Countries outside the European Union (EU), the EEA and Switzerland, and not bound by bilateral agreement with Luxembourg

Affiliation in Luxembourg

Students who live in Luxembourg and are regularly enrolled at a university institution abroad must be affiliated with a Luxembourg health insurance fund in order to benefit from reimbursement of their healthcare costs in the country of study and in Luxembourg.

The resident student may be affiliated either as a co-insured family member (with the father or mother) or on a personal basis, if co-insurance is not possible.

If co-insurance applies, the competent fund is that of the main insured, either:

  • the National Health Fund (Caisse nationale de santé / CNS) for the private sector,
  • the Sickness Fund for Civil Servants and Public Employees (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics / CMFEP) or the Sickness Fund for Civil Servants and Municipal Employees (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux / CMFEC) for the public sector, or
  • the Medical Mutual of the CFL (Entraide médicale des CFL / EMCFL) for employees of the Luxembourg railways.

The CNS is in charge of students affiliated on a personal basis.

The necessary steps for co-insurance must be taken directly with the competent fund, while the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale CCSS) should be contacted in the event of personal, compulsory or voluntary affiliation.

Healthcare in the country of study

Studies abroad are considered a temporary stay abroad. During this stay, a student may require immediate access to healthcare. In general, it is recommended that the student contact the competent social security institution in the country of study to inquire about the terms of reimbursement and coverage for healthcare in that country.

Countries outside the European Union (EU), the EEA and Switzerland, and not bound by bilateral agreement with Luxembourg

These are all the other countries in the world, outside the EU, the EEA and Switzerland and not bound by bilateral agreement with Luxembourg, such as the United States, Australia,....

Invoices from these countries are to be sent to the competent Luxembourg health fund and are reimbursed according to the Luxembourg rates and tariffs, provided that the tariffs applied in Luxembourg cover the situation in question.

To be eligible for reimbursement, it is essential that bills be:

  •     settled;
  •     detailed (using medical expressions and non-coded terms) and
  •     worded in one of the following languages: English, French or German.

The costs of medical and hospital services can differ significantly from one country to another and even cost substantially more than in Luxembourg. Hence, there may be a considerable difference between the costs incurred and the reimbursement of the CNS, to the disadvantage of the insured. If a student studies in one of these countries, it is recommended to take out additional insurance. To do this, the student can contact a private insurer specialised in this type of coverage.

Students should also obtain information from the social security institution of the country of study about how the health system works, how healthcare is provided, the cost of care, etc.

Last update

Pays en dehors de l'Union européenne (UE), l'EEE et la Suisse, non-liés par une convention bilatérale avec le Luxembourg

Affiliation au Luxembourg

L’étudiant qui réside au Luxembourg et qui est régulièrement inscrit auprès d’un établissement universitaire à l’étranger, doit être affilié à une caisse de maladie luxembourgeoise afin de bénéficier du remboursement de ses soins de santé dans le pays d’étude et au Luxembourg.

L’étudiant résident peut être affilié soit en tant que coassuré (notamment chez le père ou la mère) soit, à titre personnel si une coassurance n’est pas possible.

En cas de coassurance, la caisse compétente est celle de l’assuré principal, soit la Caisse nationale de santé pour le secteur privé, la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics ou la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux pour le secteur public, et l'Entraide médicale des CFL pour les salariés des chemins de fer luxembourgeois. Il s’agit de la Caisse nationale de santé (CNS) pour les étudiants affiliés à titre personnel.

Les démarches nécessaires pour une coassurance sont à faire directement auprès de la caisse compétente alors que c’est le Centre commun de la sécurité sociale qui est à contacter en cas d’affiliation à titre personnel, obligatoire ou volontaire

 

Soins dans le pays d’étude

Les études à l’étranger sont considérées comme un séjour temporaire à l’étranger. Il peut arriver que l’étudiant ait besoin lors de son séjour à l’étranger d’un accès immédiat aux soins. En général, il est recommandé à l’étudiant de s’adresser à l’institution de sécurité sociale compétente du lieu d’étude pour recevoir des informations sur les modalités de remboursement et de prise en charge des soins sur place. On peut distinguer la situation de l’étudiant suivant le lieu d’étude/de séjour.

Pays en dehors de l'Union Européenne (UE), l'EEE et la Suisse, non-liés par une convention bilatérale avec le Luxembourg

Il s'agit de tous les autres pays du Monde, en dehors de l'UE, l'EEE et la Suisse et non-conventionnés avec le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, comme par exemple, les États-Unis, l'Australie,....

Les factures provenant de ces pays sont à envoyer à la caisse de maladie compétente luxembourgeoise et sont remboursées suivant les taux et tarifs luxembourgeois à condition que les tarifs appliqués au Luxembourg couvrent la situation visée.

Pour ce faire il est indispensable que les factures soient:

  • acquittées;
  • détaillées (en termes médicaux et non codées) et
  • libellées dans une des langues suivantes : Anglais, Français ou Allemand.

Les coûts des prestations médicales et hospitalières peuvent différer sensiblement d'un pays à l'autre et même coûter substantiellement plus cher qu'au Luxembourg. Il peut donc y avoir une différence considérable entre les frais exposés et le remboursement de la CNS et ceci en défaveur de l’assuré. En cas de séjour dans un pays de cette catégorie, il est donc recommandé de s’assurer de façon complémentaire. Pour cela, l’étudiant peut s’adresser à un assureur spécialisé dans ce genre de couverture.

Il est recommandé aux étudiants de se renseigner également sur place auprès des organismes de sécurité sociale du pays d’étude sur le fonctionnement du système de santé, la dispensation des soins, le coût des soins etc.

 

Dernière mise à jour