Declaration of incapacity for work

Resident

Insured persons are requested to use only the forms provided to them by their doctor, in accordance with the agreement reached between the UCM (Union of Sickness Funds) and doctors. This form consists of three sections and must include the following:

  • the dates of commencement and termination of the period of incapacity for work;
  • the diagnostic code;
  • the date of the medical assessment.

The insured sends the first section of the form (the original) to the CNS.

Cross-border workers

Since it is not always possible for cross-border workers to have the incapacity certificates submitted to the CNS (National Health Fund) in the way stipulated in the CNS statutes, here are some recommendations to make declaration easier:

French border-workers : no major problem here, since the French notice of cessation of work includes both a section 1 (to be sent to the CNS) as well as a section to be sent to the employer.

German border-workers : no major problem here, since the German notice of cessation of work («Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung » ) includes both a section 1 (to be sent to the CNS) as well as a section to be sent to the employer.

Belgian cross-border workers : as the majority of Belgian certificates consist of one section only, it is advisable to request a duplicate from your doctor to be submitted to your employer.

The 13 digits luxemburgish matricule number must be indicated on every correspondence.

Deadlines for declaring incapacity for work

The doctor's finding should be sent to the CNS before the end of the third working day that the insured has been on sick leave as a result of that finding (the date of the postmark is noted as proof of date of submission).

If incapacity for work extends beyond the initial period fixed, a form to this effect must be sent to the CNS before the end of the second working day, in other words the day which would have been the second working day following the employee's return to his/her job if incapacity had not been extended.

If the submission deadline falls on a Saturday, a Sunday or a public holiday, it is extended to the next working day.

Occured while abroad

Two different sets of circumstances need to be distinguished:

Stay in a member state of the European Union or in a state with which the Grand Duchy has reached an international agreement on social security matters

The insured person must send the certificate of incapacity for work to the CNS before the end of the third working day that the insured has been on sick leave as a result of the doctor's finding. The date of the postmark is noted as proof of date of submission.

Stay in a a state not linked to the Grand Duchy by any international accord or protocol establishing the procedure to be followed in the case of incapacity for work or the extension of a period of incapacity for work

The insured person must send a medical certificate to the competent national health fund in Luxembourg within three days (the date of the postmark will be noted as proof of date of submission).

Penalties in case of a failure to make a declaration

If the insured fails to submit any medical certificate to the CNS during the course of the legal or customary remuneration period, he or she will be requested in writing to do so.

In the event of a repeated failure to submit documents, the CNS can impose a fine in accordance with article 447 of the Social Security Code (the fine cannot exceed 750 €).

The submission of a medical certificate is not required in the case of incapacity for work extending over one or two working days only. In the case of such short periods of incapacity for work, the insured person is not obligated to telephone the CNS but is obligated to inform their employer.

Last update

Arbeitsunfähigkeitserklärung

Einwohner

Die Versicherten verwenden nur die Bescheinigungen, die ihnen vom Arzt gemäß der zwischen den Ärzten und der CNS geschlossenen Vereinbarung ausgestellt werden. Die Bescheinigung erfolgt in dreifacher Ausführung und muss obligatorisch folgende Daten enthalten:

  • das Anfangs- und Enddatum der Arbeitsunfähigkeit
  • den Diagnosecode
  • das Datum der Feststellung.

Der Versicherte sendet das erste Blatt des Attests - das Original - an die CNS.

Grenzgänger

Da es für Grenzgänger nicht immer möglich ist, ihre Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung in der von den Bestimmungen der CNS vorgesehenen Form zu erhalten, erhalten Sie hier einige Empfehlungen zur Vereinfachung der Arbeitsunfähigkeitserklärung:

Französische Grenzgänger : Hier treten keine nennenswerten Schwierigkeiten auf, da die französische Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung Blatt 1 (das der CNS vorzulegen ist) sowie eine Ausführung, die dem Arbeitgeber vorzulegen ist, enthält.

Deutsche Grenzgänger : Hier treten keine nennenswerten Schwierigkeiten auf, da die deutsche «Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung » Blatt 1 (das der CNS vorzulegen ist) sowie eine Ausführung, die dem Arbeitgeber vorzulegen ist, enthält.

Belgische Grenzgänger : Da die Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung in den meisten Fällen in einfacher Ausführung ausgestellt wird, empfiehlt es sich, sich vom Arzt eine zweite Ausführung für den Arbeitgeber ausstellen zu lassen.

Die 13-stellige luxemburgische Matrikelnummer muss bei jedem Schriftverkehr angegeben werden.

Benachrichtigungsfrist

Die Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung muss spätestens am dritten Werktag nach Beginn der Arbeitsunfähigkeit an die CNS gesendet werden (Das Datum des Poststempels gilt als Meldedatum.).

Wenn die Arbeitsunfähigkeit die anfangs festgesetzte Zeit überschreitet, muss das Attest vor Ende des zweiten Werktages nach dem Tag, der anfänglich für die Wiederaufnahme der Arbeit vorgesehen war, an die CNS gesendet werden.

Wenn der letzte Tag dieser Frist auf einen Samstag, einen Sonntag oder einen Feiertag fällt, verlängert sich die Frist bis zum nächsten Werktag.

Im Ausland eingetretene Arbeitsunfähigkeit

Hier wird zwischen zwei Fällen unterschieden:

Aufenthalt in einem Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Union oder in einem Staat, mit dem Luxemburg ein internationales Abkommen über die Sozialversicherung abgeschlossen hat

Der Versicherte muss die Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung spätestens vor Ablauf des dritten Werktages der Arbeitsunfähigkeit an die CNS senden. Die Einhaltung der Frist wird mittels des Datums des Poststempels überprüft.

Aufenthalt in einem Staat, mit dem Luxemburg kein internationales Abkommen zu der Verfahrensweise bei Arbeitsunfähigkeit unterzeichnet hat

Der Versicherte muss innerhalb eines Zeitraums von drei Tagen ab Beginn der Arbeitsunfähigkeit oder der Verlängerung der Arbeitsunfähigkeit ein ärztliches Attest an die CNS senden, wobei das Datum des Poststempels als Meldedatum gilt.

Sanktionen bei Versäumnis der Meldepflicht

Versäumt der abhängig Beschäftigte während der Zeit der gesetzlichen oder vertraglichen Gehaltsfortzahlung  der CNS ein oder mehrere ärztliche Atteste vorzulegen, wird er von dieser schriftlich aufgefordert, seiner Pflicht nachzukommen.

Bei fortgesetztem Versäumnis kann die CNS eine Ordnungsbuße gemäss Artikel 447 des Gesetzbuches der Sozialen Sicherheit (Code de la sécurité sociale) verhängen (Höchstbetrag: 750 €).

Bei Arbeitsunfähigkeiten von ein bis zwei Werktagen ist die Vorlage einer Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigung nicht erforderlich. In solch einem Fall ist der Versicherte nicht verpflichtet die CNS telefonisch zu informieren, aber er muss unbedingt die Arbeitsunfähigkeit bei seinem Arbeitgeber melden.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am