Hospitals in Luxembourg

The hospital sector in Luxembourg includes acute care hospitals as well as the "Centre hospitalier neuro-psychiatrique", the "Centre national de rééducation et de réadaptation fonctionnelles", the "Institut national de chirurgie cardiaque et cardiologie interventionnelle pour la chirurgie cardiaque" and the "Centre pour radiothérapie François Baclesse" in Esch-sur-Alzette.

List of hospitals (10 in total and Colpach is part of the LNS)

Course of the patient's stay

Except in emergencies, the patient has the free choice of the hospital as well as the doctor among those admitted to practice in the hospital.

For inpatient treatment

Insured persons are admitted to an inpatient treatment under the responsibility of a licensed hospital doctor, who registers the date and time of admission.

At the end of an inpatient hospital stay, the attending physician sets the date of the insured person's discharge.

For outpatient treatment

Outpatient treatments are covered according to the same terms as consultations/treatments in medical practices.

The patient has the right to leave the hospital at any time, at his own risk. When the discharge poses a danger to the patient and is made against the doctor's advice, the patient is required to sign a certificate of discharge against medical opinion, after having been informed of the risks of his discharge.

What is covered

Outpatient or inpatient treatments and hospitalisations in second-class rooms, with the exception of medical fees, are fully covered.

The attending physicians must invoice the acts and services provided for in the table of the nomenclature of acts and services of doctors and dentists.

The hospital shall adequately inform the patient of the financial conditions of his or her stay, including the amounts to be paid by the patient.

Maximum coverage

The CNS covers hospitalisations in rooms that fall within the definition of a second class room without extra charge.

In the event of hospitalisation of a child under 14 years of age, accomodation costs (provision of a bed), with the exception of catering costs generated by the presence of an accompanying person in the hospital, are covered by health insurance.

Second class room: one or more sinks, a toilet, a shower, an electronic nurse call equipment with integrated radio  

What is not covered

Treatments not covered by health insurance

Benefits not prescribed by the legislation, regulations and statutes in force are not covered, in particular: accommodation, cosmetic surgeries (unless authorised by the Medical Board of Social Security and unless the first treatment results in complications).

Accommodation: a stay during which no further treatment is carried out and the patient is waiting for his discharge, a classic case, is a patient waiting for a place available in a retirement home.  

Dental treatments

Except in the event of delivery by the official care or emergency service, or in the case of extraction of more than three teeth, hospital stays and treatments in connection with dental treatments are only covered by health insurance with the prior agreement of the Medical Board of the Social Security and under specific conditions.

Amounts to be paid by the patient (in second class)

Daily participation:

  • Insured persons, with the exception of children under 18 years of age, participate in their maintenance during an inpatient hospital stay at a rate of 21.99 euros for each day of hospitalisation started, up to a maximum of 30 days per calendar year. In the event of hospitalisation during childbirth, this contribution is not due during the first 12 days.
  • Insured persons, with the exception of children under 18 years of age, placed under surveillance in a hospital or admitted to hospital day care participate in their maintenance at a rate of 10.99 euros per day. Specific rules apply to treatments in psychiatric day hospitals.

Various supplements (personal convenience/1st class)

Personal convenience:

  •  telephone, TV, internet access etc.

A stay in 1st class/individual room leads to:

  • the invoicing of a supplement per day according to the type of room occupied. This supplement per day varies according to the type of room occupied (with or without shower, etc.)
  • a 66% increase in medical fees. In this case, the physician or other intervening physicians (anaesthetist etc.) are entitled to apply a rate increased by sixty-six percent (66%) over the official rate applied for consultations, visits and second-class medical procedures and services.

The supplement per day for 1st class and the 66% increase are not covered by health insurance.

The 66% increase:

A 66% increase in the rate cannot be applied when hospitalisation in a single room is necessary for medical reasons.

Surgical procedures in the operating room may also be increased by 66% if the insured person's occupancy of the first-class room only begins within 48 hours of the surgery or exit from the intensive care unit.

If, during hospitalisation, several surgical operations are carried out, at least one of which is not covered by health insurance, the costs normally covered and incurred during the period of hospitalisation shall be covered only if the most important operation is covered by health insurance.

Last update

Hôpitaux au Luxembourg

Le secteur hospitalier au Luxembourg comprend les hôpitaux de soins aigus ainsi que le Centre hospitalier neuro-psychiatrique, le Centre national de rééducation et de réadaptation fonctionnelles, l’Institut national de chirurgie cardiaque et cardiologie interventionnelle pour la chirurgie cardiaque et le Centre pour radiothérapie François Baclesse à Esch-sur-Alzette.

Liste des établissements hospitaliers (10 établissements au total et Colpach est une partie du LNS)

Déroulement du séjour 

Sauf le cas d’urgence, le patient a le libre choix de l’hôpital ainsi que du médecin parmi ceux admis à exercer à l’hôpital.

Pour un traitement stationnaire

L'admission en traitement stationnaire d'un assuré se fait sous la responsabilité d'un médecin agréé de l'hôpital, qui enregistre la date et l'heure de l'admission.

À la fin d'un séjour stationnaire, le médecin traitant fixe la date de sortie de l'assuré.

Pour un traitement ambulatoire

Les traitements ambulatoires se déroulent selon les mêmes circonstances que les consultations/traitements dans des cabinets médicaux.

Ainsi, le patient a à tout moment le droit de quitter l’établissement hospitalier, à son propre risque. Lorsque la sortie présente un danger pour le patient et qu’elle se fait contre l’avis médical, le patient est tenu à signer une attestation de sortie contre avis médical, après avoir été informé des risques de sa sortie.

Ce qui est pris en charge

Le traitement hospitalier ambulatoire ou stationnaire ainsi que le séjour à l’hôpital en chambre de deuxième classe, à l’exception des honoraires médicaux, sont pris en charge intégralement.

Les médecins traitants doivent mettre en compte les actes et services prévus dans le tableau de la nomenclature des actes et services des médecins et médecins-dentistes.

L’hôpital informe de manière adéquate le patient des conditions financières de son séjour, y compris les montants à charge du patient.

Prise en charge maximale

La CNS prend en charge l'hospitalisation dans une chambre de 2ième classe.

En cas d’hospitalisation d’un enfant de moins de 14 ans, les frais d’hôtellerie (mise à disposition d'un lit), à l’exception des frais de restauration générés par la présence d’une personne accompagnante à l’hôpital, sont pris en charge par l’assurance maladie.

Définition d'une chambre de 2ième classe:

un ou plusieurs lavabos, une toilette, une douche, un équipement d’appel électronique infirmier avec radio intégrée.

 

Ce qui n’est pas pris en charge

Traitements non pris en charge par l’assurance maladie

Les prestations qui ne sont pas prévues par la législation, réglementation et statuts en vigueur ne sont pas pris en charge, notamment: hébergement, chirurgie esthétique (sauf accord du contrôle médical et sauf complication engendrée du fait du premier traitement).

Hébergement: un séjour pendant lequel il n’y a plus de traitement qui est effectué mais le patient est en attente de sa sortie , cas classique , en attente d’une place disponible dans une maison de retraite.

Traitements dentaires

Sauf en cas de délivrance par le service de garde ou d’urgence officiel, ou dans le cas d’une extraction de plus de trois dents, les séjours et traitements hospitaliers en relation avec des traitements dentaires ne sont opposables à l’assurance maladie que sur accord préalable du Contrôle médical suivant des conditions spécifiques.

Montants à charge du patient (en deuxième classe)

La participation journalière:

  • Les personnes protégées, à l’exception des enfants de moins de 18 ans, participent à leur entretien en milieu hospitalier stationnaire à raison de 21,99 euro pour chaque journée d’hospitalisation entamée jusqu’à concurrence d’un maximum de 30 journées par année de calendrier. En cas d’hospitalisation lors d’un accouchement, cette participation n’est pas due pendant les 12 premiers jours
  • Les personnes protégées, à l’exception des enfants de moins de 18 ans, admises en place de surveillance ou en hôpital de jour participent à leur entretien en raison de 10,99 euro par jour. Des règles spécifiques sont applicables aux traitements en hôpital de jour de psychiatrie.

Divers suppléments  (convenance personnelle/1ère classe)

Les prestations à convenance personnelle:

  •  téléphone, TV, accès internet etc.

Un séjour en 1ère classe/chambre individuelle entraîne:

  • la facturation d’un supplément par jour en fonction du type de chambre occupée. Ce supplément par jour varie en fonction du type de chambre occupé (avec ou sans douche, etc.)
  • une majoration des honoraires médicaux de 66%. Dans ce cas, le médecin ou les autres médecins qui interviennent (anesthésiste etc.) ont le droit d'appliquer un tarif augmenté de soixante-six pour cent (66 %) par rapport au tarif officiel appliqué pour les consultations, les visites et les actes et services médicaux en deuxième classe.

Le supplément par jour pour 1ère classe et la majoration de 66% ne sont pas pris en charge par l'assurance maladie.

La majoration de 66%

Une majoration du tarif de 66% ne peut être mise en compte par le médecin lorsque l'hospitalisation dans une chambre à un lit est nécessaire pour des raisons médicales.

Les actes prestés en salle d'opération peuvent également être majorés de 66% si l'occupation de la chambre de première classe par la personne protégée ne commence que dans les quarante-huit heures à compter de l'intervention chirurgicale ou de la sortie de la salle de soins intensifs.

Lorsqu’au cours d’une hospitalisation, plusieurs interventions chirurgicales sont pratiquées dont au moins une n’est pas à charge de l’assurance maladie, les frais normalement pris en charge et générés pendant la durée de l’hospitalisation ne sont pris en charge que si l’intervention la plus importante est à charge de l’assurance maladie.

Dernière mise à jour