Member State of the EU, the EEA and Switzerland

A prior authorisation from Luxembourg is required for inpatient hospital care or if health care is provided, using highly specialised medical equipments (included in the list of treatments subject to prior authorisation) in a Member State of the EU, the EEA and Switzerland.

EU :
Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, The Czech Republic, Romania, United Kingdom, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden

EEA :
Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway

Other :
Switzerland

Types of authorisation

Upon presenting a request for prior authorisation issued by a doctor and following a favourable opinion from the Medical Board of the Social Security (CMSS), two types of authorisations are possible.

S2 Authorisation

If the request concerns a contracted (non-private) establishment or hospital in the country, where treatment is provided,  the insured person receives a S2 form, provided for by regulation 883/2004. This form is issued following a favourable opinion from the CMSS and certifies the right to planned treatment in another European Union Member State, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland.  

Directive 2011/24 Authorisation

Coverage can take place under the terms of directive 2011/24/EU on the application of patients' rights in cross-border healthcare. The provisions of the directive apply, if an S2 form cannot be issued because the treatment does not fall within the scope of application of the health insurance (e.g. rare illnesses), the treatment is provided in a private institution or the insured person chooses to apply the provisions of the directive.  

For outpatient health care (health care in a hospital without an overnight stay or healthcare outside a hospital, for instance a medical practice), prior authorisation is not necessary, unless the doctor uses highly specialised and costly hospital infrastructure or medical equipments.

Choice of establishment

In the context of the regulation 883/2004, treatment is covered only, if it is provided in the establishment mentioned on the S2 form. This establishment must be contracted in the country of treatment. The transfer request necessarily refers to a specific treatment in a specific establishment and is authorised by the CNS, based on a favourable opinion from the CMSS.

If the request concerns a non-approved private establishment that does not accept the S2, the 2011/24 directive applies. Here again, if authorisation is granted, the entitlement to cover only applies to the specific establishment mentioned on the request.

 

Procedure for requesting authorisation

Authorisation must be requested from the CNS before the planned treatment begins. The application is made based on a written, reasoned request from a doctor.

There is a standard form which doctors use to make the request. The request can be sent to the CNS by post, fax or e-mail.

Each request is evaluated in administrative and medical terms and the insured person is notified of the decision.

The procedure for requesting authorisation remains the same for both types, S2 authorisation and directive 2011/24.

In the case of inpatient treatment or any other treatment which requires prior authorisation, no reimbursement will be made without an S2 or a directive authorisation.

Period of validity

The S2 is valid for the period mentioned under point 2.3.1 of the form. In general, the validity period corresponds to the duration requested by the prescribing doctor, which is the basis on which the CMSS gives its opinion. If necessary, an extension may be requested by the patient's doctor for sound medical reasons.

A renewal can be requested by the patient's doctors, under the same terms as the initial request.

 

Practical information  

Information abroad

It is not clearly defined whether the foreign doctor offering the treatment is required to accept the S2 form. It is therefore advisable to ask the specialist centre abroad beforehand, whether they agree to accept the S2 form and to carry out the formalities required in relation to the legal health insurance fund abroad. If the specialist centre does not carry out these formalities, you will have to ask a local health insurance fund of your choice about the procedure to follow with the S2 form.

For treatments which involve highly specialised medical equipments or other treatments subject to special authorisation procedures involving the health insurance fund in the country of treatment, it is important that the S2 form and the request for authorisation to cover the medical care are submitted to the foreign health insurance fund for approval. In general, the specialist centre abroad ensures that the procedures are complied with.

Refusal of the S2 abroad

If the provider refuses coverage based on the S2, the insured person must pay the invoice and request a refund. In the case of inpatient treatment, approved centres should invoice the treatment directly to the insurer in the country of treatment. They may sometimes request a coverage form, issued by this local health insurer. This is why it is important to seek information beforehand.

In the case of inpatient treatment, if the insured person receives an invoice from the establishment even though they received an S2 form, it is advisable to contact the establishment and try to arrange direct coverage. The CNS International Department can also assist; they will try to convince the provider to accept the S2 form and withdraw the invoice.

 

Terms of coverage

S2 Authorisation

Upon presenting the S2 form to the health insurance institution in the country where the treatment will be provided, the insured person will receive healthcare under the same conditions and at the same rates as people insured in that country. The treatment covered by the authorisation is thus paid for, according to the conditions and tariffs in the country where it is provided. The S2 form does not guarantee full coverage of the medical costs incurred. In the ideal case, it enables cover for the treatment costs through the third-party payment system via a local health insurance fund in the country of treatment.

If the third-party payment system does not apply, reimbursement is provided for at the rates of the treatment country by the health insurance institution in the country of treatment. If specifically requested, an additional refund may be applied for, from the competent fund in Luxembourg.

For example, fee supplements and other personal arrangements are not covered (e.g. Chefarztbehandlung, Wahlleistungen, supplement for a room with one bed or two beds, etc.).

The insured person can request an additional refund from the competent insurer. If the costs payable by the insured person, excluding any supplements, are higher than the costs theoretically payable in their competent country, the insured person will receive the difference within the limit of the reimbursement rates and tariffs in the competent country.

Directive 2011/24 Authorisation

With an authorisation under directive 2011/24, healthcare is covered at the rates and tariffs of the competent country. If authorisation is granted, the insured person receives a certificate of coverage (titre de prise en charge) explaining the reimbursement terms (costs to be advanced, reimbursement to be requested from the competent fund in Luxembourg, according to the tariffs or fixed amounts specified).

Given that the costs invoiced may be high, and far higher than the amount refunded by the fund in Luxembourg, the insured person is advised to ask the specialist centre abroad for a quotation for the treatment costs.

In this case, the insured person pays the costs of the treatment in full and is refunded by their competent fund in Luxembourg according to the conditions and tariffs applicable in Luxembourg.

 

Reasons for refusing an authorisation request

Administrative reasons

  • No affiliation;
  • Non-compliance with the APCM (prior authorisation from the CMSS);
  • Non-compliance with the authorisation request procedure;
  • The treatment falls outside the scope of health insurance;
  • The treatment is not covered or the conditions for coverage are not fulfilled;
  • ...

Medical reasons

  • The healthcare can be provided in Luxembourg within a time limit that is medically justifiable, taking into account his current state of health and the probable course of the condition;
  • A clinical examination shows with sufficient certainty, that the patient will be exposed to a safety risk that cannot be considered acceptable, given the potential advantage for the patient of seeking healthcare abroad;
  • There are valid reasons to think that the general public will be exposed to a considerable safety risk, if the patient seeks healthcare abroad;
  • The healthcare must be provided by a foreign healthcare provider that arouses serious specific concerns, with regard to compliance with standards and approaches, relating to the quality of care and patient safety.
  • ...

Appealing a refusal

If authorisation is not granted, the parties may send a written objection to the Council of Administration of the CNS, within forty days of receiving the decision.

To be valid, the objection must be signed by yourself, your legal representative or your proxy. The proxy may be a lawyer or a representative of a professional association or trade union, of which you may be a member and must have a special written power of attorney.

It is advisable to send the objection by registered post to the address of the Council of Administration of the CNS.

Last update

Pays membre de l'UE, de l'EEE et la Suisse

Il faut un accord préalable de la part du Luxembourg pour les soins stationnaires ou si les soins nécessitent un dispositif médical hautement spécialisé (figurant sur la liste des traitements soumis à accord préalable) dans un pays membre de l'UE, de l'EEE et la Suisse.

UE :
Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Bulgarie, Chypre, Croatie, Danemark, Espagne, Estonie , Finlande,France, Grèce, Hongrie, Irlande, Italie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Malte, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Portugal, République tchèque, Roumanie, Royaume-Uni, Slovaquie, Slovénie, Suède.

EEE :
Islande, Liechtenstein, Norvège.

Autre pays :
Suisse

Types d'autorisation

Sur présentation d'une demande de transfert établie par un médecin et suite à un avis favorable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale, deux types d'accord sont possibles.

Accord S2

Si la demande concerne un établissement ou un hôpital conventionné dans le pays de traitement, l'assuré reçoit un formulaire S2, prévu par le règlement 883/2004. Ce formulaire est établi après avis positif par le Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale et atteste le droit à un traitement programmé dans un autre pays membre de l'Union européenne, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Norvège ou en Suisse.

Accord directive 2011/24

La prise en charge peut être effectuée dans le cadre de la directive 2011/24/UE relative à l'application des droits des patients en matière de soins de santé transfrontaliers. Les dispositions de la directive s'appliquent si un formulaire S2 ne peut être établi, parce que les soins ne tombent pas sous le champ d'application de l'assurance maladie (p.ex. maladies rares), ou parce que les soins sont réalisés dans un établissement privé ou que l'assuré opte pour l'application des dispositions de la directive.

Pour les soins ambulatoires (soins à l'hôpital sans nuitée ou en dehors de l'hôpital, p.ex. un cabinet médical), un accord préalable n'est pas nécessaire à moins qu'il y a recours à des infrastructures ou équipements médicaux hospitaliers hautement spécialisés et coûteux.

Choix de l'établissement

Dans le cadre du règlement 883/2044 le traitement est seulement pris en charge pour l'établissement figurant sur le S2, qui doit être un établissement conventionné dans le pays de traitement. La demande de transfert concerne forcément un traitement précis dans un établissement précis et est autorisé par la CNS sur avis favorable du CMSS.

Si la demande concerne un établissement privé non conventionné qui n'accepte pas le S2, la directive 2011/24 s'applique. Là aussi, en cas d'accord, le titre de prise en charge vaut uniquement pour l'établissement précis indiqué sur la demande.

 

Procédure de demande d'autorisation

Toute autorisation est à demander à la CNS avant le début du traitement programmé. Ceci se fait sur base d'une demande écrite dûment motivée d'un médecin.

Pour la demande, il existe un formulaire type que les médecins utilisent. La demande peut être introduite auprès de la CNS par courrier postal, par Fax ou messagerie électronique.

Chaque demande donne lieu à une évaluation administrative et médicale et l'accord ou le refus sont notifiés à l'assuré concerné.

La procédure de demande d'autorisation reste la même pour les 2 types d'autorisation, Accord S2 et Accord directive 2011/24.

En cas de traitement stationnaire ou autre traitement obligatoirement soumis à accord, sans S2 ou accord Directive le remboursement sera refusé.

Durée de validité de l'autorisation

Le S2 est valable pour la période indiquée au point 2.3.1 du formulaire. En général cette durée de validité correspond à la durée que le médecin prescripteur a demandée et sur base de laquelle le Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale a donné son avis. Une prolongation, si nécessaire peut être demandée par les médecins traitants sur justification médicale.

Un renouvellement peut être demandé par les médecins traitants sous les mêmes formes que la première demande.

 

Formalités  

Information à l'étranger

Il n'est pas clairement défini si le médecin étranger qui offre le traitement est obligé de réceptionner le formulaire S2. Donc, il est préférable que l'assuré s'informe au préalable auprès du centre spécialisé à l'étranger, s'ils sont d'accord de réceptionner le formulaire S2 et de faire toutes les démarches requises auprès de la caisse de maladie légale à l'étranger. Si le centre spécialisé ne fait pas les démarches, l'assuré doit veiller à se renseigner auprès d'une caisse de maladie locale de son choix sur la procédure à respecter avec le formulaire S2.

Pour des traitements utilisant des dispositifs médicaux hautement spécialisés ou autres, soumis à des procédures spéciales d'autorisation par la caisse de maladie du lieu de traitement, il est important que le formulaire S2 avec la demande d'autorisation de prise en charge du dispositif médical, soient introduits à la caisse de maladie à l'étranger pour accord. En général le centre spécialisé étranger veille au respect de ses procédures.

Refus du S2 à l'étranger

Si le prestataire refuse la prise en charge sur base du S2, l'assuré est obligé à payer la facture et à demander le remboursement. En cas de traitement stationnaire les centres conventionnés devraient facturer directement les soins avec la caisse du pays de traitement. Il arrive parfois qu'ils exigent un formulaire de prise en charge établi par cette caisse de maladie locale. Pour cette raison il importe de se renseigner au préalable.

Lorsque, en cas de traitement stationnaire, l'assuré reçoit une facture de la part de l'établissement alors qu'un S2 lui a été délivré, il est utile de prendre contact avec l'établissement pour éventuellement arriver à effectuer une prise en charge directe. Le Département international de la CNS peut aussi être sollicité, les gestionnaires s'appliqueront à convaincre le prestataire d'accepter le formulaire S2 et de retirer la facture.

 

Modalités de prise en charge

Accord S2

Sur présentation du S2 à l'institution d'assurance maladie de l'État où le traitement sera effectué, l'assuré peut prétendre aux mêmes conditions de prise en charge aux mêmes taux que les assurés sociaux du pays de traitement. Ce S2 n'est pas une garantie pour une prise en charge de la totalité du montant. Il permet dans la situation idéale, une prise en charge par la voie du tiers payant des frais de traitement par une caisse de maladie locale du pays de traitement.

Si le tiers payant ne s'applique pas, un remboursement est prévu aux taux des tarifs sociaux du pays de traitement par l'institution du pays de traitement. Un complément de remboursement éventuel peut être sollicité sur demande expresse à la caisse compétente au Luxembourg.

Par exemple, les dépassements d'honoraires ou autres convenances personnelles ne sont pas à charge. (p.ex. Chefarztbehandlung, Wahlleistungen, supplément chambre 1 lit ou 2 lits, etc.)

L'assuré peut demander un complément de remboursement auprès de la caisse compétente. Si les frais à sa charge, en dehors d'éventuels suppléments, sont plus élevés que les frais théoriquement à sa charge dans votre pays compétent, il recevra ce complément dans la limite des taux et tarifs des remboursements du pays compétent.

Accord directive 2011/24

En cas d'accord sous la directive 2011/24 les soins sont pris en charge à hauteur des taux et tarifs du pays compétent. En cas d'accord directive 2011/24, l'assuré recevra un titre de prise en charge expliquant les modalités de remboursement (frais à avancer, remboursement à solliciter à la caisse compétente luxembourgeoise, selon les tarifs ou forfaits fixés).

Dans son propre intérêt, étant donné que les frais facturés peuvent être importants et de loin supérieurs au montant remboursé par la caisse luxembourgeoise, l'assuré doit veiller à demander au centre spécialisé à l'étranger un devis sur le coût de son traitement.

Dans ce cas, l'assuré paie intégralement les soins dispensés autorisés et sera remboursé par sa caisse compétente luxembourgeoise suivant les conditions et les tarifs applicables au Luxembourg.

 

Raisons d'un refus d'autorisation

Motifs administratifs

  • Pas d'affiliation ;
  • Non-respect de l'APCM (accord préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale) ;
  • Procédure de demande d'autorisation non respectée ;
  • Le traitement ne tombe pas sous le champ d'application de l'assurance maladie,
  • Le traitement n'est pas à charge ou les conditions de prise en charge ne sont pas remplies ;
  • ...

Motifs médicaux

  • les soins de santé peuvent être dispensés sur le territoire luxembourgeois dans un délai acceptable sur le plan médical , compte tenu de l'état de santé du moment du patient concerné et de l'évolution probable de sa maladie;
  • un examen clinique montre avec une certitude suffisante que le patient sera exposé à un risque de sécurité qui ne peut être considéré comme acceptable, compte tenu de l'avantage potentiel pour le patient des soins de santé transfrontaliers recherchés;
  • il existe des raisons valables de penser que le grand public sera exposé à un risque de sécurité considérable, du fait des soins de santé transfrontaliers en question;
  • les soins de santé doivent être fournis par un prestataire de soins de santé étranger qui suscite des inquiétudes. Il s'agit d'inquiétudes graves et spécifiques liées au respect des normes et des orientations en matière de qualité des soins et de sécurité des patients. 
  • ...

Voie de recours après un refus

En cas de NON-ACCORD, il est loisible aux parties de former par écrit une opposition auprès du Conseil d'administration de la Caisse nationale de santé, dans le délai de quarante jours à partir de la notification.

Sous peine d'irrecevabilité, toute opposition doit être signée par l'assuré lui-même, par son représentant légal ou par son mandataire. Le mandataire peut être un avocat ou le représentant de l'organisation professionnelle ou syndicale, à laquelle il est éventuellement affilié(e), justifiant d'une procuration écrite spéciale.

Le cas échéant, il est conseillé d'adresser l'opposition par courrier recommandé à l'adresse du Conseil d'Administration de la CNS.

Dernière mise à jour