New act C45 for teleconsultation in the context of the COVID-19 epidemic

In order to take account of the latest measures taken in the fight against the coronavirus "COVID-19", in particular in the field of public health, a new act of nomenclature for doctors will be introduced for teleconsultation, including the establishment of medical prescriptions or certificates of incapacity for work.

For the practice in a doctor's office, excluding dentists' offices, and in order to limit the transmission of the virus in accordance with the recommendations of the Health Directorate, doctors are encouraged to use teleconsultation methods (telephone, video call applications, etc.). For benign requests from known patients, the doctor will be able to issue a certificate of incapacity for work or a medical prescription.

Thus, a new act C45 labelled "Teleconsultation in the context of the COVID-19 epidemic according to the recommendations of the Health Directorate, including, where appropriate, the establishment of medical prescriptions or declarations of incapacity for work" to be carried out remotely by a general practitioner or a specialist, excluding dentists, is introduced into the nomenclature of medical acts and services provided by doctors.

The tariff for this new act/service is in line with the tariff for a consultation with a general practitioner and a specialist in geriatrics (act C1), as is common practice in other countries.

Consequently, any patient, whether suffering from an acute illness or a chronic disease, may a priori be offered a teleconsultation. However, the use of teleconsultation is solely at the discretion of the physician (excluding dentists) who must judge whether a remote consultation is more appropriate than a face-to-face consultation. The Health Directorate provides the doctors concerned with recommendations of good practice regarding teleconsultation in the context of the COVID-19 epidemic.

Last update

Nouvel acte C45 de téléconsultation dans le cadre de l’épidémie COVID-19

Afin de tenir compte des dernières mesures prises en matière de lutte contre le coronavirus « COVID-19 », notamment en matière de santé publique, un nouvel acte de nomenclature des médecins sera introduit pour la téléconsultation, y compris pour l’établissement de prescriptions médicales ou de déclarations d'incapacité de travail.

Pour la pratique en cabinet médical, à l’exclusion des cabinets des médecins dentistes, et afin de limiter la transmission du virus en application des recommandations de la Direction de la Santé, les médecins sont dès lors encouragés à utiliser les modalités de téléconsultation (téléphone, applications appel vidéo, …). Pour les demandes bénignes des patients connus, il sera possible d’émettre un certificat d’incapacité de travail ou encore d'adresser une prescription médicale.

Ainsi un nouvel acte C45 intitulé « Téléconsultation dans le cadre de l’épidémie COVID-19 selon les recommandations de la Direction de la Santé, y compris, le cas échéant, l’établissement de prescriptions médicales ou de déclarations d'incapacité de travail » à réaliser à distance par un médecin généraliste ou un médecin spécialiste, à l’exclusion des médecins-dentistes, est introduit dans la nomenclature des actes et services de la médecine. Le tarif de ce nouvel acte est aligné sur celui de la consultation du médecin généraliste et du médecin spécialiste en gériatrie (acte C1), ce qui correspond à la pratique courante dans d’autres pays.

Dès lors, tout patient, qu’il soit atteint d’une affection aiguë ou d’une maladie chronique, peut a priori se voir proposer une téléconsultation. Cependant, le recours à la téléconsultation relève de la seule décision du médecin, à l’exclusion des médecins dentistes, qui doit juger de la pertinence d’une prise en charge médicale à distance plutôt qu'en face-à-face. La Direction de la Santé met à disposition des médecins concernés des recommandations de bonne pratique en ce qui concerne la téléconsultation dans le cadre de l’épidémie COVID-19.

Dernière mise à jour