Transportation by air

Transportation by air consists of:

  • transportation carried out within the scope of the agreement concluded between the CNS and Luxembourg Air Rescue;
  • emergency helicopter evacuation carried out by the public authorities of a neighbouring state at the request of the national centre for emergency assistance;
  • evacuation carried out under exceptional circumstances by public or private transport services.

General and particular conditions

File B6, annex A of the CNS statutes provides for the situations where the health insurance covers transport and travel services. In all situations covered by the file B6, travel and transportation costs are not covered beyond a distance of a maximum of 400 km for the outbound journey. In exceptional cases, the CNS can authorise coverage requested with a detailed medical report issued by the treating doctor and with a prior authorisation from the CMSS for travel and transportartion costs up to a distance of 600 km for the outbound journey.

With the exception of emergency cases duly justified or except if the CNS statutes provide for a specific derogation, a prior authorisation from the Medical Board of the Social Security CMSS is always required in order to cover transport services abroad.

Transport by air in life-threatening cases (level I emergency)

Emergency evacuation by helicopter in life-threatening cases (level I emergency) is covered, provided that the emergency is documented in the official service report (procès-verbal d'intervention). This document is issued in accordance with the provisions provided for, in the agreement between the health insurance and the services responsible for dispatching or carrying out these transportations.  

Transport by air outside of a life-threatening situation

Air transport which is dispatched without the involvement of the national centre for emergency assistance is only covered, when a prior medical prescription issued by the treating doctor explicitly states the reasons, which make the use of an ambulance service impracticable. If the air transport is not carried out by Luxembourg Air Rescue, a prior authorisation must be given by the CNS in each individual case.

Terms of coverage

Transport by air in life-threatening cases (level I emergency)

The costs of transportation by air are directly covered by the CNS under the third party payment system provided that the emergency situation is recognised.

Transport by air outside of a life-threatening situation

Transportations by air duly authorised outside of a life-threatening situation are covered directly by the CNS under the third party payment system.

Last update

Transport per Flugzeug oder Helikopter

Diese Transportart beinhaltet:

  • den Transport im Rahmen des Abkommens zwischen der CNS und Luxembourg Air Rescue (LAR);
  • den Transport mit einem Rettungshubschrauber, der bei einem Notfall von den staatlichen Behörden eines angrenzenden Staates auf Intervention der nationalen Notdienstzentrale veranlasst wird;
  • den Transport in Ausnahmesituationen durch staatliche oder private Luftverkehrsdienste.

Allgemeine und besondere Bestimmungen

Die « Datei B6 » (Anhang A der CNS Satzungen) bestimmt die Situationen, in denen die Krankenversicherung Reise- und Transportkosten übernimmt. In allen Fällen, die in den Satzungen vorgesehen sind, werden die Reise- und Transportkosten nur bis zu einer maximalen Anreiseentfernung von 400 km übernommen. Ausnahmsweise kann die CNS eine Kostenübernahme von Reise- und Transportkosten bis zu einer maximalen Anreiseentfernung von 600 km genehmigen, bei Vorlage eines ausführlichen medizinischen Berichts des behandelnden Arztes und nach vorheriger Genehmigung des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes der sozialen Sicherheit.

Außer in dringenden und angemessen begründeten Fällen oder im Falle einer durch die CNS-Satzungen vorgesehenen und ausdrücklichen Ausnahmeregelung ist eine vorherige Genehmigung des kontrollärztlichen Dienstes der sozialen Sicherheit erforderlich für die Kostenübernahme von im Ausland angefallenen Transportkosten.

Lufttransporte in einem Dringlichkeitsfall bei Lebensgefahr (Dringlichkeitsstufe I)

Transporte per Hubschrauber in einem Dringlichkeitsfall bei Lebensgefahr (Dringlichkeitsstufe I) werden unter der Voraussetzung erstattet, dass die Dringlichkeit im Einsatzprotokoll dokumentiert ist, gemäß den Bestimmungen des Abkommens welches die Beziehungen zwischen der CNS und den für die Veranlassung und Durchführung der Transporte zuständigen Stellen regelt.

Lufttransporte außerhalb von Notfällen (Dringlichkeitsstufe I)

Lufttransporte, die nicht auf Intervention der nationalen Notdienstzentrale veranlasst werden, werden nur erstattet, wenn eine vorher durch den behandelnden Arzt ausgestellte Verschreibung die medizinischen Gründe darlegt, aus denen ein Transport per Ambulanz nicht durchgeführt werden kann. Wenn der Lufttransport nicht von Luxembourg Air Rescue durchgeführt wird, muss von der CNS für jeden Einzelfall eine ausdrückliche vorherige Genehmigung erteilt werden.

Modalitäten der Kostenübernahme

Lufttransporte in einem Dringlichkeitsfall bei Lebensgefahr (Dringlichkeitsstufe I)

Die Kosten für Lufttransporte werden direkt von der CNS übernommen unter der Voraussetzung, dass die Dringlichkeitssituation anerkannt wird.

Lufttransporte außerhalb von Notfällen (Dringlichkeitsstufe I)

Ordnungsgemäß genehmigte Lufttransporte außerhalb von Notfällen (Dringlichkeitsstufe I) werden direkt von der CNS über das Drittzahlersystem übernommen.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am