Countries of the European Union (EU), the European Economic Area (EEA) and Switzerland

Affiliation in Luxembourg

Students who live in Luxembourg and are regularly enrolled at a university institution abroad must be affiliated with a Luxembourg health insurance fund in order to benefit from reimbursement of their healthcare costs in the country of study and in Luxembourg.

The resident student may be affiliated either as a co-insured family member (with the father or mother) or on a personal basis, if co-insurance is not possible.

If co-insurance applies, the competent fund is that of the main insured, either:

  • the National Health Fund (Caisse nationale de santé / CNS) for the private sector,
  • the Sickness Fund for Civil Servants and Public Employees (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics / CMFEP) or the Sickness Fund for Civil Servants and Municipal Employees (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux / CMFEC) for the public sector, or
  • the Medical Mutual of the CFL (Entraide médicale des CFL / EMCFL) for employees of the Luxembourg railways.

The CNS is in charge of students affiliated on a personal basis.

The necessary steps for co-insurance must be taken directly with the competent fund, while the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale CCSS) should be contacted in the event of personal, compulsory or voluntary affiliation.

Healthcare in the country of study

Studies abroad are considered a temporary stay abroad. During this stay, a student may require immediate access to healthcare. In general, it is recommended that the student contact the competent social security institution in the country of study to inquire about the terms of reimbursement and coverage for healthcare in that country.

Countries of the European Union (EU), the European Economic Area (EEA) and Switzerland

The countries are:

EU:
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

EEA:
Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway.

Other:
Switzerland

It is recommended that the student register with the competent social security institution in the country of study. Usually, healthcare costs are also covered upon presenting the European Health Insurance Card, but a prior registration will simplify the formalities for reimbursement.

If, for any reason, registration is not possible, necessary healthcare can still be covered based on the European Health Insurance Card. These treatments are provided in accordance with the legal provisions of the Member State of stay and reimbursed according to the rates applied there.

The card certifies the right in the Member State of stay to necessary medical care in order for the student to be able to continue their stay in safe medical conditions instead of being forced to interrupt the stay in order to be treated at home.

The European Health Insurance Card can only be accepted by contracted providers, i.e. those who are linked to the social security scheme of their country. However, if care is administered by a non-contracted / private provider, the medical costs can be reimbursed in accordance with Luxembourg conditions and tariffs. The institution of the country of study can provide information about contracted and non-contracted providers.

If, in the event of necessary treatment, a healthcare provider does not accept the European Health Insurance Card, the student must pay the costs for the medical treatment received and request reimbursement either from a health insurance fund in the country of stay or from his competent Luxembourg fund.

  • If the student submits the invoices to the fund of the country of stay, they will be reimbursed according to the rates and tariffs of the country of stay.
  • If the student submits the invoices to the competent Luxembourg fund, the latter will submit a tariffication request to the fund of the country of stay (using form E126 / S067). As soon as the competent fund receives an answer, the student will be reimbursed according to the rates and tariffs of the country of stay. In addition, when submitting invoices to the competent fund, the student may explicitly request a reimbursement in accordance with the Luxembourg rates and tariffs.

With a contracted healthcare provider and in the event of necessary care, the European card should not be rejected.

If the student does not have the card and in case of necessary treatment, they will have to pay the costs of the services received and request a reimbursement from his competent health insurance fund upon his return.

Before leaving for one of these countries, it is important to check whether the European card is still valid.

If necessary, a provisional replacement certificate for the European Health Insurance Card may be requested from the competent fund.

Finally, any non-refundable service in Luxembourg remains non-refundable if it is provided on the territory of another EU Member State (e.g. adult orthodontics, osteopathy, alternative practitioner...).

Coverage of certain treatments such as physiotherapy requires the issuance of a certificate of coverage by the CNS.

Last update

Pays de l'Union européenne (UE), l'Espace économique européen (EEE) et la Suisse

Affiliation au Luxembourg

L’étudiant qui réside au Luxembourg et qui est régulièrement inscrit auprès d’un établissement universitaire à l’étranger, doit être affilié à une caisse de maladie luxembourgeoise afin de bénéficier du remboursement de ses soins de santé dans le pays d’étude et au Luxembourg.

L’étudiant résident peut être affilié soit en tant que coassuré (notamment chez le père ou la mère) soit, à titre personnel si une coassurance n’est pas possible.

En cas de coassurance, la caisse compétente est celle de l’assuré principal, soit la Caisse nationale de santé pour le secteur privé, la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics ou la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux pour le secteur public, et l'Entraide médicale des CFL pour les salariés des chemins de fer luxembourgeois. Il s’agit de la Caisse nationale de santé (CNS) pour les étudiants affiliés à titre personnel.

Les démarches nécessaires pour une coassurance sont à faire directement auprès de la caisse compétente alors que c’est le Centre commun de la sécurité sociale qui est à contacter en cas d’affiliation à titre personnel, obligatoire ou volontaire

 

Soins dans le pays d’étude

Les études à l’étranger sont considérées comme un séjour temporaire à l’étranger. Il peut arriver que l’étudiant ait besoin lors de son séjour à l’étranger d’un accès immédiat aux soins. En général, il est recommandé à l’étudiant de s’adresser à l’institution de sécurité sociale compétente du lieu d’étude pour recevoir des informations sur les modalités de remboursement et de prise en charge des soins sur place. On peut distinguer la situation de l’étudiant suivant le lieu d’étude/de séjour.

Pays de l'Union Européenne (UE), l'Espace économique européen (EEE) et la Suisse

Il s'agit des pays suivants :

UE :
Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Bulgarie, Chypre, Croatie, Danemark, Espagne, Estonie , Finlande, France, Grèce, Hongrie, Irlande, Italie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Malte, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Portugal, République tchèque, Roumanie, Slovaquie, Slovénie, Suède.

EEE :
Islande, Liechtenstein, Norvège.

Autre pays :
Suisse

Il est recommandé que l’étudiant s’inscrive auprès de l’institution de sécurité sociale compétente du lieu d’étude. La prise en charge des frais de soins de santé se fait normalement aussi sur présentation de la carte européenne d’assurance maladie mais l’inscription facilite les formalités de remboursement.

Si une inscription n’est pas possible pour quelque raison que ce soit, les éventuels soins nécessaires peuvent quand-même être pris en charge sur base de la carte européenne d'assurance maladie. Ces soins sont alors dispensés selon les dispositions légales de l'État membre du séjour et remboursés selon les tarifs qui y sont appliqués.

La carte atteste le droit dans l'Etat membre de séjour aux soins médicaux nécessaires afin de pouvoir continuer son séjour dans des conditions médicales sûres au lieu d'être contraint d'interrompre le séjour pour se faire traiter à la maison.

La carte européenne d’assurance maladie peut être utilisée uniquement chez des prestataires conventionnés, c'est-à-dire qui sont liés à la sécurité sociale de leur pays. Cependant, si les soins sont administrés par un prestataire non conventionné ou privé, la prise en charge peut avoir lieu par la voie du remboursement aux conditions et tarifs luxembourgeois. L’institution du lieu d’étude peut fournir des renseignements au sujet des prestataires conventionnés ou non.

Si en cas de soins nécessaires, il arrive qu’un prestataire n’accepte pas la carte européenne d’assurance maladie, l’étudiant doit payer les frais pour les soins médicaux reçus et demander le remboursement ou bien à une caisse de maladie du pays de séjour ou à sa caisse compétente luxembourgeoise.

  • En cas d'envoi/remise des factures à la caisse du pays de séjour, il sera remboursé selon les taux et tarifs du pays de séjour.
  • En cas d'envoi/remise des factures à la caisse compétente, celle-ci procédera à une tarification des factures auprès de la caisse de séjour (moyennant formulaire E126 / S067). Dès que la réponse aura été reçue, il sera remboursé selon les taux et tarifs du pays de séjour. En plus, sur demande expresse de la part de l’étudiant, il a la possibilité lors de l'envoi/remise des factures auprès de sa caisse compétente de demander à être remboursé selon les taux et tarifs luxembourgeois.

Auprès d'un prestataire conventionné et en cas de soins nécessaires, la carte ne peut normalement pas être refusée.

Si l’étudiant n’a pas sa carte et en cas de soins nécessaires, il sera obligé d'avancer la totalité des frais pour les prestations reçues et de demander le remboursement auprès de sa caisse de maladie compétente à son retour.

Avant de partir dans un de ces pays, il est important de vérifier si la carte européenne est encore valable.

En cas de besoin, un certificat de remplacement provisoire de la carte européenne d’assurance maladie peut être demandé auprès de la caisse compétente.

Enfin, toute prestation non remboursable au Luxembourg reste non remboursable si elle est effectuée sur le territoire d'un autre pays membre de l'UE (par exemple l'orthodontie pour adultes, ostéopathie, Heilpraktiker...).

La prise en charge de certains soins comme la kinésithérapie nécessite l’émission d’un titre de prise en charge par la CNS.

 

Dernière mise à jour