Countries outside the European Union (EU), the EEA and Switzerland, but bound by bilateral agreement with Luxembourg

Affiliation in Luxembourg

Students who live in Luxembourg and are regularly enrolled at a university institution abroad must be affiliated with a Luxembourg health insurance fund in order to benefit from reimbursement of their healthcare costs in the country of study and in Luxembourg.

The resident student may be affiliated either as a co-insured family member (with the father or mother) or on a personal basis, if co-insurance is not possible.

If co-insurance applies, the competent fund is that of the main insured, either:

  • the National Health Fund (Caisse nationale de santé / CNS) for the private sector,
  • the Sickness Fund for Civil Servants and Public Employees (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics / CMFEP) or the Sickness Fund for Civil Servants and Municipal Employees (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux / CMFEC) for the public sector, or
  • the Medical Mutual of the CFL (Entraide médicale des CFL / EMCFL) for employees of the Luxembourg railways.

The CNS is in charge of students affiliated on a personal basis.

The necessary steps for co-insurance must be taken directly with the competent fund, while the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale CCSS) should be contacted in the event of personal, compulsory or voluntary affiliation.

Healthcare in the country of study

Studies abroad are considered a temporary stay abroad. During this stay, a student may require immediate access to healthcare. In general, it is recommended that the student contact the competent social security institution in the country of study to inquire about the terms of reimbursement and coverage for healthcare in that country.

Countries outside the European Union (EU), the EEA and Switzerland, but bound by bilateral agreement with Luxembourg

The countries are:

Country Form
Bosnia and Herzegovina LU/BiH111
Cape Verde LCV/5 (5-40)
Macedonia European Health Insurance Card
Morocco
L/M8
Montenegro
European Health Insurance Card
Quebec
LUX QUE 4
Serbia European Health Insurance Card
Tunisia T/L
Turkey TR/L-3

If the student is studying in one of these countries, they must submit a form to the social security institution of the country of study. This form certifies that they are entitled to benefits in kind for the duration of their stay. The student must submit the relevant form to the institution in the country of study in order to be registered and thus benefit from care under the same conditions as residents. The student may then submit invoices directly to the competent institution on site, which then reimburses the medical expenses incurred during the stay according to the rates and tariffs it applies. The student can also send the invoices to the competent Luxembourg fund for a reimbursement according to the Luxembourg conditions, rates and tariffs.

It is recommended that the student request information from the institution of the country of study about the conditions of coverage and reimbursement.

The appropriate form must be ordered at least fifteen days before departure.

Non-contracted healthcare providers (in other words, private providers) will not accept the form. The student has to pay the invoices and then request a reimbursement from the competent Luxembourg fund.

Last update

Pays en dehors de l'Union européenne (UE), l'EEE et la Suisse, mais liés par une convention bilatérale avec le Luxembourg

Affiliation au Luxembourg

L’étudiant qui réside au Luxembourg et qui est régulièrement inscrit auprès d’un établissement universitaire à l’étranger, doit être affilié à une caisse de maladie luxembourgeoise afin de bénéficier du remboursement de ses soins de santé dans le pays d’étude et au Luxembourg.

L’étudiant résident peut être affilié soit en tant que coassuré (notamment chez le père ou la mère) soit, à titre personnel si une coassurance n’est pas possible.

En cas de coassurance, la caisse compétente est celle de l’assuré principal, soit la Caisse nationale de santé pour le secteur privé, la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics ou la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux pour le secteur public, et l'Entraide médicale des CFL pour les salariés des chemins de fer luxembourgeois. Il s’agit de la Caisse nationale de santé (CNS) pour les étudiants affiliés à titre personnel.

Les démarches nécessaires pour une coassurance sont à faire directement auprès de la caisse compétente alors que c’est le Centre commun de la sécurité sociale qui est à contacter en cas d’affiliation à titre personnel, obligatoire ou volontaire

Soins dans le pays d’étude

Les études à l’étranger sont considérées comme un séjour temporaire à l’étranger. Il peut arriver que l’étudiant ait besoin lors de son séjour à l’étranger d’un accès immédiat aux soins. En général, il est recommandé à l’étudiant de s’adresser à l’institution de sécurité sociale compétente du lieu d’étude pour recevoir des informations sur les modalités de remboursement et de prise en charge des soins sur place. On peut distinguer la situation de l’étudiant suivant le lieu d’étude/de séjour.

Pays en dehors de l'Union Européenne (UE), l'EEE et la Suisse, mais liés par une convention bilatérale avec le Luxembourg

Il s'agit des pays suivants :

Pays Formulaire
Bosnie-Herzégovine LU/BiH111
Cap Vert LCV/5 (5-40)
Macédoine Carte européenne d'assurance maladie
Maroc L/M8
Monténégro Carte européenne d'assurance maladie
Québec LUX QUE 4
Serbie Carte européenne d'assurance maladie
Tunisie T/L
Turquie TR/L-3

Si l’étudiant étudie dans un de ces pays, il est tenu de présenter à l'institution de sécurité sociale du lieu d’étude un formulaire, qui certifie qu'il a droit aux prestations en nature pendant la période de son séjour. L’étudiant doit remettre le formulaire respectif à l’institution du pays d’étude pour qu’elle l’inscrive et qu’il puisse ainsi bénéficier des soins dans les mêmes conditions que les résidents. L’étudiant peut alors remettre ses factures directement à l’institution compétente sur place qui procède alors au remboursement des frais médicaux encourus lors du séjour et ceci d'après les taux et tarifs qu'elle applique. L’étudiant peut également envoyer les factures pour remboursement à sa caisse compétente luxembourgeoise, pour un remboursement suivant les conditions, taux et tarifs luxembourgeois.

Il est recommandé que l’étudiant se renseigne auprès de l’institution compétente du pays d’étude sur les conditions de prise en charge et de remboursement.

Le formulaire adéquat doit être commandé au moins quinze jours avant le départ.

Les prestataires du secteur privé n'accepteront pas le formulaire indiqué dans la liste ci-dessus. Les factures sont à payer et le remboursement est à demander auprès de la caisse compétente luxembourgeoise.

Dernière mise à jour