Speech therapy

In order to be entitled to a reimbursement by the National Health Fund or the competent public sector fund, all acts and services provided by speech therapists must be prescribed by a doctor.

Conditions of coverage

Medical prescription: Content and duration of a session

The treatment must be prescribed on a medical prescription, which must indicate the medical diagnosis, the beginning of the ailment, the code or label of the nomenclature relating to the prescribed acts as well as the precise number of sessions.

Certain acts of the speech therapists’ table of acts and services indicate a maximum number of sessions that can be covered.

The minimum duration of an individual session is set at 30 minutes (preparation time not included). For speech therapy group sessions, the minimum duration is 60 minutes for two patients and 75 for three patient. The speech therapist invoices each insured person without any discount.

Foreign prescriptions must contain the same indications as prescriptions issued by doctors in Luxembourg. Furthermore, they must be issued in French, German or English. Prescriptions in other languages are returned, as they cannot be processed by the CNS.

Age of the beneficiary

Certain acts provide for an age limit or age range. In this case, the age limit or age range is clearly specified in the label of the act.

Validation of the prescription

The CNS must validate the prior medical prescription.

Usually, the insured person hands the medical prescription over to the speech therapist during their first session. The therapist then submits the prescription to the CNS for validation. If the administrative conditions are met, the CNS validates the prescription. The validation must be requested within 30 days of the medical prescription’s issue date.

Authorisation and prior authorisation by the Medical Board of the Social Security

In addition to the validation of the prescription by the CNS, certain acts and services by speech therapists can only be covered with an authorisation by the Medical Board of the Social Security. These acts are marked with the letters APCM (autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical requise  = prior authorisation by the Medical Board required) or the letters ACM (autorisation du Contrôle médical requise = authorisation by the Medical Board required), depending on whether or not the authorisation must be given prior to the delivery of the act.

Certificate of coverage

The validation and, if necessary, the authorisation take the form of a certificate of coverage issued by the CNS.

The certificate of coverage provides information on the number of sessions covered as well as the coverage rate.

The treatment must be started at the latest within six months following the prescription’s issue date.

Travel costs

Travel costs incurred by the speech therapist, which include the travel allowance as well as travel expenses per kilometre, can be covered, provided that :

  • the doctor specifies on the prescription that it is medically necessary for the speech therapist to provide the treatment at the insured person’s home.
  • the journey takes place inside Luxembourg. Journeys beyond the border are not covered.

Travel expenses per kilometre can be invoiced only for journeys outside of the locality where the therapist has set up their practice and inside of the locality, if the journey exceeds one kilometre. However, travel expenses may not exceed the costs corresponding to the actual distance travelled.

If these conditions are fulfilled, travel costs are covered at the same rate as the speech therapy treatment provided at home.

Compensation for lost fees

If the insured person failed to keep an appointment or was away from home at the time they were supposed to receive the treatment, and if the insured person failed to notify the therapist at least during the day before the appointment, the therapist is entitled to a compensation for lost fees. This compensation, as well as potential travel costs incurred, are not covered by health insurance.

Last update

Logopädie

Um ein Anrecht auf eine Kostenübernahme durch die nationale Gesundheitskasse oder durch die zuständige Kasse des öffentlichen Sektors zu erhalten, benötigen alle Leistungen aus dem Bereich der Logopädie eine ärztliche Verschreibung.

Bedingungen der Kostenübernahme

Ärztliche Verschreibung: Inhalt und Dauer der Sitzungen

Die Verschreibung der Behandlung wird mittels eines ärztlichen Attests ausgestellt. Diese gibt lediglich Auskunft über die medizinische Diagnose, den Beginn der Erkrankung, den Code oder den Wortlaut in der Nomenklatur die sich auf die verschriebenen Leistungen bezieht, sowie die genaue Anzahl der Sitzungen.

Für einige Leistungen, die in der Nomenklatur der Logopäden aufgelistet sind, wird eine maximale Anzahl an Sitzungen festgelegt, bei denen die Kosten übernommen werden.

Die Minimaldauer einer individuellen Sitzung ist auf 30 Minuten festgelegt (Vorbereitungszeit nicht inbegriffen). Im Falle einer logopädischen Gruppensitzung, wird die minimale Dauer auf 60 Minuten für 2 Patienten und auf 75 für 3 Patienten festgelegt. Jedem Versicherten wird einzeln eine Rechnung ausgestellt ohne jeglichen Nachlass.

Ausländische Verschreibungen müssen sämtliche Pflichtangaben enthalten und müssen in französischer, deutscher oder englischer Sprache verfasst sein. Verschreibungen in einer anderen Sprache werden zurückgeschickt, da sie von den zuständigen Dienststellen der CNS nicht bearbeitet werden können.

Alter des Begünstigten

Für einige Leistungen ist eine Grenze oder ein Altersabschnitt vorgesehen. In diesem Fall ist die Grenze oder der Altersabschnitt klar und deutlich im Wortlaut der gesuchten Leistung angegeben.

Validierung der Verschreibung

Die vorherige ärztliche Verschreibung muss von der CNS validiert werden. In der Regel gibt der Versicherte dem Logopäden die Verschreibung im Zuge seiner ersten Sitzung, dieser unternimmt dann die notwendigen administrativen Schritte. Wenn die administrativen Bedingungen erfüllt sind, validiert die CNS die Verschreibung. Die Validierung muss innerhalb von 30 Tagen ab dem Tag der Ausstellung der ärztlichen Verschreibung beantragt werden.

Genehmigung und vorherige Genehmigung des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes der Sozialversicherung

Neben der Validierung der Verschreibung durch die CNS, ist für einige logopädische Leistungen eine Genehmigung des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes der Sozialversicherung (CMSS) von Nöten. Diese Leistungen sind mit den Buchstaben APCM (autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical requise - vorherige Genehmigung des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes der Sozialversicherung erforderlich) oder den Buchstaben ACM (autorisation du Contrôle médical requise - Genehmigung des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes) gekennzeichnet. Hier wird unterschieden ob diese Genehmigung vor der Behandlung einzuholen ist oder nicht.

Bestätigung der Kostenübernahme

Die Validierung und gegebenenfalls die Genehmigung, erfolgt mittels Ausstellung einer Kostenübernahmebestätigung.

Die Bestätigung der Kostenübernahme informiert über die Anzahl der übernommenen Sitzungen und den Erstattungssatz.

Die Behandlung muss spätestens innerhalb von 6 Monaten ab Ausstellung der Kostenübernahmebestätigung begonnen werden.

Fahrtkosten

Zu den Fahrtkosten des Logopäden zählen der Reisekostenzuschuss sowie die Fahrtkosten pro Kilometer. Diese werden übernommen, wenn:

  • der Arzt in der Verschreibung vermerkt, dass es medizinisch notwendig ist, dass der Logopäde sich zum Wohnsitz des Versicherten begibt um die Behandlung durchzuführen
  • die Fahrt auf luxemburgischem Gebiert stattgefunden hat. Eine Fortbewegung außerhalb der Grenzen wird nicht übernommen.

Die Fahrtkosten des Logopäden können nur für eine Fortbewegung außerhalb des Praxisstandortes in Rechnung gestellt werden, oder innerhalb dieser wenn die Fortbewegung einen Kilometer überschreitet. Allerdings sollen die in Rechnung gestellten Fahrtkosten die Kosten der tatsächlich zurückgelegten Strecke nicht überschreiten.

Wenn diese Bedingungen erfüllt sind, werden die Fahrtkosten zum gleichen Satz übernommen wie die ausgeführte Behandlung.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am