Psychomotricity

To be entitled to a reimbursement from the National Health Fund (CNS) or the competent public sector fund, acts of psychomotor rehabilitation and relaxation performed by a psychomotor therapist must be prescribed by a doctor and authorised by the CNS, after a favourable opinion of the Medical Board of the Social Security (CMSS).

Conditions of coverage

Medical prescription

Treatment prescription is made by means of a prior medical prescription.

The insured person receives a medical prescription for psychomotor care from their attending/prescribing physician. The insured person may then present this prescription to a psychomotor therapist of their choice in Luxembourg.

Assessment report

During the first consultation with the patient, the psychomotor therapist establishes a treatment plan, which will be included in the assessment report. This report must be presented to the doctor who issued the medical prescription, as he must give his written consent in the form of a treatment prescription, with which the insured person can start treatment after prior authorisation from the CMSS. The assessment report is mandatory in order for the treatment to be authorised.

Prior authorisation by the Medical Board of the Social Security (CMSS)

Psychomotor rehabilitation and relaxation care must be previously authorised by the CMSS before the treatment is provided. However, the assessment reports provided for in the nomenclature are exempt from prior authorisation.

However, treatment may be started fifteen days after an assessment report has been sent to the attending physician and, where applicable, to the CNS, if there is no response or return notice from the CMSS in a timely manner.

The treatment once begun, ceases to be covered by health insurance as soon as the assessment report is cancelled by the attending physician or as soon as the CMSS’s decision to refuse authorisation of the treatment is acquired. However, treatment costs already incurred before the authorisation/refusal is obtained will be covered by the CNS.

For psychomotor rehabilitation treatments, the CMSS initial agreement can only be made on the basis of the first psychomotor examination and assessment report before treatment (Y11). In the case of a long-term treatment, the CMSS may require an intermediate assessment report (Y12).

Beginning of treatment

Unless specified otherwise by the doctor on the psychomotor care medical prescription, the prescribed treatment must be started within six months of the prescription’s issue date. In the event of waiting periods exceeding six months, certified by the healthcare provider, this provision shall not apply.

Practical approach

The insured person receives a prescription from their attending physician for a first visit to a psychomotor therapist of their choice.

The insured person visits the psychomotor therapist with the medical prescription. The latter carries out an initial examination and draws up an assessment report containing a treatment plan.

The insured person presents the report to the attending doctor. The doctor must give his prior consent to the report by issuing a treatment prescription, with which the insured person will be able to report again to his psychomotor therapist in order to start treatment after a certificate of coverage has been issued.

In general, the psychomotor therapist forwards the request for prior authorisation to the competent department of the CNS with the supporting documents (medical prescription of the prescribing doctor, assessment report of the psychomotor therapist). The CNS verifies whether the administrative conditions are met. If the conditions are fulfilled, the request is forwarded by the CNS to the CMSS.

Following a favourable opinion of the CMSS, the CNS issues a certificate of coverage and sends it to the psychomotor therapist or the insured person, if the latter initiated the request for prior authorisation.

Compensation for lost fees and extraordinary circumstances

Lost fees

If the insured person failed to keep an appointment or was away from home at the time they were supposed to receive the treatment, and if the insured person failed to notify the therapist at least during the day before the appointment, the therapist is entitled to a compensation for lost fees.

This compensation, as well as potential travel costs incurred, are not covered by health insurance.

Extraordinary circumstances

When the psychomotor therapist sets an appointment at the insured's express request on a specific day after 7 p.m. or on a Saturday, Sunday or statutory holiday, the former is entitled to receive compensation for extraordinary circumstances, provided that the appointment falls outside the normal working days or working hours announced by the healthcare provider and that the appointment has been honoured by the latter.

The psychomotor therapist is not entitled to a compensation for services provided in the event of an emergency. The same applies if the services are required at the appointed times and dates due to the insured's state of health.

The benefits provided for above are not covered by health insurance. They are invoiced, where applicable, with the services on the same invoice.

Travel expenses

Travel expenses for psychomotor therapists are covered, provided that:

  • the doctor indicates on the prescription that the insured person is unable to leave their home for medical reasons;
  • the journey takes place on Luxembourg territory. Journeys beyond the borders cannot be covered.

The travel expenses include the travel allowance as well as the travel costs per kilometre driven.

The travel costs per kilometre driven can only be invoiced if the journey took place outside of the locality where the psychomotor therapist has established their practice or within the locality, if the journey exceeds one kilometre. However, the incurred travel costs cannot exceed the costs corresponding to the distance actually travelled.

Travel expenses incurred because of the following treatments are excluded from coverage:

  • in a hospital setting,
  • in nursing homes,
  • in centres for the disabled,
  • in cure and functional rehabilitation centres.
Last update

Psychomotorik

Um ein Anrecht auf eine Kostenübernahme durch die nationale Gesundheitskasse oder durch die zuständige Kasse des öffentlichen Sektors zu erhalten, benötigen alle Leistungen aus dem Bereich der psychomotorischen Rehabilitation und Entspannung, die von einem Psychomotoriker erbracht werden, eine ärztliche Verschreibung. Außerdem ist eine Genehmigung der nationalen Gesundheitskasse, nach einer befürwortenden Stellungnahme des kontrollärztlichen Diensts der Sozialversicherung unumgänglich.

Bedingungen der Kostenübernahme

Ärztliche Verschreibung

Die Verschreibung der Behandlung wird mittels eines vorherigen ärztlichen Attests ausgestellt.

Der Versicherte erhält von seinem behandelnden Arzt eine ärztliche Verschreibung für psychomotorische Leistungen, mit der er in Luxemburg bei einem Psychomotoriker seiner Wahl vorstellig werden kann.

Bilanzbericht

Anlässlich der ersten Sprechstunde mit dem Patienten erstellt der Psychomotoriker einen Behandlungsplan, der dem Bilanzbericht beigefügt wird. Dieser Bilanzbericht muss dem Arzt vorgelegt werden, der die Verschreibung ausgestellt hat, da er sein schriftliches Einverständnis in Form einer Verschreibung der Behandlung abgeben muss. Mit dieser kann der Versicherte seine Behandlung beginnen, nachdem er die vorherige Genehmigung durch den kontrollärztlichen Dienst der sozialen Sicherheit erhalten hat. Die Behandlungen werden nur auf Grundlage eines Bilanzberichts genehmigt.

Vorherige Genehmigung durch den kontrollärztlichen Dienst der sozialen Sicherheit (CMSS)

Leistungen aus dem Bereich der psychomotorischen Rehabilitation und Entspannung müssen vor Erbringung der Leistungen, durch den kontrollärztlichen Dienst der sozialen Sicherheit genehmigt werden. Dagegen sind die Bilanzberichte, die in der Nomenklatur vorgesehen sind, von einer vorherigen Genehmigung ausgeschlossen.

Allerdings kann die Behandlung bereits 15 Tage, nachdem ein Bilanzbericht an den behandelnden Arzt und falls erforderlich an die CNS weitergeleitet wurde, angefangen werden, wenn keine Antwort oder Rückmeldung des kontrollärztlichen Diensts innerhalb einer angemessenen Frist erfolgt ist.

Die so begonnene Behandlung wird nicht mehr von der Krankenversicherung übernommen, sobald der Bilanzbericht vom behandelnden Arzt annulliert wurde oder sobald die Verweigerung der Genehmigung der Behandlung durch den kontrollärztlichen Dienst der sozialen Sicherheit erteilt wurde. Die bereits angefallenen Kosten der vor Erhalt der Genehmigung/Verweigerung begonnenen Behandlung werden dennoch übernommen.

Für Behandlungen aus dem Bereich der psychomotorischen Rehabilitation kann die Zustimmung durch den kontrollärztlichen Dienst nur auf Grundlage der ersten Untersuchung und des psychomotorischen Bilanzberichts vor der Behandlung erfolgen (Y11). Im Falle einer Langzeitbehandlung kann der kontrollärztliche Dienst eine Zwischenbilanz anfordern (Y12).

Beginn der Behandlung

Sofern nicht anders auf den Verschreibungen für psychomotorische Leistungen angegeben, muss die darauf verschriebene Behandlung innerhalb von sechs Monaten nach Ausstellung der Verschreibung begonnen werden. Bei Wartezeiten von mehr als sechs Monaten, bescheinigt durch den Leistungserbringer, gilt die vorgenannte Bestimmung nicht.

Praktische Vorgehensweise

Der Versicherte erhält von seinem behandelnden Arzt eine Verschreibung für einen ersten Besuch bei einem Psychomotorik-Therapeuten seiner Wahl.

Mit dieser ärztlichen Verschreibung kann der Versicherte bei seinem Psychomotorik-Therapeuten vorstellig werden. Letzterer führt eine erste Untersuchung durch und erstellt einen Bilanzbericht mit einem Behandlungsplan.

Der Versicherte lässt den Bericht dann dem behandelnden Arzt zukommen. Der Arzt muss seine vorherige Zustimmung zum Bilanzbericht mittels einer Verschreibung der Behandlung geben. Mit dieser kann der Versicherte dann nach der Ausstellung einer Bestätigung der Kostenübernahme seine Psychomotorik-Therapie beginnen.

Im Allgemeinen ist es der Psychomotorik-Therapeut, der für die Weiterleitung des Antrags auf vorherige Genehmigung, zusammen mit allen notwendigen Dokumenten (ärztliche Verschreibung des behandelnden Arztes, Bilanzbericht des Psychomotorik-Therapeuten), an die zuständige Abteilung der Nationalen Gesundheitskasse, zuständig ist. Die CNS prüft, ob die administrativen Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind. Sind sie erfüllt, wird die Anfrage von der CNS an das CMSS weitergeleitet.

Nach positiver Stellungnahme des CMSS stellt die CNS eine Bestätigung der Kostenübernahme aus und übermittelt es dem Psychomotorik-Therapeuten beziehungsweise der versicherten Person, wenn diese selbst den Antrag auf vorherige Genehmigung gestellt hat.

Entschädigung für Honorarverluste und außerordentliche Bedingungen

Honorarverluste

Der Psychomotorik-Therapeut hat ein Anrecht auf eine Entschädigung für Honorarverluste, wenn der Versicherte zu einem vereinbarten Termin nicht erscheint oder wenn er sich zu einem vorher vereinbarten Zeitpunkt nicht an seinem Wohnsitz befindet, ohne dass er den Psychomotorik-Therapeuten mindestens im Laufe des vorherigen Tages darüber informiert hat.

Die Entschädigung wird nicht von der Krankenversicherung übernommen. Das gleiche gilt für die gegebenenfalls angefallenen Fahrtkosten.

Außerordentliche Bedingungen

Die Tatsache, dass der Psychomotorik-Therapeut dem Versicherten auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch, an einem bestimmten Tag nach 19 Uhr oder an einem Samstag, Sonntag oder gesetzlichen Feiertag einen Termin gewährt, berechtigt ihn eine Entschädigung für außerordentliche Bedingungen zu verlangen, sofern der Termin außerhalb der vom Leistungserbringer angekündigten Tage oder normalen Arbeitszeiten liegt und der Termin vom Leistungserbringer eingehalten wurde.

Die im Notfall erbrachten Leistungen führen nicht zu einem Anspruch auf Entschädigung. Gleiches gilt, wenn die Leistungen aufgrund des Gesundheitszustandes des Versicherten zu den vereinbarten Zeiten und Terminen unerlässlich sind.

Die oben genannten Leistungen werden nicht von der Krankenkasse übernommen. Sie werden gegebenenfalls mit den Leistungen auf der gleichen Honorarrechnung abgerechnet.

Fahrtkosten

Die Fahrtkosten des Psychomotorik-Therapeuten werden von der Krankenkasse übernommen, unter der Bedingung, dass die medizinische Notwendigkeit die Leistungen zu Hause zu erbringen, durch die ärztliche Verordnung begründet ist.

Die Fahrtkosten beinhalten Fahrtkostenerstattung und Fahrtkosten pro Kilometer.

Die Fahrtkosten können nur für eine Fortbewegung außerhalb des Praxisstandortes in Rechnung gestellt werden, oder innerhalb dieser wenn die Fortbewegung einen Kilometer überschreitet. Allerdings sollen die in Rechnung gestellten Fahrtkosten, die Kosten der tatsächlich zurückgelegten Strecke nicht überschreiten.

Fahrtkosten, die unter folgenden Bedingungen verursacht wurden, werden nicht übernommen. Für Behandlungen:

  • im Krankenhausbereich
  • in Pflegeheimen
  • in Behindertenheimen
  • in Kur- und Funktionsrehabilitationszentren.
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am