Administrative control

The statutes effective as of 01.01.2009 allow for an administrative control of persons on leave owing to sickness or accident to be carried out by the National Health Fund (CNS) both for the period when the employer is responsible for the payment of sickness benefits (continued payment of wages) and after the CNS has assumed responsibility for payments of cash benefits.

The controls may be initiated by either the person's employer or by the service "Enquêtes et Contrôles administratifs" of the CNS.

A request from the employer must be submitted to the competent service of the CNS in written form, either by e-mail or fax.

 

Request procedure

The Online request form must be duly filled out by the employer and submitted by either e-mail or fax.

All the fields in the form must be completed and the request must be justified.

Once the CNS has received the form, the employer will receive a confirmation.

 

Control

The control consists of a visit to the home or current place of stay of the person reported incapable of work.

Should the person subject to the control be absent at the time of the visit, they will be considered to be in contravention of CNS statutes. In this case, the CNS agent will leave a notification with a reply form, inviting the person in question to provide a written justification of absence within three days of the visit, the date of the postmark of the letter being taken as evidence of the day the letter was sent.

These controls are carried out only on persons reported incapable of work owing to sickness or accident and who are supposed to remain at home and have not been given authorisation to leave their house; controls may also be carried out in public places.

 

Outcome of the control

In cases where the person subject to the control is absent at the time of the control and is not able to provide justification in the manner and within the time period laid down, their dossier will be examined as part of an investigation by the CNS, which can issue an administrative penalty.

The employer of the person subject to the control is notified by fax, mail or any other suitable written means when suspicion of a contravention of the statutes is confirmed by the fact that the person subject to the control provides no valid explanation of absence in the manner and within the time period laid down for the purpose.

The CNS services check whether the explanation of absence is founded. The CNS will pursue all doubtful cases.

In situations in which the control establishes that contraventions of another kind has taken place (practising a sport or activity which is not permitted, going out during the first five days of sickness, and/or going to non-authorised locations etc.) the relevant facts will be recorded by the CNS agent in his report.

 

Sanctions taken by the President of the CNS

The sanctions imposed by the President of the CNS for contravention of the statutes consist of administrative fines. These fines may be increased in the case of a recurring offence.

The person concerned may file an objection against the decisions on measures taken by the Council of Administration or they may appeal to the social courts.

 

List of sanctions imposed

Employers involved in a labour dispute with an employee on a charge of abusive absenteeism, and labour tribunals or social tribunals involved in litigation, may request from the CNS a list of sanctions incurred by the insured person in question following charges of abusive absenteeism.

Such lists contain no medical data and are confined to a listing of sanctions not open to appeal or judged as final and binding in the course of the 12 months prior to the time the request was filed.

 

Notice

The complete text of the relevant statutory provisions (viz. articles 191 to 217) may be consulted following the link provided below under "More information".

Only the legal texts published in official form are legally binding.

 

Last update

Administrative Kontrolle

 

Die ab ersten Januar 2009 geltenden Satzungen sehen eine administrative Kontrolle der wegen Krankheit oder infolge eines Unfalls krankgeschriebenen Arbeitnehmern vor, die durch die CNS sowohl während des Zeitraums durchgeführt werden kann, in dem die Lohnfortzahlung (LFZ) dem Arbeitgeber obliegt, als auch während des Zeitraums, in dem die CNS die Zahlung des Krankengeldes übernimmt.

Die Kontrollen können sowohl auf Initiative der "Service Enquêtes et Contrôles Administratifs" der CNS als auch durch den Arbeitgeber eingeleitet werden.

Der Antrag des Arbeitgebers muss schriftlich per E-Mail oder per Fax an die zuständige Abteilung der CNS gestellt werden.

Antragsprozedur

Das Online-Antragsformular muss durch den Arbeitgeber ordnungsgemäß ausgefüllt werden.

Das Formular muss vollständig ausgefüllt und der Antrag muss begründet werden.

Nach Eingang des Antrags bei der CNS erhält der Arbeitgeber eine Eingangsbestätigung.

Die Kontrolle

Die Kontrolle besteht aus einem Besuch zu Hause oder am Aufenthaltsort der Person, die krankgeschrieben ist.

Die kontrollierte Person wird eines Verstoßes gegen die Vorschriften der CNS verdächtigt, wenn sie sich zum Zeitpunkt der Kontrolle nicht zu Hause aufhält. Im Falle der Abwesenheit hinterlässt die mit der Kontrolle beauftragte Person an der Adresse der kontrollierten Person eine Benachrichtigung mit Rückantwort mit der Aufforderung, den Grund ihrer Abwesenheit innerhalb von drei Tagen nach der Kontrolle schriftlich darzulegen, wobei das Datum des Poststempels als Meldedatum gilt.

Kontrollen zu Hause werden nur durchgeführt, wenn zu erwarten ist, dass die wegen Krankheit oder infolge eines Unfalls krankgeschriebene Person sich daheim aufhält und nicht berechtigt ist, das Haus zu verlassen. Kontrollen können auch an öffentlichen Orten durchgeführt werden.

Das Ergebnis der Kontrolle

Wenn die kontrollierte Person zum Zeitpunkt der Kontrolle nicht zu Hause angetroffen wird und keine schriftliche Begründung in der vorgeschriebenen Form und in dem vorgesehen Zeitraum vorlegt, wird ihre Akte Gegenstand einer Untersuchung durch die CNS, die ein Ordnungsgeld erheben kann.

Wenn die Vermutung eines Verstoßes gegen die Vorschriften sich dadurch bestätigt, dass die Person, die Gegenstand einer Kontrolle war, keinen annehmbaren Grund für ihre Abwesenheit in der vorgeschriebenen Zeit und Form nennt, wird der Arbeitgeber nach Ablauf der Frist, die dem Versicherten zur Erklärung seiner Abwesenheit eingeräumt wurde, per Fax, E-Mail oder in anderer schriftlicher Form von dem Ergebnis der Kontrolle in Kenntnis gesetzt.

Die CNS prüft die Richtigkeit der angegebenen Begründung. Wenn Zweifel bestehen, wird die CNS eine Untersuchung einleiten.

In bestimmten Fällen, in denen die Kontrolle andere Verstöße feststellt (sportliche Aktivitäten oder andere nicht erlaubte Aktivitäten, Verlassen der Wohnung in den ersten 5 Tagen der Krankschreibung oder zu/an nicht erlaubten Zeiten/Orten, usw.), werden diese Tatsachen in dem vom Kontroller erstellten Protokoll schriftlich festgehalten.

Die vom Präsident der CNS verhängten Strafen

Die vom Präsident der CNS verhängten Strafen bei Verstoß gegen die Vorschriften können Ordnungsbußen sein. Im Wiederholungsfall können höhere Bussgelder verhängt werden.

Gegen die vom Verwaltungsrat der CNS verhängten Strafen kann beim Sozialgericht (conseil arbitral) Widerspruch oder Berufung eingelegt werden.

Verzeichnis der Strafen

Arbeitgeber, die sich mit einem Angestellten wegen Verdachts auf missbräuchliches Fernbleiben von der Arbeit in einem Rechtsstreit befinden, sowie Arbeits- und Sozialgerichte, die mit einem Rechtsstreit befasst sind, können bei der CNS ein Verzeichnis der gegen einen Versicherten wegen missbräuchlichen Fernbleibens von der Arbeit definitiv verhängten Strafen anfordern.

Diese Verzeichnisse enthalten keine medizinischen Daten und beschränken sich auf die Auflistung der im Verlauf der 12 vergangenen Monate seit dem oben erwähnten Antrag endgültig verhängten und rechtskräftig gewordenen Strafen.

Hinweis

Der vollständige Text der anzuwendenden satzungsmäßigen Bestimmungen (Artikel 191 bis 217) kann unter "Mehr dazu" eingesehen werden.

Nur der offizielle Text in Französisch ist rechtsgültig.

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am