Doctors

Reimbursement of costs

Tariffs

The tariffs for medical acts and services are set in a nomenclature concluded as part of the agreement between the Association of Doctors and Dentists (AMMD) and the CNS. Doctors are required to comply with these rates (exceptions: personal convenience and 1st class tariffs).

The insured paid the medical invoices

In general, the insured person pays the doctor's invoice directly and requests reimbursement from his competent health insurance fund.

In this case, the insured must send the original, duly paid and receipted invoices to his competent fund. The 13-digit national identification number must be indicated. If this is the first request for reimbursement, a bank account number (RIB) must be enclosed. For submissions to the CNS from Luxembourg, the insured does not need to apply a stamp to the envelope.

CNS – Service Remboursements nationaux

L-2980 Luxembourg

The third-party payment system

In the case of inpatient treatment in a hospital, if the stay exceeds three days or if the invoice for medical fees per doctor exceeds 100 euros, the doctor may send the invoices directly to the CNS (third party payer).

Coverage rates

In Luxembourg

For consultations in doctors' practices and outpatient treatment in hospitals, the reimbursement rate is 88% of the fees set for adults and 100% for children and young people under 18 years of age.

In the case of inpatient or semi-stationary treatment (=ambulatory in place of supervision), invoices are covered at the rate of 100% of the fees in the nomenclature of acts and services of doctors (excluding the 66% increase in the case of first-class treatment).

Abroad (EU, EEA or Switzerland)

In the event of scheduled outpatient treatment without prior authorisation: Treatment is reimbursed by Luxembourg according to Luxembourg conditions, rates and tariffs.

In the event of scheduled inpatient treatment with prior authorisation: Upon presentation of the S2 to the health insurance institution of the State indicating where the treatment will be carried out, the insured person is entitled to the same conditions of coverage at the same rates as the insured in the country of treatment.

In case of urgent treatment: The presentation of the European Health Insurance Card guarantees the insured person coverage or reimbursement of medical expenses on site.

Last update

Médecins

Remboursement des frais

Les tarifs

Les tarifs des actes et services médicaux sont fixés dans un barème de tarifs (=nomenclature) qui a été conclu dans le cadre de la convention entre l’Association des Médecins et Médecins-Dentistes (AMMD) et la CNS. Les médecins sont tenus à se conformer à ces tarifs (exceptions : convenances personnelles et tarifs 1ère classe).

L’assuré a payé le mémoire d’honoraires

En règle générale, l’assuré paie directement le mémoire d’honoraires de son médecin et demande le remboursement à sa caisse compétente.

Dans ce cas, l’assuré doit transmettre les originaux des mémoires d’honoraires, dûment acquittés, à sa caisse compétente. Le numéro national d’identification à 13 chiffres doit être indiqué. S’il s’agit de la première demande de remboursement, un relevé d’identité bancaire (RIB) est à joindre à la demande. Pour les envois à la CNS depuis le Luxembourg, l’assuré n’a pas besoin d’apposer de timbre sur l’enveloppe.

CNS – Service Remboursements nationaux

L-2980 Luxembourg

Le système du tiers payant

Dans le cadre d’un traitement stationnaire à l’hôpital, si le séjour dépasse trois jours ou si la facture des honoraires médicaux par médecin est supérieure à 100 euros, le médecin peut adresser directement les mémoires d’honoraires à la CNS (tiers payant).

Taux de prise en charge  

Au Luxembourg :

Pour les consultations les cabinets médicaux et les traitements ambulatoires dans les hôpitaux, le taux de remboursement est de 88% des tarifs fixés pour les adultes et de 100% pour les enfants et jeunes âgés de moins de 18 ans.

Dans le cadre d’un traitement stationnaire ou semi-stationnaire (=ambulatoire en place de surveillance), les mémoires d’honoraires sont pris en charge au taux de 100% des tarifs de la nomenclature des actes et services des médecins et médecins-dentistes (hormis la majoration de 66% en cas d’un traitement en 1ère classe).

A l’étranger (UE, EEE ou Suisse) :

En cas de traitement programmé ambulatoire sans autorisation préalable : Les soins sont remboursés par le Luxembourg selon les conditions, taux et tarifs luxembourgeois.

En cas de traitement programmé stationnaire avec autorisation préalable : Sur présentation du S2 à l'institution d'assurance maladie de l'État où le traitement sera effectué, l'assuré peut prétendre aux mêmes conditions de prise en charge aux mêmes taux que les assurés sociaux du pays de traitement.

En cas de soins urgents : La présentation de la carte européenne garantit à l’assuré la prise en charge ou le remboursement des frais médicaux sur place.

Dernière mise à jour