Physiotherapy

In order to be entitled to coverage from the CNS or the competent public sector fund, all physiotherapy-massage sessions must be prescribed by a doctor.

Validation procedure

Medical prescription: Content and number of sessions

A standardised prescription for physiotherapy must be issued, which provides information about the type of treatment, the number of sessions and their frequency as well as the treatment prescribed.

The number of sessions covered per prescription may vary depending on the type of treatment, that is 8 in case of a common pathology, 64 in case of a severe pathology and 32 in case of post-surgery rehabilitation.

Severe pathologies are defined in the statutes of the CNS and they are indicated on the back of the standardised prescription. All pathologies that are not on this list, except post-surgery rehabilitation, are considered to be common pathologies.

Foreign prescriptions must contain the same indications as the standardised prescription and they must be written in French, German or English. Prescriptions in other languages are returned, as they cannot be processed by the CNS.

Validation of the prescription

The prescription has to be validated by the CNS. In general, the insured person gives the prescription to the physiotherapist during their first session, who will then take care of the necessary administrative formalities. If the administrative conditions are met, the CNS validates the prescription. This validation has to be requested within 31 days of the issue date of the medical prescription.

Certificate of coverage

The validation takes the form of a certificate of coverage issued by the CNS.

The certificate of coverage states the maximum duration of the treatment, the number of sessions covered and the rate of coverage.

 

Session Proceedings

The physiotherapist can adapt the frequency of sessions and techniques used (massage, electrotherapy, …) according to the patient’s needs and the evolution of their pathology.

The physiotherapist has to respect certain quality standards. These standards provide for criteria relating to the infrastructure (waiting room, minimum surface of the treatment rooms, mandatory display of certain information) and the criteria in relation to the treatment itself (it is not allowed to treat more than one patient at a time, definition of the content of the patient’s files, minimum duration of 20 minutes per session, …).

Travel costs

The physiotherapist's travel costs may be covered at a fixed rate, as long as:

  • the doctor indicates on the prescription that it is medically necessary for the physiotherapist to provide the treatment at the insured person’s home.
  • the journey takes place inside Luxembourg. Journeys beyond the border are not covered.

If these conditions are fulfilled, the fixed travel allowance is covered at the same rate as the physiotherapy treatment provided at home.

Last update

Kinésithérapie

Pour avoir droit à un remboursement de la part de la Caisse nationale de santé ou de la caisse du secteur public compétente, tous les actes de kinésithérapie doivent être prescrits par un médecin.

Procédure d'autorisation

Ordonnance médicale: Contenu et nombre de séances

La prescription du traitement se fait moyennant ordonnance de kinésithérapie standardisée qui renseigne notamment sur le type de traitement, le nombre de séances et leur fréquence ainsi que le traitement prescrit.

Le nombre de séances maximum prises en charge par ordonnance varie suivant le type de traitement c’est-à-dire 8 en cas d’une pathologie courante, 64 en cas d’une pathologie lourde et 32 en cas d’une rééducation post-chirurgicale.

Les pathologies lourdes sont définies à l’annexe G des statuts de la Caisse nationale de santé et sont également affichées sur le verso de l’ordonnance standardisée. Toute pathologie qui ne figure pas sur cette liste, à l’exception de la rééducation post-chirurgicale, est considérée comme étant une pathologie courante.

Les ordonnances étrangères doivent contenir toutes les indications obligatoires telles que prévues sur l’ordonnance standardisée et elles doivent être formulées en français, allemand ou anglais. Des ordonnances prescrites dans une autre langue sont retournées car elles ne peuvent pas être traitées par les services de la CNS.

Validation de l'ordonnance  

L'ordonnance doit être validée auprès de la CNS. Généralement, l’assuré remet lors de sa première séance l’ordonnance à son kinésithérapeute, qui s’occupe alors des démarches administratives nécessaires. Si les conditions administratives sont remplies, la CNS valide l’ordonnance. La validation doit être demandée dans un délai de 31 jours de la date de l'établissement de l'ordonnance médicale.

Titre de prise en charge

La validation consiste dans l'émission d’un titre de prise en charge par la CNS.

Le titre de prise en charge renseigne sur la durée maximale du traitement et le nombre de séances, ainsi que le taux de prise en charge.

Déroulement des séances de kinésithérapie

Le kinésithérapeute peut adapter la fréquence des séances et les techniques utilisées (massages, électrothérapie, …) aux besoins du patient et à l’évolution de sa pathologie.

Il existe des normes de qualités à respecter par le kinésithérapeute. Ces normes prévoient des critères relatifs à l’infrastructure (salle d’attente, surface minimale des salles de soins, affichage obligatoire de certaines informations) et des critères qui concernent les prestations (interdictions de traiter plusieurs patients simultanément, définition du contenu des dossiers du patient, durée minimale des séances de 20 minutes, …).

Frais de déplacement

Les frais de déplacement du kinésithérapeute peuvent être pris en charge sous forme de forfait à condition que:

  • le médecin indique sur l’ordonnance qu’il est médicalement nécessaire que le kinésithérapeute se déplace au domicile de l’assuré pour effectuer les soins.
  • le déplacement a lieu sur le territoire luxembourgeois. Un déplacement au-delà de la frontière n’est pas pris en charge.

Ces conditions remplies, le forfait de déplacement est pris en charge au même taux que celui appliqué à l’acte délivré lors du déplacement.

Dernière mise à jour