Doctors

Most doctors in Luxembourg are self-employed. As part of a liberal medical system, they either work in individual private practices or they collaborate with one or more doctors in one practice.

General information

The role of doctors

The main duty of doctors is to treat and prevent diseases. This is referred to as primary care, which is mainly provided by general practitioners and specialists in medical practices.

Each person should choose a general practitioner for themselves and a paediatrician and/or general practitioner for their child. These healthcare providers will be the first point of contact in the event of illness and will guide them. If the usual doctor is not available, the insured person may contact another doctor of their choice, in accordance with the principle of free choice of service provider.

Free choice of service provider

Except in case of emergency, the insured person is free to choose a healthcare provider. He can also consult a specialist without first going through a general practitioner and does not need a transfer/prescription from his doctor to consult the specialist. The insured person may change doctors at any time.

However, in a hospital setting, choice can often be limited, as hospital organisational structures allow only health professionals licensed by the hospital to provide medical care.

Medical specialities

In Luxembourg, the term "doctors" (excluding dentists) refers to doctors practicing general medicine and medical specialists. The various medical specialities recognised in Luxembourg are defined by a Grand-Ducal regulation, here are some examples: cardiology, general surgery, dermatology, gastroenterology, ophthalmology, paediatrics, urology, etc.

Compulsory agreement of the doctor

In order for services such as consultations, visits, procedures, medical and care services to be covered by the health insurance fund, they must be delivered by providers who are covered by agreements. In Luxembourg, there is a general and mandatory convention system. All doctors and dentists authorised to practise in Luxembourg are therefore automatically and mandatorily covered by agreements and they have to comply with the nomenclatures and tariffs.

Conditions of cost coverage

Affiliation to health insurance

Any person working in Luxembourg must be affiliated with the CNS or the competent public sector fund. An insured person may co-insure their family members in order to benefit from medical care in Luxembourg. The insured person receives a social security card with a 13-digit national identification number, which is to be presented to healthcare providers.

Acts and services specified in the nomenclature

In order for an act or service provided by a doctor to be reimbursed, this act or service must be recorded in a nomenclature. For doctors and specialist doctors, these procedures are provided in the nomenclature of acts and services of doctors.

Limitation of coverage

Authorisation

Certain acts or services can only be covered with the authorisation or prior authorisation of the National Health Fund (CNS), with the assent of the Medical Board of the Social Security (CMSS). In the doctors' nomenclature of acts and services and the CNS statutes, these acts are indicated by ACM (authorisation of the Medical Board of the Social Security required) or APCM (prior authorisation of the Medical Board of the Social Security required).

Number of consultations/visits

The CNS only covers:

  • one consultation or visit from the general practitioner or specialist in the same medical discipline per 24 hours, unless there is an intervention by the emergency medical service,
  • two consultations or visits by the general practitioner or specialist in the same medical discipline per seven-day period,
  • twelve consultations or visits by a general practitioner or a specialist in the same medical discipline per semester, unless they are consultations or visits delivered during a long stay in the geriatric ward or in hospital,
unless a previously requested authorisation was given or a medical justification accepted, with the approval of the Medical Board of the Social Security.
 

Prescription renewals and serial injections and dressings shall not be taken into consideration for the application of the foregoing provisions.

Personal conveniences

Doctors have the right to charge additional fees for personal conveniences, provided that the insured person has been previously informed about it. The treatment in question can only be started when the insured person authorises the doctor to charge the additional fee. These fees are not covered by health insurance.

Medical emergencies

A person should only go to the emergency services of an on-duty hospital if they fall seriously ill, or if they suffer an acute injury or fracture, etc.

Primary care centres (“maisons médicales”)

Primary care centres have been set up to provide a replacement service for general practitioners whenever the insured person requires general medical care during evening or night hours (8pm to 7am), weekends and public holidays (8am to 7am).

During the closing hours of medical practices, primary care centres provide an alternative service in the form of a general medical permanence. It is important to note that these are not emergency services and that in the event of a medical emergency, the insured person must immediately call 112.

In Luxembourg, three on-call primary care centres have been set up: Luxembourg City, Esch-sur-Alzette and Ettelbruck.

Paediatric emergencies

When a child falls seriously ill, a paediatric primary care centre (“maison médicale”), is available or, in second instance, the paediatric emergency services, which are both located within the "KannerKlinik" at the Luxembourg Hospital Centre (CHL). After the administrative admission at the KannerKlinik's reception desk, a triage and guidance nurse will refer the patient either to the paediatric emergency services or to the paediatric primary care centre, depending on the reason for admission and scientific triage criteria.

The paediatric emergency services are open 24 hours a day.

The paediatric primary care centre offers care provided by paediatric doctors, from Monday to Friday between 7 p.m. and 10 p.m. all year round; on weekends and on public holidays, from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

The Paediatric Policlinic manages EMERGENCIES 7 days a week from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. It is located on the ground floor of Kirchberg Hospital.

The paediatric emergency services take care of children from birth to the age of 15.

Medical care received abroad

Medical care scheduled abroad (member state of the EU, the EEA and Switzerland)

The insured person may choose to deliberately seek treatment abroad:

Outpatient care (care in hospital without overnight stay or outside the hospital, e. g. medical practice...)

Prior authorisation is not required. Scheduled outpatient care is reimbursed by Luxembourg according to Luxembourg conditions, rates and tariffs. When care is provided using highly specialised and costly hospital infrastructure or medical equipment, prior authorisation is required.

Inpatient care

A prior authorisation from Luxembourg is required for coverage, upon presentation of a transfer request filled out by a doctor and following a favourable opinion from the CMSS.

Emergency care (medical care required during a stay abroad)

When traveling abroad, immediate access to healthcare may be necessary. In order to avoid any inconveniences, different steps must be taken before, during and after the holidays. Destinations can be subdivided into three categories.

Care received in the country of residence of a cross-border worker

For cross-border workers, the health insurance fund of the country of residence is responsible for reimbursing healthcare provided in that country. For medical care provided in Luxembourg or any other country, the cross-border worker may request reimbursement from the CNS.

 

Last update

Médecins

Les médecins au Luxembourg travaillent en tant qu’indépendants en répondant à un système de médecine libérale. Ils occupent soit des cabinets privés individuels, soit ils s’associent avec un ou plusieurs médecins dans un cabinet.

Généralités

Le rôle des médecins

La tâche principale des médecins est le traitement et la prévention de maladies. On parle dans ce contexte de prestation de soins primaires, qui est principalement exercée par des médecins généralistes et spécialistes dans des cabinets médicaux.

Il est conseillé de choisir un médecin généraliste pour soi et un pédiatre et/ou médecin généraliste pour son enfant qui sera la première personne de contact en cas de maladie. L’assuré s’adresse alors au médecin généraliste ou au pédiatre en premier lieu. Celui-ci l’orientera par la suite. Si le médecin habituel n’est pas disponible, l’assuré peut contacter un autre médecin, conformément au principe du libre choix du prestataire.

Le libre choix du prestataire

Sauf en cas d’urgence, l'assuré a le libre choix du prestataire de santé. Il peut également consulter un médecin spécialiste sans passer préalablement par un médecin généraliste et n’a pas besoin de transfert / d’ordonnance de son médecin pour consulter le spécialiste. L’assuré a le droit de changer de médecin à tout moment.

Cependant, en milieu hospitalier, le choix peut souvent être limité, du fait que les structures organisationnelles des hôpitaux ne permettent qu’aux professionnels de santé agréés par l’établissement de dispenser des soins médicaux.

Les spécialités médicales

Au Luxembourg, le terme « médecins » (hormis les médecins-dentistes) regroupe les médecins pratiquant la médecine générale et les médecins spécialistes. Les différentes spécialités en médecine reconnues au Luxembourg sont définies par un règlement grand-ducal, en voici quelques exemples : cardiologie, chirurgie générale, dermatologie, gastro-entérologie, ophtalmologie, pédiatrie, urologie, …

Conventionnement obligatoire du médecin

Pour que des prestations comme les consultations, les visites, les actes, les services médicaux et de soins donnent droit à une prise en charge par la caisse de maladie, celles-ci doivent être fournies par des prestataires qui sont conventionnés. Au Luxembourg, il existe un système de conventionnement général et obligatoire. Tous les médecins et médecins-dentistes autorisés à exercer au Luxembourg sont donc obligatoirement et automatiquement conventionnés et obligés de respecter les nomenclatures et tarifs.

Conditions de prise en charge

Affiliation à l’assurance maladie

Toute personne travaillant au Luxembourg est obligatoirement affiliée auprès de la CNS ou de la caisse du secteur public compétente et a ainsi la possibilité de coassurer ses membres de famille afin de bénéficier des soins médicaux au Luxembourg. L’assuré reçoit une carte de sécurité sociale qui porte le numéro national d’identification à 13 chiffres, qui est à présenter aux prestataires de santé.

Actes et services prévus par la nomenclature

Afin qu’un acte ou service délivré par un médecin puisse être remboursé, cet acte/service doit être inscrit dans une nomenclature. Pour les médecins et médecins spécialistes, ces actes sont repris dans la nomenclatures des actes et services des médecins.

Limitation des prises en charge

Autorisation

Certains actes ou services ne peuvent être pris en charge que sur autorisation ou autorisation préalable de la Caisse nationale de santé (CNS), sur avis conforme du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale (CMSS). Dans la nomenclature des actes et services des médecins, ces actes sont signalés par ACM (accord du Contrôle médical requis) ou APCM (accord préalable du Contrôle médical requis).

Nombre de consultations/visites

La CNS ne prend en charge (sauf autorisation demandée préalablement ou justification médicale acceptée, sur avis conforme du Contrôle médical) :

  • qu’une consultation ou visite du médecin généraliste ou du médecin spécialiste de la même discipline médicale par 24 heures, à moins qu'il n'y ait intervention du service médical d'urgence,
  • que deux consultations ou visites du médecin généraliste ou du médecin spécialiste de la même discipline médicale par période de sept jours,
  • que douze consultations ou visites du médecin généraliste ou du médecin spécialiste de la même discipline médicale par semestre, à moins qu'il ne s'agisse de consultations ou de visites délivrées en long séjour gériatrique ou en séjour stationnaire hospitalier.

Les renouvellements d'ordonnance et les injections et pansements en série ne sont pas pris en considération pour l'application des dispositions qui précèdent.

Convenance personnelle

Les médecins ont le droit de mettre en compte des suppléments d’honoraires pour convenance personnelle, sous condition que l’assuré ait été informé préalablement. Le traitement en question ne peut être commencé que lorsque l’assuré autorise le médecin à facturer le supplément d'honoraires, qui sera à sa charge.

Urgences médicales

Il est conseillé de se rendre uniquement dans un des services d’urgences des hôpitaux de garde lorsqu’on tombe gravement malade, pour une blessure aiguë, fracture, etc.

Maisons médicales

Les maisons médicales ont été mises en place afin d’assurer un service de remplacement des médecins généralistes chaque fois que l’assuré nécessite des soins de médecine générale pendant les heures du soir ou de la nuit (20h à 7h), les week-ends et les jours fériés (8h-7h).

Pendant les heures de fermeture des cabinets médicaux, les maisons médicales fournissent un service de remplacement, sous forme de permanence de médecine générale. Il est important de souligner qu’il ne s’agit pas de services d’urgences et qu’en cas d’urgence médicale, l’assuré doit composer directement le 112.

Au Luxembourg, trois maisons médicales de garde ont été créées : Luxembourg-ville, Esch-sur-Alzette, Ettelbruck.

Urgences pédiatriques

Lorsqu’un enfant tombe gravement malade, il existe la maison médicale pédiatrique (KannerKlinik) ou, en deuxième ressort, le service d’urgence pédiatrique, tous les deux situés au Centre hospitalier du Luxembourg (CHL). Après l'admission administrative par la réception du CHL, une infirmière de tri et d'orientation orientera le patient soit vers le service des urgences pédiatriques soit vers la KannerKlinik, selon le motif d’admission et des critères de tri scientifiques.

Ces services proposent des soins par des médecins pédiatres. Du lundi au vendredi de 19h à 22h pendant toute l’année. Les week-ends et jours fériés de 9h à 21h.

La Policlinique Pédiatrique gère les URGENCES 7j/7 de 8h à 20h. Elle se situe au rez-de-chaussée de l’Hôpital Kirchberg.

Soins reçus à l’étranger

Soins programmés auprès d’un médecin à l’étranger (un pays de l'Union Européenne, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Norvège et en Suisse)

Il existe la possibilité de décider délibérément de se faire soigner à l'étranger :

En cas de soins ambulatoires (soins à l'hôpital sans nuitée ou en dehors de l'hôpital, p.ex. cabinet médical...)

Un accord préalable n'est pas nécessaire. Les soins programmés ambulatoires sont remboursés par le Luxembourg selon les conditions, les taux et tarifs luxembourgeois. Lorsque les soins sont donnés au moyen d'infrastructures ou d'équipements médicaux hospitaliers hautement spécialisés et coûteux, un accord est nécessaire.

En cas de soins stationnaire

Vous nécessitez un accord préalable de la part du Luxembourg afin que les soins puissent être pris en charge. Sur présentation d'une demande de transfert établie par un médecin et suite à un avis favorable du CMSS.

Soins urgents (soins nécessaires pendant un séjour à l’étranger)

Lors d’un déplacement à l’étranger, un accès immédiat aux soins de santé peut toujours s’avérer nécessaire. Afin de limiter les problèmes et de simplifier la vie au maximum, différentes démarches sont à effectuer avant, pendant et après les vacances. Les destinations peuvent être subdivisées en trois catégories.

Soins reçus dans le pays de résidence d’un travailleur frontalier

Pour les travailleurs frontaliers, la caisse du pays de résidence est compétente pour la prise en charge des soins de santé délivrés dans ce pays. Pour les soins médicaux délivrés au Luxembourg ou tout autre pays, le travailleur frontalier peut demander son remboursement à la CNS.

Dernière mise à jour