French cross-border workers

Applicable rules

The insured person is considered a cross-border worker if they work (and are insured) in a different EU country than the one they reside in and under the condition that they return to the country of residence every day or at least once a week. In this case, the country competent in social security matters is the country where they work.

Use of the S1 form

The S1 form is a document of legal entitlement to healthcare benefits delivered by the competent country (country where contributions are paid) and allows registration in the country of residence. In this case, healthcare is delivered in the country of residence as if the concerned person was insured there. The S1 form delivered by the competent healthcare fund must be presented to the health fund in the country of residence. The healthcare fund from the country of residence confirms the registration of the form to the competent healthcare fund.

Procedure

The cross-border worker insured in Luxembourg must register with the health insurance fund of their place of residence in order to benefit from health care reimbursements. The CNS issues a document of entitlement for this purpose: the S1 form (or S072 as the case may be).

The S072 form, the document of entitlement intended for French cross-border workers residing in the "Grand-Est" region (departments 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin) is sent directly to the respective CPAM (primary health insurance fund). A confirmation of registration will be sent to the cross-border workers by the CPAM.

dans la région Grand-Est (départements 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin)

As a rule, no further formalities are required.

In respect of cross-border workers who are registered as a result of working for a company employing them as temporary workers ("intérimaires") and who are living in the "Grand-Est" region (departments 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin), the document of entitlement is not automatically issued but only per written request from the CPAM or via the appropriate form.

For the residents of all other French departments, S1 forms will be sent automatically to the insured's private address and must be submitted to the CPAM of the insured's place of residence.

If the insured person does not receive an S1 form within 15 days of reception of the confirmation of registration with the CCSS, we advise the insured person tor order the document.

Co-insurance

The cross-border insured and the members of their family are entitled to the same benefits under the same terms and conditions as those to which the residents of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are entitled.

The law of the insured's country of residence applies concerning the determination of who qualifies for benefits in their capacity as a member of the insured's family.

For this purpose, the health insurance fund of the country of residence transmits a document of entitlement to the CNS attesting to the fact that members of the family are co-insured in the name of the person insured in Luxembourg.

Certificate of incapacity for work

In case of sickness or accident, the insured person must send the original certificate of incapacity for work directly to the CNS before the end of the third working day that the insured has been on sick leave as a result of the doctor’s findings.

In order to speed up the administrative procedure and to assure a smooth procedure for the remittance of sickness benefits, it is recommended that all documents sent to the CNS include the insured person's individual Luxembourg identification number.

In this regard, it is recommended to ask the doctor to indicate the Luxemburgish national identification number, or, if necessary, to mark it themselves on the back of the medical certificate.

Coverage of healthcare received in the country of residence

With regard to reimbursement of healthcare, treatment provided in the country of residence can only be reimbursed by the country of residence according to its own rates, tariffs and terms.

Coverage of healthcare received in a country other than Luxembourg or other than the country of residence

Necessary/emergency treatment is paid for based on the European Health Insurance Card/EHIC (or if necessary a replacement certificate) issued by the competent country.

Planned inpatient treatment is subject to a prior authorisation from the Medical Board of the Social Security (Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale - CMSS) and can only be reimbursed if approval is granted. If S2 authorisation is granted by the competent country, the treatment will be paid for by the country where it is provided according to the rates and tariffs applicable there. If the insured person was given a "directive" authorisation from the competent country, the insured person advances the cost and is reimbursed by the competent country according to the rates and tariffs in force there.

Please note that for some ambulatory healthcare, a prior approval by the CNS on the basis of a positive advice by the CMSS is mandatory.

Planned outpatient treatment is paid for by the competent country according to the rates and tariffs in force there.

Last update

Französische Grenzgänger

Geltende Regeln

Der Versicherte gilt als Grenzgänger, wenn er in einem anderen EU-Land arbeitet (und versichert ist) als das in dem er wohnhaft ist und jeden Tag oder mindestens einmal pro Woche in sein Wohnland zurückkehrt. In dem Fall ist das Land in dem er arbeitet das Land welches auf dem Gebiet Gesundheitsleistungen zuständig ist.

Benutzung des S1 Formulars

Das Formular S1 bescheinigt den Anspruch auf Gesundheitsleistungen des zuständigen Landes (in dem die Beiträge bezahlt werden) und erlaubt eine Anmeldung im Wohnland. So werden die Gesundheitsleistungen im Wohnsitzland so zur Verfügung gestellt, als wäre die betroffene Person dort versichert. Das von der zuständigen Kasse ausgestellte S1 muss bei der Krankenkasse des Wohnlandes eingereicht werden. Diese Kasse bestätigt der zuständigen Kasse die Anmeldung durch das Formular.

Prozedur

Der in Luxemburg versicherte Grenzgänger muss sich bei der Krankenkasse seines Wohnsitzes einschreiben um in seinem Wohnland Anspruch auf Gesundheitsleistungen zu haben. Zu diesem Zweck stellt die CNS das Formular S1 aus (respektiv S072).

Die Formulare für französische Grenzgänger die in der "Grand-Est" Region (Departements 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin) wohnen werden direkt an die jeweilige Ortskrankenkasse (Caisse primaire d'assurance maladie) gerichtet. Es handelt sich hier um das Dokument S072. Eine Einschreibungsbestätigung wird dem Grenzgänger durch die betreffende Ortskrankenkasse zugesandt.

Weitere Schritte sind in der Regel nicht mehr notwendig.

Bei Grenzgängern die als Zeitarbeiter tätig sind und die in der "Grand-Est" Region (Departements 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin) wohnen wird das Formular jedoch nicht automatisch erstellt sondern nur auf schriftliche Anfrage oder mittels des geeigneten Formulars.

Bei den Einwohnern  der anderen französischen Departements wird das S1 Formular automatisch an die private Adresse des Versicherten gesendet und muss bei der Ortskrankenkasse des Wohnorts abgegeben werden.

Falls der Versicherte das Formular S1 nicht innerhalb der 15 Tage nach Erhalt der Beitrittsbestätigung durch das Gemeinsamen Zentrum für soziale Sicherheit ( Centre commun de la sécurité sociale) erhalten hat, empfehlen wir das Dokument zu bestellen.

Familienversicherung

Der versicherte Grenzgänger und seine Familienangehörigen können die Leistungen in Luxemburg genauso in Anspruch nehmen wie die Ortsansässigen.

Die Gesetzgebung des Wohnlandes bestimmt, welches Familienmitglied Anspruch auf Leistungen hat.

Diesbezüglich übermittelt die örtliche Krankenkasse der CNS eine Bescheinigung, aus der hervorgeht, welche Familienmitglieder über den in Luxemburg versicherten Grenzgänger mitversichert sind.

Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung

Im Fall von Krankheit oder einem Unfall, muss der Versicherte der CNS seine Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung spätestens vor Ablauf des dritten Werktages der Arbeitsunfähigkeit zukommenlassen.

Es wird dringend geraten die nationale luxemburgische Identifikationsnummer (13-stellige Matrikelnummer) auf dem Dokument anzugeben um die Bearbeitung der Akte zu vereinfachen und um die Auszahlung des Krankengeldes zu gewährleisten.

In dieser Hinsicht wird empfohlen den Arzt zu bitten die luxemburgische nationale Identifikationsnummer einzutragen oder gegebenenfalls selbst die Nummer auf der Rückseite des Attests zu vermerken.

Übernahme der Kosten für Gesundheitsleistungen im Wohnland

Leistungen im Wohnland werden ausschließlich vom Wohnland, nach deren Sätzen, Tariffen und Bedingeungen, übernommen.

Übernahme der Kosten von Gesundheitsleistungen ausserhalb von Luxemburg oder dem Wohnland

Die notwendige Gesundheitsversorgung/Notfallversorgung ist durch die vom zuständigen Land ausgestellte europäische Krankenversicherungskarte (EHIC, European Health Insurance Card) abgedeckt.

Geplante stationäre Gesundheitsleistungen werden dem kontrollärztlichen Dienst der sozialen Sicherheit (CMSS) vorab zur Begutachtung vorgelegt und nur nach vorheriger Zustimmung erstattet. Im Fall einer Zustimmung durch ein vom zuständigen Land ausgestelltes S2 erfolgt die Kostenübernahme gemäß den anwendbaren Sätzen und Tarifen, die in dem Land gelten, in dem die Versorgung stattfindet. Im Fall einer Zustimmung per Richtlinie seitens des zuständigen Landes streckt der Versicherte die Kosten vor und erhält dann die Erstattung zu den anwendbaren Sätzen und Tarifen vom zuständigen Land.

Achtung bei gewissen ambulanten Gesundheitsleistungen welche zwangsläufig eine vorherige Zustimmung der CNS nach positiver Stellungnahme des CMSS benötigen.

Geplante ambulante Gesundheitsleistungen werden vom zuständigen Land zu den anwendbaren Sätzen und Tarifen übernommen.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am