Gingival and dental care and extractions

There are different groups of dental treatments and each group has its own acts with corresponding codes and tariffs.

Consultations and visits

Consultations with a dentist appear on the invoice with the codes DC1 to DC8 of the dentists' nomenclature. The code differs whether it is a normal consultation, an urgent consultation or a consultation taking place in the evening or on a public holiday.

Visits from a dentist can take place either outside or inside of a hospitalVisits at home (out of the hospital setting) generally appear on the invoice with the codes DV1 to DV8, whether it is a normal, urgent or out of the regular schedule visit. Visits from a dentist outside of the hospital are invoiced with the codes DV11 to DV18.

(Daily) Flat rates for stationary hospital treatments provided by dentists are invoiced using the codes DF10 to DF13 and DF20 to DF23. The used code depends on the hospitalisation day of the patient.

 

The removal of plaque (DS1) is only covered once every 6 months.

Gingival and dental care 

On the invoice, treatments from this category carry the codes DS1 to DS36. They are for example removal of plaque (DS1), dental fillings (DS14 to DS16), dental reconstructions (DS18 to DS19) or local (DS20) or regional anaesthetics (DS21).

 

Extractions

The nomenclature distinguishes between dental extractions (DS61 to DS79M) and surgical extractions (DS88 to DS96).

 

Anaesthetics

Regional or local anaesthetics

The health insurance covers local (DS20) or regional (DS21) anaesthetics provided under the codes DS20 and DS21 of the dentists' nomenclature of acts and services or under suffix "L" referred to in article 12 of the general section of the dentists' nomenclature only in the following situations:

  1. In case of fillings (DS14, DS15, DS16 and DS19), extractions, pulpectomies (DS10, DS11 et DS12) or dental treatments provided for in chapter 9 of the second section of the doctors' nomenclature in the lower maxilla, the health insurance only covers one regional anaesthetic per session and per hemi-maxilla.
  2. For the upper maxilla, the health insurance only covers one local anaesthetic per session and
    • per tooth to be extracted
    • per tooth to be devitalised (DS10, DS11 and DS12)
    • per tooth to be filled (DS14, DS15, DS16 and DS19) as well as
    • per hemi-maxilla for dental treatments provided for in chapter 9 of the second section of the doctors' nomenclature and performed under local anaesthetic.

General anaesthetics

Unless performed by on-call staff or in a situation of recognised emergency, or in the case of an extraction of more than three teeth, hospital stays and treatments related to arcades dental surgery and gingival surgery, gingival and dental care or dental and surgical extractions cannot be claimed from the health insurance without the previous assent of the medical board under one of the following conditions:

  • when the patient is allergic to local anaesthetics;
  • when given the need for immediate action to deal with an acute inflammation, satisfactory analgesia cannot be obtained by a local anaesthetic;
  • in the case of dental treatment of mentally and physically handicapped people and invalids for whom a local anaesthetic is not feasible, owing to the patient's condition; 
  • in case of the extraction of an impacted or embedded wisdom tooth for which satisfactory analgesia cannot be obtained by a local anaesthetic, with the diagnosis to this effect supported by radiographic evidence.
Last update

Soins gingivaux, dentaires et extractions

Il existe différents groupes de traitement dentaires et chaque groupe a ses propres actes auxquels correspondent des codes et tarifs.

Consultations et visites

Les consultations chez le médecin-dentistes sont facturés sous les codes DC1-DC8 de la nomenclature des médecins-dentistes. Le code diffère suivant qu'il s'agit d'une consultation normale, une consultation urgente ou bien encore d'une consultation ayant lieu le soir ou un jour férie.

Dans le cas d'une visite du médecin-dentiste on distingue si la visite a lieu en milieu extra-hosiptalier ou en milieu hospitalier. Les visites ayant lieu à domicile (milieu extra-hospitalier) sont en général facturées sous les codes DV1-DV8, suivant qu'il s'agit par exemple d'une visite normale, urgente ou en dehors des horaires normaux. Les visites du médecin-dentistes en milieu hospitalier portent les codes DV11-DV18.

Les forfaits (journaliers) pour traitement hospitalier stationnaire du médecin-dentiste sont facturés sous les codes (DF10-DF13 et DF20-DF23). Le code utilisé est fonction du jour d'hospitalisation du patient.

 

Le détartrage (DS1) n’est pris en charge qu’une fois par six mois.

Soins gingivaux et dentaires  

Les prestations de cette catégorie sont facturés sous les codes DS1-DS36. Il s'agit notamment du détartrage (DS1), de l'obturation d'une dent (DS14-16), de la reconstitution d'une dent (DS18-19), de pulpectomies (DS10-12) ou encore des anesthésies locales (DS20) ou régionales (DS21).

 

Extractions

Dans le cadre d'une extraction, la nomenclature distingue entre extractions dentaires (DS61-DS79M) et extractions chirurgicales (DS88 - DS96).

 

Anesthésies

Anesthésies locales ou régionales

L’assurance maladie ne prend en charge les anesthésies locales (DS20) ou régionales (DS21) prévues sous les codes DS20, DS21 à la nomenclature des actes et services des médecins-dentistes ou sous le suffixe «L» visé à l’article 12 de la partie générale de la nomenclature des actes et services des médecins-dentistes que dans les cas suivants:

  1. En cas d’obturations (positions DS14, DS15, DS16 et DS19 de la nomenclature des actes et services des médecins-dentistes), d’extractions, de pulpectomies (DS10, DS11 et DS12) ou de traitements médicodentaires prévus au chapitre 9 de la deuxième partie de l’annexe de la nomenclature des actes et services des médecins au niveau du maxillaire inférieur, l’assurance maladie ne prend en charge qu’une anesthésie régionale par séance et par hémi maxillaire.
  2. Au niveau du maxillaire supérieur, l’assurance maladie ne prend en charge qu’une anesthésie locale par séance et
    • par dent à extraire
    • par dent à dévitaliser (DS10, DS11 et DS12)
    • par dent à obturer (DS14, DS15, DS16 et DS19) ainsi que
    • par hémi maxillaire pour les traitements médico-dentaires prévus au chapitre 9 de la deuxième partie de l’annexe de la nomenclature des actes et services des médecins et effectués sous anesthésie locale.

Anesthésie générale

Sauf en cas de délivrance par le service de garde ou d’urgence officiel, ou dans le cas d’une extraction de plus de trois dents, les actes d'anesthésies effectués par le médecin spécialiste en anesthésie-réanimation en relation avec la chirurgie des arcades gingivo-dentaires, les soins gingivaux et dentaires, ainsi que les extractions dentaires et chirurgicales ne sont opposables à l’assurance maladie que sur accord préalable du contrôle médical dans l’une des conditions suivantes:

  • présence d’une intolérance aux anesthésiques locaux;
  • lorsqu’en présence d’un processus inflammatoire aigu nécessitant une intervention immédiate, l’anesthésie locale ne permet pas d’obtenir une analgésie satisfaisante;
  • traitement dentaire des handicapés psychiques ou physiques chez lesquels du fait de leur handicap une anesthésie locale est impossible;
  • extraction d’une dent de sagesse incluse ou enclavée où l’anesthésie locale ne permet pas d’obtenir une analgésie satisfaisante, avec radiographie à l’appui.
Dernière mise à jour