, die in Luxemburg arbeitet, muss bei der CNS oder der zuständigen Kasse des öffentlichen Sektors versichert sein und hat somit die Möglichkeit, ebenfalls seine Familienangehörigen mitzuversichern, um in Luxemburg medizinische Versorgung zu erhalten. Die versicherte Person erhält eine Sozialversicherungskarte mit einer 13-stelligen nationalen Identifikationsnummer, die den Leistungserbringern vorzulegen ist.

Leistungen die in der Nomenklatur vorgesehen sind

Damit eine von einem Arzt erbrachte Leistung erstattet wird, muss diese in einer Nomenklatur erfasst werden. Für Ärzte und Fachärzte sind sie in der Nomenklatur der Leistungen von Ärzten verzeichnet.

Einschränkung der Kostenübernahme

Genehmigung

Bestimmte Leistungen können nur mit der Genehmigung oder der vorherigen Genehmigung der Nationalen Gesundheitskasse (CNS) und mit der Zustimmung des Kontrollärztlichen Dienstes der sozialen Sicherheit (CMSS) übernommen werden. In der Nomenklatur der Leistungen von Ärzten sind diese durch ACM (Zustimmung des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes erforderlich) oder APCM (vorherige Zustimnung des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes erforderlich) gekennzeichnet.

Anzahl der Sprechstunden/Besuche

Die CNS übernimmt (es sei denn, es wurde zuvor eine Genehmigung beantragt oder eine medizinische Begründung mit der Stellungnahme des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes akzeptiert):

  • nur eine Sprechstunde oder ein Besuch des Hausarztes oder Facharztes derselben medizinischen Disziplin innerhalb von 24 Stunden, es sei denn, es handelt sich um eine Intervention des Notarztes,
  • nur zwei Sprechstunden oder Besuche des Hausarztes oder Facharztes derselben medizinischen Disziplin pro Zeitraum von sieben Tagen,
  • nur zwölf Sprechstunden oder Besuche eines Hausarztes oder eines Facharztes derselben medizinischen Disziplin pro Semester, es sei denn, es handelt sich um Sprechstunden oder Besuche, die während eines längeren Aufenthalts auf der Geriatrie oder im stationären Aufenthalt im Krankenhaus durchgeführt werden.

Erneuerungen der ärztlichen Verordnung sowie Serieninjektionen und -verbände werden bei der Anwendung der vorstehenden Bestimmungen nicht berücksichtigt.

Persönliche Ansprüche / Sonderhonorare

Die Ärzte haben das Recht, zusätzliche Gebühren für persönliche Ansprüche zu erheben, sofern der Versicherte vorher informiert wurde. Die betreffende Behandlung kann nur begonnen werden, wenn die versicherte Person den Arzt ermächtigt, das Sonderhonorar zu berechnen, die zu ihren Lasten geht.

Medizinische Notfälle

Es ist ratsam sich nur in die Notaufnahme des diensthabenden Krankenhauses begeben, wenn man schwer krank wird, bei einer akuten Verletzung, Fraktur usw.

Ärztehäuser ("maisons médicales")

Die Ärztehäuser wurden eingerichtet um die Dienste eines Allgemeinmediziners ersetzen zu können, wenn die versicherte Person während der Abend- oder Nachtstunden (20.00 bis 7.00 Uhr), Wochenenden und Feiertagen (8.00 bis 7.00 Uhr) eine allgemeine medizinische Versorgung benötigt.

Außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten der Arztpraxen bieten die Ärztehäuser einen alternativen Service in Form eines medizinischen Bereitschaftsdienstes an. Es ist wichtig zu beachten, dass es sich hierbei nicht um Rettungsdienste handelt und dass der Versicherte im Falle eines medizinischen Notfalls die 112 direkt anrufen muss.

In Luxemburg wurden drei Bereitschaftsärztehäuser eingerichtet: Luxemburg-Stadt, Esch-sur-Alzette, Ettelbrück.

Pädiatrische Notfälle

Wenn ein Kind schwer krank wird, gibt es ein pädiatrisches Ärztehaus (KannerKlinik) oder, als zweites Mittel, einen pädiatrischen Notfalldienst, beide im Centre hospitalier du Luxembourg (CHL). Nach der administrativen Aufnahme durch den Empfang des CHL überweist eine Überweisungsschwester den Patienten je nach Aufnahmegrund und wissenschaftlichen Sortierkriterien entweder an die Pädiatrische Notaufnahme oder an die KannerKlinik.

Diese Einrichtungen bieten die Betreuung durch Kinderärzte an. Von Montag bis Freitag von 19.00 bis 22.00 Uhr das ganze Jahr über. An Wochenenden und Feiertagen von 9 bis 21 Uhr.

Die Kinderpoliklinik verwaltet NOTFÄLLE 7 Tage die Woche von 8 bis 20 Uhr. Es befindet sich im Erdgeschoss des Krankenhauses Kirchberg.

Im Ausland erhaltene Leistungen

Geplante Versorgung eines Arztes im Ausland (Land der Europäischen Union, Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen und Schweiz)

Es besteht die Möglichkeit, sich bewusst für eine Behandlung im Ausland zu entscheiden:

Bei ambulanter Behandlung (Behandlung im Krankenhaus ohne Übernachtung oder außerhalb des Krankenhauses, z. B. Arztpraxis....)

Eine vorherige Genehmigung ist nicht erforderlich. Die geplante ambulante Behandlung wird von Luxemburg nach luxemburgischen Bedingungen, Sätzen und Tarifen erstattet. Wenn die Behandlung den Einsatz hoch spezialisierter und kostenintensiver medizinischer Infrastruktur oder medizinischer Ausrüstung erfordert, ist eine Genehmigung notwendig.

Bei stationärer Behandlung

Sie benötigen eine vorherige Zustimmung Luxemburgs, damit die Behandlung übernommen werden kann. Unter Vorlage eines von einem Arzt erstellten Überweisungsantrags und nach positiver Stellungnahme des CMSS.

Notfallversorgung (erforderliche medizinische Versorgung während eines Auslandsaufenthaltes)

Bei Auslandsreisen kann ein sofortiger Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung durchaus erforderlich sein. Um Probleme zu begrenzen und das Leben so weit wie möglich zu vereinfachen, müssen vor, während und nach den Ferien verschiedene Schritte unternommen werden. Reiseziele können in drei Kategorien eingeteilt werden.

Medizinische Versorgung im Land des Wohnsitzes eines Grenzgängers

Für Grenzgänger ist die Krankenkasse des Wohnsitzlandes für die Kostenübernahme der in diesem Land erbrachten Gesundheitsversorgung zuständig. Für die in Luxemburg oder einem anderen Land erbrachte medizinische Versorgung kann der Grenzgänger eine Erstattung durch die CNS beantragen.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am