Hearing aids

If the insured person suffers from a hearing loss that has been certified by their ear, nose and throat (ENT) specialist, health insurance can reimburse hearing aids and accessories under certain conditions and by following a predefined process.

5-step process

1) Medical prescription and the CNS coverage agreement

The insured person makes an appointment with the ENT specialist of their choice, who must certify a hearing loss that justifies the use of a hearing aid. The physician then draws up a specific medical prescription and sends it to the “Service audiophonologique (SAP) de la Direction de la Santé”.

The SAP compiles a file and sends the insured person’s medical prescription to the CNS, who then verify if a reimbursement can be granted in accordance with the conditions laid down in its statutes. A coverage agreement with the result of this verification is then sent to the SAP and the insured person.

2) Determining the reimbursement flat rate

After receiving the coverage agreement, the insured person will automatically be invited by the SAP to a 1st appointment. During this appointment, a hearing aid technician verifies that the CNS reimbursement conditions are met (see “Conditions”), evaluates the hearing aid requirements and determines the useful and necessary reimbursement flat rates. The SAP hearing aid technician then issues a coverage voucher indicating the determined flat rates and the amounts covered by the CNS. At the end of the appointment, the insured person is given the coverage voucher and a list of hearing aid suppliers established in Luxembourg.

3) Appointment with a hearing aid supplier and trial period

With the voucher issued by the SAP, the insured person visits the hearing aid supplier(s) of their choice. Several models of hearing aids may be proposed to the insured person, who should make their choice based on the form, the technical characteristics, the potential amplification and the price. Note that the supplier must propose and adapt at least one hearing aid at the price of the flat rate indicated on the coverage voucher.

The supplier will then make the necessary measurements and impressions to adapt a hearing aid. Depending on the individual’s choice, several hearing aids can be compared so that the insured can make an informed final choice. At the end of the trial period, the supplier issues a quote for the selected hearing aids and sends a copy to the SAP.

4) Verifying the selected hearing aids

After receiving the supplier’s estimate, the insured person is automatically invited by the SAP to a 2nd appointment. During this appointment, a hearing aid technician measures the results that are obtained with the selected hearing aids and verifies that the CNS reimbursement conditions are met (see “Conditions”). The SAP hearing aid technician then drafts an audioprosthetic opinion which is addressed to the referring ENT physician for validation. A copy of this expert opinion is sent to the insured person and the hearing aid supplier.

5) Prescribing physician’s validation and certificate of coverage

After receiving the hearing aid expert opinion from the SAP, the insured person must contact their ENT specialist so that it can be validated. After validation, the ENT physician returns the audioprosthetic opinion to the SAP.

As soon as the validated audioprosthetic opinion is received, the SAP relays it to the CNS who then finalise the file by sending a certificate of coverage to the insured person’s address.

Conditions

Health insurance covers hearing aids only if the following conditions are met:

  • A hearing loss of at least 30 dB on at least two frequencies between 500 and 3000 Hz, or the intelligibility percentage at 65 dB decreases by at least 20 % when noise is added at 60 dB.
  • The hearing aid must provide an auditive increase of at least 10 dB to the vocal index or a 10 % increase of intelligibility in speech audiometry tests. It must also have enough reserve power to cover the renewal period (5 years).
  • The hearing aid must be worn at least 4 hours per day during the trial phase.
    The hearing aid must be included in the list of prostheses covered by the CNS (file B3 of the CNS statutes).

Renewal periods

Renewal periods are calculated from the service date of the last covered hearing device. “Service date” means the date that the hearing aid was delivered to the insured person.

The renewal period for hearing aids is 5 years for an adult and 3 years for children and young people who are not yet 18 years old on the delivery date of the last reimbursed device.

For children and young people who are not yet 18, ear pieces are reimbursed without considering renewal periods.

The renewal period for hearing aids is not taken into account when the protected person has a 20 dB hearing loss compared to the loss that was recorded during the previous fitting. In this case, the hearing aid’s insufficiency must still be certified by the SAP.

A renewal will only be accepted if the audioprosthetic test results with the new hearing aid are at least equivalent to those obtained with the old hearing aid, or if the previous hearing aid has stopped working.

 

Last update

Prothèses auditives

Si l’assuré souffre d’un déficit auditif constaté par son médecin spécialiste en oto-rhino-laryngologie (ORL), l’assurance maladie peut, sous certaines conditions et suivant une démarche préalable déterminée, prendre en charge une prothèse auditive et ses accessoires.

Démarche en 5 étapes

1) Ordonnance médicale et accord de prise en charge de la CNS

L’assuré prend un rendez-vous auprès du médecin ORL de son choix, qui doit constater une perte auditive justifiant l’adaptation d’une prothèse auditive. Le médecin établit ensuite une ordonnance médicale spécifique qu’il adresse au Service audiophonologique (SAP) de la Direction de la Santé.

Le SAP établit un dossier et transmet l’ordonnance médicale de l’assuré à la CNS qui vérifie si une prise en charge peut être accordée conformément aux conditions prévues par ses statuts. Un accord de prise en charge contenant le résultat de cette vérification est ensuite envoyé au SAP et à l’assuré.

2) Détermination du forfait de remboursement

Suite à la réception de l’accord de prise en charge, l’assuré est automatiquement convoqué par le SAP pour un 1er rendez-vous. Lors de ce rendez-vous, un audioprothésiste vérifie si les conditions d’une prise en charge par la CNS sont remplies (voir « Conditions »), évalue les besoins audioprothétiques et détermine les forfaits de remboursement utiles et nécessaires.

L’audioprothésiste du SAP établit ensuite un bon de prise en charge indiquant les forfaits déterminés et les montants pris en charge par la CNS. À la fin du rendez-vous, l’assuré reçoit le bon de prise en charge et une liste avec les fournisseurs audioprothétiques établis au Luxembourg.

3) Rendez-vous auprès d’un fournisseur audioprothétique et période d’essai

Avec le bon de prise en charge émis par le SAP, l’assuré se présente auprès du/des fournisseur(s) audioprothétique(s) de son choix. Celui-ci propose plusieurs modèles de prothèses auditives à l’assuré qui devra faire son choix selon la forme, les caractéristiques techniques, les possibilités d’amplification et le prix. À noter que le fournisseur est obligé de proposer et d’adapter au moins une prothèse auditive au prix du forfait indiqué sur le bon de prise en charge.

Le fournisseur fera ensuite les mesures et empreintes nécessaires pour l’adaptation d’une prothèse auditive. En fonction des choix de l’assuré, plusieurs prothèses pourront être comparées afin que le choix définitif puisse être fait en connaissance de cause. À la fin de la période d’essai, le fournisseur établit un devis pour les prothèses choisies et en adresse une copie au SAP.

4) Contrôle des prothèses choisies

Après réception du devis du fournisseur, l’assuré est automatiquement convoqué par le SAP pour un 2e rendez-vous. Lors de ce rendez-vous un audioprothésiste mesure les résultats obtenus avec les prothèses choisies et vérifie si les conditions d’une prise en charge par la CNS sont remplies (voir « Conditions »). L’audioprothésiste du SAP rédige ensuite un avis audioprothétique qui est adressé au médecin ORL prescripteur pour validation. Une copie de cet avis est adressée à l’assuré et au fournisseur audioprothétique.

5) Validation du médecin prescripteur et titre de prise en charge

Après réception de l’avis audioprothétique du SAP, l’assuré doit contacter son médecin ORL afin que celui-ci puisse le valider. Après validation, le médecin ORL retransmet l’avis audioprothétique au SAP.

Dès réception, le SAP transmet l’avis audioprothétique validé à la CNS qui finalise le dossier par l’émission d’un titre de prise en charge à l’adresse de l’assuré.

Conditions

Le remboursement de prothèses auditives ne sera accordé que si les conditions suivantes sont respectées :

  • La perte auditive atteint au moins 30 dB sur au moins deux des fréquences entre 500 et 3000 Hz ou le pourcentage d’intelligibilité à 65 dB diminue d’au moins 20 % lorsqu’on ajoute du bruit à 60 dB.
  • La prothèse doit apporter un gain auditif d’au moins 10 dB à l’indice vocal ou un gain de 10 % d’intelligibilité lors des tests d’audiométrie vocale. Elle doit également avoir une réserve de puissance acceptable pour la période de renouvellement (5 ans).
  • La prothèse auditive doit être portée au moins 4 heures par jour pendant la phase d’essai.
  • La prothèse auditive doit figurer sur la liste des prothèses prises en charge par la CNS (fichier B3 des statuts de la CNS).
Ces conditions sont définies par les statuts de la CNS et c'est le service audiophonologique qui vérifie si ces conditions sont remplies pour une prise en charge de la prothèse.

Délais de renouvellement

Les délais de renouvellement sont calculés à compter de la date de la prestation relative au dernier dispositif de correction auditive pris en charge. On entend par « date de la prestation » la date de la délivrance du dispositif de correction auditive.

Le délai de renouvellement des prothèses auditives est de 5 ans pour un adulte et de 3 ans pour les enfants et jeunes qui n’ont pas atteint l’âge de 18 ans à la date de la prestation du dernier dispositif pris en charge.

Pour les enfants et jeunes qui n’ont pas atteint l’âge de 18 ans accomplis, la prise en charge des embouts se fait sans délais de renouvellement.

Il n’est pas tenu compte du délai de renouvellement pour le renouvellement d’une prothèse auditive lorsque la personne protégée présente une aggravation de 20 dB par rapport à la perte constatée lors de l’appareillage précédent. L’insuffisance de la prothèse auditive doit néanmoins être constatée par le SAP.

Un renouvellement ne sera accepté que si les résultats audioprothétiques obtenus avec la nouvelle prothèse auditive sont au moins équivalents à ceux obtenus avec l’ancienne prothèse ou si la prothèse précédente n’est plus fonctionnelle.

 

Dernière mise à jour