Physiotherapy

Payment method

Third-party payment system

In this case, the insured person pays the physiotherapist only the portion payable by them and the physiotherapist sends an invoice to the CNS at the end of the treatment to receive the part of the costs covered by health insurance. The physiotherapist hands back the prescription to the insured person and issues a fee note which clearly indicates the portion payable by the insured person and the one payable by the CNS.

The third-party payment system only applies if the request for validation is done directly by the physiotherapist and the physiotherapy treatments are provided in the Grand Duchy. When the request for validation comes from the insured person or the physiotherapy treatments are provided outside the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the insured person has to pay the costs upfront. The portion covered by the health insurance is then reimbursed upon request.

Please note that for cross-border workers, the local health fund is responsible for covering healthcare received in their country of residence.

Advance of costs by the insured person

In this case, the physiotherapist gives the insured person an invoice for the total amount to be paid at the end of the treatment, i.e. the portion covered by the fund and any remaining portion payable by insured. After payment, the insured person applies for a reimbursement of the portion covered by health insurance with their competent fund (the CNS or the public sector health fund)

To be eligible for a refund, the physiotherapy invoice must:

  • indicate the 13-digit identification number, the insured's full name and the number of the certificate of coverage,
  • be paid in full,
  • be submitted with the medical prescription.

Coverage rate

The rate at which costs are covered is 70% for common pathology treatments.

Treatments for severe pathologies or a post-surgery rehabilitation, as well as treatments for children under the age of 18, are fully covered.

Note that some supplements that may be invoiced under the physiotherapist’s convention are not covered (such as charges for cancelled appointments).

Last update

Kinésithérapie

Mode de paiement

Système du tiers payant 

Dans ce cas l’assuré paye au kinésithérapeute uniquement la partie à sa propre charge car le kinésithérapeute envoie à la fin du traitement une facture à la CNS, pour recevoir la partie des frais à charge de l’assurance maladie. Le kinésithérapeute restitue ensuite l’ordonnance à l’assuré et lui remet un mémoire d’honoraires sur lequel la partie à sa charge et la partie à charge de la CNS sont clairement indiquées.

Le système tiers payant s’applique uniquement si la demande de validation provient directement du kinésithérapeute et si les soins de kinésithérapie sont prestés au Grand-Duché. Dans le cas où l’assuré demande lui-même la validation de l’ordonnance auprès de la CNS ou si les soins de kinésithérapie sont prestés en dehors du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, les soins doivent toujours être payés intégralement et la part à charge de la caisse est alors remboursée sur demande.

Veuillez noter que pour les travailleurs frontaliers, la prise en charge des soins reçus dans le pays de résidence relève de la compétence de leur caisse locale.

Avance des frais par l'assuré

Dans ce cas le kinésithérapeute présente à la fin du traitement une facture à l’assuré reprenant le montant total à payer, c’est-à-dire la part à charge de la caisse ainsi que la part éventuelle à la charge de l’assuré. Après paiement l’assuré demande lui-même à sa caisse compétente (CNS ou caisse de maladie du secteur public) le remboursement de la part à sa charge.

Pour pouvoir bénéficier du remboursement d'une facture de kinésithérapie, la facture doit :

  • porter le numéro matricule de l’assuré, son nom et prénom et le numéro du titre de prise en charge;
  • être valablement acquittée;
  • être accompagnée de l'ordonnance médicale.

Taux de prise en charge

Le taux de prise en charge des frais est fixé à 70% pour les actes liés à une pathologie courante.

Les traitements dans le cadre d’une pathologie lourde ou d’une rééducation post-chirurgicale, ainsi que les traitements d’enfants de moins de 18 ans sont pris en charge à 100%.

Attention : certains suppléments pour lesquels la convention des kinésithérapeutes prévoit une facturation ne sont pas pris en charge (tel que un rdv non décommandé).

Dernière mise à jour