Insuring family members

A co-insured person is a person who is not personally insured and who may be covered in terms of health insurance through the affiliation of the principal insured.

Co-insurance is free of charge.

Co-insurance for Luxembourg residents

In Luxembourg, the following persons can be co-insured with the principal insured:

  • The spouse or partner (civil union, known as PACS)
  • A child who is either:
    • legitimate,
    • legitimated,
    • natural,
    • adopted or
    • taken in on a long-term basis in the household

Co-insurance of a spouse/partner

Co-insurance of a spouse or partner is never automatic. A request must be sent to the "service Coassurance" of the CNS. In certain cases, the CNS must receive a specific document.

If the spouse or partner to be co-insured was personally insured in Luxembourg and their affiliation ends, they simply contact the CNS - Service Coassurance by either phone or email, but only once they have received the confirmation sent out by the "Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS)".

If the spouse or partner was not insured in Luxembourg and only recently moved to Luxembourg, one of the following scenarios applies:

  • The spouse/partner has left a country of the EU, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Switzerland, and was insured there:
    • personally: a form called E104 issued by the former health insurance fund must be presented to the CNS.
    • as a dependent family member: a certificate of co-insurance issued by the former health insurance fund must be presented to the CNS.
  • The spouse/partner has left a country linked to Luxembourg by bilateral agreement (Bosnia-Herzegovina, Cape Verde, Morocco, Montenegro, Tunisia, Turkey, Macedonia, Serbia), and was insured there:
    • personally: a form specifically provided for by the agreement in place (generally, the name of the form ends with 104) issued by the former health insurance fund must be presented to the CNS.
    • as a dependent family member: a certificate of co-insurance issued by the former health insurance fund must be presented to the CNS.
  • The spouse/partner has left a country not linked to Luxembourg by bilateral or multilateral agreement: generally, the CNS will send a sworn statement form to be filled out by the spouse/partner to be co-insured.

Co-insurance of a child

Normally, co-insurance of a child born in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is automatic. Co-insurance with one of the parents is possible until 29 years of age inclusive, provided that the child to be co-insured has resources beneath the guaranteed minimum wage for a single person.

The child can only be co-insured with one principal insured, either the one he lives with or the one who ensures their maintenance and education. If both parents fulfil these conditions, the child is covered under the insurance of the parent oldest in age.

From the age of the 30, co-insurance is still possible, but only if the child pursues university studies and upon authorisation by the CNS.

Co-insurance for residents abroad

A cross-border worker is someone who is personally insured in Luxembourg but lives abroad. The family members may also be co-insured in Luxembourg. However, the legislation of the country of residence determines which family members may be co-insured with the principal insured in Luxembourg.

If, upon registration of the cross-border worker and the postal dispatch by the CNS of the international form (S1/S072/BL1), the cross-border worker has a spouse/partner or a child to be co-insured, the health fund from the country of residence will inform the CNS by adding the family members on the international form (S1/S073/BL1/BL6). This allows the CNS to co-insure the family members upon receipt of the form.

If the family situation changes (marriage, civil union, birth of a child) and the cross-border is already registered in their country of residence through an international form (S1/S072/BL1), the insured person must provide to the CNS a certificate of entitlement issued by the health fund of the country of residence. This certificate must prove that the person to be co-insured is a dependent of the cross-border worker in their country of residence. (Important: a Belgian cross-border worker must always provide the BL6 form).

If the person to be co-insured does not have a personal file in the National Registry of Natural Persons (registre national des personnes physiques RNPP)/the social security database, the following documents must also be submitted:

  • Co-insurance of a child: the birth certificate as well as a certificate of residence/household composition
  • Co-insurance of a spouse/partner: the marriage certificate or the official certificate relating to the union, as well as a certificate of residence/household composition

Co-insurance if the family member to be co-insured does not live in the same country as the principal insured

In some cases, the principal insured lives in Luxembourg but their family members live abroad (in a country linked to Luxembourg by bilateral or multilateral agreement).

If the family members are not insured in their country of residence, co-insurance is possible. However, the health fund of the country of residence where the family members live must contact the CNS (using the form E001 or E107, for instance) to request the form S1M/F (formerly known as E109) to be issued.

This request must be submitted by the health fund of the country of residence. It serves as proof to the CNS that the family members are not otherwise insured in their country of residence.

Last update

Assurance des membres de famille

Un coassuré est une personne qui n’est pas assurée à titre personnel et qui peut bénéficier d’une protection en matière d'assurance maladie en tant que membre de famille dans le chef de l’affiliation d’un assuré principal.

La coassurance est gratuite.

Coassurance en cas de résidence au Luxembourg

Au Luxembourg, les personnes suivantes peuvent être coassurées sous l’affiliation d’un assuré principal :

  • Le conjoint ou partenaire (PACS)
  • L’enfant
    • légitime,
    • légitimé,
    • naturel,
    • adoptif ou
    • recueilli d’une manière durable dans le ménage.

Coassurance d’un conjoint/partenaire

La coassurance d’un conjoint ou partenaire ne se fait jamais automatiquement. Une demande doit être adressée au service Coassurance de la CNS. Dans certains cas, la CNS doit disposer d’un document spécifique.

Si le conjoint ou partenaire à coassurer était affilié à titre personnel au Luxembourg et son affiliation cesse, il suffit de contacter, par mail ou téléphone, la CNS – Service Coassurance, et ce dès réception de la déclaration de sortie du Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS).

Si le conjoint ou partenaire n’était pas affilié au Luxembourg et s’est récemment installé au Luxembourg, plusieurs cas de figure se présentent :

  • le conjoint/partenaire a quitté un pays de l’UE, la Norvège, l’Islande, le Liechtenstein, et la Suisse, et y était affilié :
    • à titre personnel : un formulaire E104 établi par l’ancienne caisse de maladie d’affiliation est à présenter à la CNS.
    • en tant que membre de famille coassuré : un certificat de coassurance établi par l’ancienne caisse de maladie d’affiliation est à présenter à la CNS.
  • Le conjoint/partenaire a quitté un pays lié au Luxembourg par convention bilatérale (Bosnie-Herzégovine, Cap-Vert, Maroc, Monténégro, Tunisie, Turquie, Macédoine, Serbie), et y était affilié :
    • à titre personnel : un formulaire spécifiquement prévu par la convention en cause (en principe, le nom du formulaire se termine par 104) établi par l’ancienne caisse de maladie d’affiliation est à présenter à la CNS.
    • en tant que membre de famille coassuré : un certificat de coassurance établi par l’ancienne caisse de maladie d’affiliation est à présenter à la CNS.
  • Le conjoint/partenaire a quitté un pays non-lié au Luxembourg par convention bi- ou multilatérale : en principe, la CNS transmettra sur demande une attestation sur l’honneur à remplir par le conjoint/partenaire à coassurer.

Coassurance d’un enfant

En principe, la coassurance d’un enfant né au Grand-Duché est automatique. Une coassurance sous l’affiliation d’un parent est possible jusqu’à 29 ans inclus, à condition que l’enfant à coassurer dispose de ressources inférieures au revenu minimum garanti pour une seule personne.

À noter que l’enfant n’est assuré que dans le chef d’un seul assuré principal, à savoir celui avec lequel il vit en communauté domestique ou qui lui assure l’éducation et l’entretien. Si ces conditions sont remplies à l’égard de plusieurs assurés principaux, la protection opère dans le chef de l’assuré principal le plus âgé.

À partir de l’âge de 30 ans , la coassurance reste possible uniquement en cas d’études supérieures et sur autorisation de la CNS.

Coassurance en cas de résidence à l’étranger

Un travailleur frontalier est un assuré principal au Luxembourg qui a sa résidence à l’étranger. Les membres de sa famille peuvent également être coassurés au Luxembourg. Cependant, c’est la législation du pays de résidence qui détermine les membres de famille à coassurer sous l’affiliation de l’assuré principal.

Si au moment de l’affiliation du travailleur frontalier et l’envoi par la CNS du formulaire international (S1/S072/BL1), le travailleur frontalier a un conjoint/partenaire ou un enfant à coassurer, la caisse du pays de résidence en informera la CNS moyennant ajout sur le formulaire international (S1/S073/BL1/BL6). La CNS pourra ainsi procéder à la coassurance dès réception du formulaire adéquat.

En cas de changement de situation (mariage, partenariat civil, naissance d’un enfant) d’un travailleur frontalier déjà inscrit moyennant formulaire international (S1/S072/BL1) dans son pays de résidence, l’assuré doit fournir à la CNS une attestation de droits établie par la caisse du pays de résidence. Cette attestation doit prouver que la personne à coassurer est rattachée au travailleur frontalier dans son pays de résidence. (Attention : le frontalier belge doit dans tous les cas fournir un formulaire BL6)

Si la personne à coassurer ne dispose pas encore de dossier personnel dans le registre national des personnes physiques (RNPP)/la base de données de la sécurité sociale, les documents suivants sont à joindre :

  • Coassurance d’un enfant : l’acte de naissance ainsi qu’un certificat de résidence/une composition de ménage
  • Coassurance d’un conjoint/partenaire : l’acte de mariage ou l’acte officiel relatif au partenariat, ainsi qu’un certificat de résidence/une composition de ménage.

Coassurance si le membre de famille à coassurer ne réside pas dans le même pays que l’assuré principal

Dans certains cas, l’assuré principal réside au Luxembourg et ses membres de famille résident à l’étranger (dans un pays lié au Luxembourg par convention bi- ou multilatérale).

Si les membres de famille ne sont pas affiliés dans leur pays de résidence, une coassurance est possible. Cependant, c’est la caisse de maladie du pays de résidence des membres de famille qui doit contacter la CNS (par exemple, moyennant formulaire E001, E107) pour demander l’émission du formulaire S1M/F (anciennement E109).

Cette demande doit obligatoirement émaner de la caisse du pays de résidence. Elle sert de preuve à la CNS que les membres de famille ne sont pas autrement affiliés dans le pays de résidence.

Dernière mise à jour