Hearing aids

If the insured person suffers from a hearing loss that has been certified by their ear, nose and throat (ENT) specialist, health insurance can reimburse hearing aids and accessories under certain conditions and by following a predefined process.

5-step process

1) Medical prescription and the CNS coverage agreement

The insured person makes an appointment with the ENT specialist of their choice, who must certify a hearing loss that justifies the use of a hearing aid. The physician then draws up a specific medical prescription and sends it to the “Service audiophonologique (SAP) de la Direction de la Santé”.

The SAP compiles a file and sends the insured person’s medical prescription to the CNS, who then verify if a reimbursement can be granted in accordance with the conditions laid down in its statutes. A coverage agreement with the result of this verification is then sent to the SAP and the insured person.

2) Determining the reimbursement flat rate

After receiving the coverage agreement, the insured person will automatically be invited by the SAP to a 1st appointment. During this appointment, a hearing aid technician verifies that the CNS reimbursement conditions are met (see “Conditions”), evaluates the hearing aid requirements and determines the useful and necessary reimbursement flat rates. The SAP hearing aid technician then issues a coverage voucher indicating the determined flat rates and the amounts covered by the CNS. At the end of the appointment, the insured person is given the coverage voucher and a list of hearing aid suppliers established in Luxembourg.

3) Appointment with a hearing aid supplier and trial period

With the voucher issued by the SAP, the insured person visits the hearing aid supplier(s) of their choice. Several models of hearing aids may be proposed to the insured person, who should make their choice based on the form, the technical characteristics, the potential amplification and the price. Note that the supplier must propose and adapt at least one hearing aid at the price of the flat rate indicated on the coverage voucher.

The supplier will then make the necessary measurements and impressions to adapt a hearing aid. Depending on the individual’s choice, several hearing aids can be compared so that the insured can make an informed final choice. At the end of the trial period, the supplier issues a quote for the selected hearing aids and sends a copy to the SAP.

4) Verifying the selected hearing aids

After receiving the supplier’s estimate, the insured person is automatically invited by the SAP to a 2nd appointment. During this appointment, a hearing aid technician measures the results that are obtained with the selected hearing aids and verifies that the CNS reimbursement conditions are met (see “Conditions”). The SAP hearing aid technician then drafts an audioprosthetic opinion which is addressed to the referring ENT physician for validation. A copy of this expert opinion is sent to the insured person and the hearing aid supplier.

5) Prescribing physician’s validation and certificate of coverage

After receiving the hearing aid expert opinion from the SAP, the insured person must contact their ENT specialist so that it can be validated. After validation, the ENT physician returns the audioprosthetic opinion to the SAP.

As soon as the validated audioprosthetic opinion is received, the SAP relays it to the CNS who then finalise the file by sending a certificate of coverage to the insured person’s address.

Conditions

Health insurance covers hearing aids only if the following conditions are met:

  • A hearing loss of at least 30 dB on at least two frequencies between 500 and 3000 Hz, or the intelligibility percentage at 65 dB decreases by at least 20 % when noise is added at 60 dB.
  • The hearing aid must provide an auditive increase of at least 10 dB to the vocal index or a 10 % increase of intelligibility in speech audiometry tests. It must also have enough reserve power to cover the renewal period (5 years).
  • The hearing aid must be worn at least 4 hours per day during the trial phase.
    The hearing aid must be included in the list of prostheses covered by the CNS (file B3 of the CNS statutes).

Renewal periods

Renewal periods are calculated from the service date of the last covered hearing device. “Service date” means the date that the hearing aid was delivered to the insured person.

The renewal period for hearing aids is 5 years for an adult and 3 years for children and young people who are not yet 18 years old on the delivery date of the last reimbursed device.

For children and young people who are not yet 18, ear pieces are reimbursed without considering renewal periods.

The renewal period for hearing aids is not taken into account when the protected person has a 20 dB hearing loss compared to the loss that was recorded during the previous fitting. In this case, the hearing aid’s insufficiency must still be certified by the SAP.

A renewal will only be accepted if the audioprosthetic test results with the new hearing aid are at least equivalent to those obtained with the old hearing aid, or if the previous hearing aid has stopped working.

 

Last update

Hörgeräte

Wenn der Versicherte an einem Hörverlust leidet, der durch seinen Hals-Nasen-Ohren-Facharzt (HNO) bestätigt wurde, kann die Krankenversicherung unter Einhaltung bestimmter Bedingungen und eines vorgegebenen Verfahrens die Kosten für ein Hörgerät und das entsprechende Zubehör übernehmen.

Verfahren in 5 Schritten

1) Ärztliche Verordnung und Kostenübernahmevereinbarung der CNS

Der Versicherte vereinbart einen Termin bei einem HNO-Arzt seiner Wahl. Dieser muss einen Hörverlust feststellen, der die Benutzung eines Hörgeräts rechtfertigt. Der Arzt erstellt dann eine spezifische ärztliche Verordnung, die er an den hörakustischen Dienst der Gesundheitsbehörde (Service audiophonologique/SAP) übermittelt.

Der SAP erstellt eine Akte und übermittelt die ärztliche Verordnung des Versicherten an die CNS. Diese überprüft, ob eine Kostenübernahme gemäß der in ihren Satzungen festgelegten Bedingungen genehmigt werden kann. Eine Zustimmung der Kostenübernahme welche das Ergebnis dieser Überprüfung enthält wird dann an den SAP und an den Versicherten gesendet.

2) Bestimmung der Erstattungspauschale

Nach Erhalt der Kostenübernahmevereinbarung, lädt der SAP den Versicherten automatisch zu einem 1. Termin ein. Während diesem Termin überprüft ein Hörgeräteakustiker, ob die Bedingungen einer Kostenübernahme durch die CNS erfüllt sind (siehe „Bedingungen“). Er legt den technischen Bedarf fest und bestimmt die angemessenen und notwendigen Erstattungspauschalen. Der Hörgeräteakustiker der SAP erstellt anschließend eine Kostenübernahmegutschrift, welche die ermittelten Pauschalen und die von der CNS übernommenen Beträge festlegt. Zum Abschluss des Termins erhält der Versicherte die Kostenübernahmegutschrift sowie eine Liste der in Luxemburg etablierten Hörgeräteanbieter.

3) Termin bei einem Hörgeräteanbieter und Probezeit

Nach Erhalt der Kostenübernahmegutschrift durch den SAP vereinbart der Versicherte einen Termin bei dem oder den Hörgeräteanbieter(n) seiner Wahl. Letzterer bietet dem Versicherten mehrere Hörgerätmodelle an, welcher seine Wahl treffen muss je nach Form, technischen Daten, der Verstärkungsleistung und Preis. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass der Anbieter verpflichtet ist, dem Versicherten mindestens ein Hörgerät zum Preis der auf der Kostenübernahmegutschrift angegebenen Pauschale anzubieten.

Der Anbieter nimmt anschließend die notwendigen Messungen und Prüfungen vor, um das Hörgerät anzupassen. Je nach Wahl des Versicherten können mehrere Geräte miteinander verglichen werden, damit die endgültige Wahl unter Kenntnis der Sachlage erfolgen kann. Nach dem Ende der Probezeit erstellt der Anbieter einen Kostenvoranschlag für die ausgewählten Hörgeräte und sendet eine Kopie dieses Kostenvoranschlags an den SAP.

4) Kontrolle der ausgewählten Hörgeräte

Nachdem der SAP den Kostenvoranschlag des Anbieters erhalten hat, wird er den Versicherten automatisch zu einem 2. Termin einladen. Bei diesem Termin misst ein Hörgeräteakustiker die mit den ausgewählten Hörgeräten erreichten Ergebnisse und prüft, ob die Bedingungen für eine Kostenübernahme durch die CNS erfüllt sind (siehe „Bedingungen“). Der Hörgeräteakustiker des SAP erstellt anschließend einen Bescheid, der zwecks Validierung an den verschreibenden HNO-Arzt gesendet wird. Kopien dieses Bescheids gehen an den Versicherten und an den Hörgeräteanbieter.

5) Validierung des verschreibenden Arztes und Kostenübernahmebestätigung

Nach Eingang des Bescheids des SAP muss der Versicherte seinen HNO-Arzt kontaktieren, damit dieser den Bescheid validieren kann.

Nach der Validierung sendet der HNO-Arzt den Bescheid zurück an den SAP.

Nach Erhalt des validierten Bescheids übermittelt der SAP diesen an die CNS, welche die Akte mittels Versand einer Kostenübernahmebestätigung an die Adresse des Versicherten abschließt.

Bedingungen

Die Kostenerstattung für Hörgeräte erfolgt nur, wenn die nachstehenden Bedingungen erfüllt sind:

  • Der Hörverlust beträgt mindestens 30 dB auf mindestens zwei der Frequenzen zwischen 500 und 3000 Hz oder die Verständlichkeit bei 65 dB sinkt um mindestens 20 %, wenn ein Geräusch von 60 dB hinzukommt.
  • Das Hörgerät muss das Gehör um mindestens 10 dB für den Sprachindex verbessern oder bei vokalen audiometrischen Tests einen Zugewinn von 10 % Verständlichkeit ergeben. Ebenso muss es eine akzeptable Leistungsreserve für den Erneuerungszeitraum (5 Jahre) aufweisen.
  • Das Hörgerät muss während der Probezeit mindestens 4 Stunden pro Tag getragen werden.
  • Das Hörgerät muss sich auf der Liste der Hörgeräte befinden, die von der CNS übernommen werden (Datei B3 der CNS Satzungen).

Erneuerungsfristen

Die Erneuerungsfristen werden ab dem Leistungsdatum für das letzte übernommene Hörgerät berechnet. Als „Leistungsdatum“ gilt das Übergabedatum des Hörgeräts.

Die Erneuerungsfrist der Hörgeräte beträgt 5 Jahre für Erwachsene und 3 Jahre für Kinder und Jugendliche, die zum Leistungsdatum des letzten Hörgeräts das 18. Lebensjahr noch nicht vollendet haben.

Für die Kinder und Jugendliche, die das 18. Lebensjahr noch nicht vollendet haben, erfolgt die Übernahme der Einsätze ohne Erneuerungsfrist.

Für die Erneuerung eines Hörgeräts wird keine Erneuerungsfrist berücksichtigt, wenn die betreffende Person eine Verschlechterung von 20 dB im Vergleich zu dem beim vorherigen Gerät festgestellten Hörverlust aufweist. Die Unzulänglichkeit des Hörgeräts muss außerdem vom SAP festgestellt werden.
Eine Erneuerung wird nur akzeptiert, wenn die mit den neuen Hörgeräten erreichten Ergebnisse des Hörgeräteakustikers zumindest denen des alten Hörgeräts entsprechen oder wenn das vorherige Hörgerät nicht mehr funktionsfähig ist.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am