Exemption from work

The law defines certain kinds of work as hazardous to the health and safety of pregnant or breastfeeding women and It distinguishes between two kinds of hazardous work:

  • Work which is hazardous because it involves risks associated with a physical element (e.g. Lifting or carrying of loads of over 5 kilogrammes (11 pounds), work which has to be carried out in a standing or a crouching position...);
  • Work involving biological or chemical agents.

In these situations, the employer is obliged to make appropriate temporary arrangements concerning working conditions or working hours. Should new arrangements prove to be technically impossible or not feasible, the pregnant woman must be allocated to another post without prejudice to her salary.

In the case that no alternative posting is possible, the pregnant woman is exempt from work.

An appraisal of what constitutes hazardous work as well as decisions relative to new arrangements, postings or exemption from work are based on the opinion of the occupational doctor.

Night work/Post transfer

Pregnant women may not be expected to work between 10 pm and 6 am if a competent occupational physician deems this necessary for reasons of safety or health; the same applies to a woman who is breastfeeding her child up the child's first birthday.

Once the conditions referred to above have been fulfilled, the employer, with the assent of the occupational physician, is obliged to transfer the employee in question to a day post at the same rate of pay as before, and that for the entire period that the operational physician deems necessary in the interests of her safety or health.

The employer is obliged to front, on behalf of the health insurance fund, the difference in pay resulting from the transfer from night work to day work.

If a transfer to day work is not technically and/or objectively possible, or cannot reasonably be expected for properly justified reasons, the employer is obliged to exempt the employed woman for all the time judged necessary by the operating physician to safeguard her safety and/or health.

In the case of a transfer from night work to day work, Article L. 333-3 of the Labour Code enables the employer to obtain on request the reimbursement from the CNS (National Health Fund) of the difference in sums paid, including employers' contributions.

The reimbursement is a one-off payment made after the commencement of maternity leave, the employer declaring to the Joint Centre for Social Security (CCSS) the difference between the former remuneration and that payable for the day work.

Procedure

In order to benefit from the health care benefits concerning exemption from work or from the provisions concerning night work, the employer must refer to the competent occupational physician.

Upon presentation of the favourable opinion of said physician, together with a copy of the employer's request as well as the medical certificate indicating the predicted date of delivery, the payment of benefits becomes the responsibility of the health insurance fund.

The level of maternity allowance corresponds to that applicable in the case of sickness or accident.

The monthly allowance is not to exceed the current minimum wage (used for this purpose as a benchmark) by more than a factor of five.

Last update

Freistellung von der Arbeit

Das Gesetz kennzeichnet bestimmte Tätigkeiten als gesundheitsgefährdend und gefährlich für die Sicherheit von schwangeren oder stillenden Frauen und unterscheidet zwei Kategorien von risikoreichen Tätigkeiten:

  • Tätigkeiten mit physischen Risiken (z.B. Heben oder Transportieren von Lasten, deren Gewicht 5 kg überschreitet, Tätigkeiten, die im Stehen oder in gebückter Haltung ausgeführt werden...)
  • Tätigkeiten mit biologischen oder chemischen Risiken

Bei dieser Art von Tätigkeiten ist der Arbeitgeber verpflichtet, die Arbeitsbedingungen oder Arbeitszeiten vorübergehend anzupassen. Wenn eine solche Anpassung technisch oder objektiv nicht möglich ist, muss die schwangere Frau unter Beibehaltung ihres Gehalts an eine andere Arbeitsstelle versetzt werden.

Ist eine Versetzung an eine andere Arbeitsstelle nicht möglich, wird die schwangere Frau von der Arbeit freigestellt.

Ist eine Versetzung an eine andere Arbeitsstelle nicht möglich, wird die schwangere Frau von der Arbeit freigestellt.

Nachtarbeit/Versetzung

Schwangere Frauen dürfen nicht für Nachtarbeit zwischen 22 Uhr und 6 Uhr eingesetzt werden, wenn dies nach Meinung des zuständigen Betriebsarztes zu ihrer Sicherheit oder zum Schutz ihrer Gesundheit notwendig ist. Gleiches gilt für stillende Frauen bis zur Vollendung des ersten Lebensjahres des Kindes.

Wenn die oben genannten Bedingungen erfüllt sind, ist der Arbeitgeber nach Beschluss des Betriebsarztes verpflichtet, die Arbeitnehmerin unter Beibehaltung ihres vorherigen Gehalts für die Gesamtdauer der Zeit, die der Betriebsarzt zum Schutz ihrer Sicherheit oder ihrer Gesundheit als notwendig erachtet, an einen Tagesarbeitsplatz zu versetzen.

Der Arbeitgeber ist verpflichtet, den Einkommensunterschied, der aus dem Wechsel von einem Nachtarbeitsplatz an einen Tagesarbeitsplatz resultiert, an die Kranken-/Mutterschaftsversicherung zu zahlen.

Wenn ein Wechsel in eine Tagesstelle technisch und/oder objektiv nicht möglich ist oder aus hinreichenden Gründen nicht gefordert werden kann, muss der Arbeitgeber entsprechend der Stellungnahme des Betriebsarztes die Arbeitnehmerin während des gesamten für die Sicherheit und den Schutz der Arbeitnehmerin erforderlichen Zeitraums (wie er vom Betriebsarzt festgelegt wurde) von der Arbeit freistellen.

Bei Versetzung einer Arbeitnehmerin von einem Nachtarbeitsplatz an einen Tagesarbeitsplatz gemäß Artikel L. 333-3 des Arbeitsgesetzbuches erstattet die CNS dem Arbeitgeber auf Antrag den Gehaltsunterschied inklusive der Lohnnebenkosten.

Die Erstattung erfolgt in einer Zahlung nach dem Beginn des Mutterschaftsurlaubs. Der Arbeitgeber gibt bei dem Centre commun die Differenz sowie das für den Tagesarbeitsplatz gezahlte Gehalt an.

Prozedur

Um von der Freistellung oder von den Bestimmungen zur Nachtarbeit zu profitieren, muss sich die  Arbeitnehmerin an den zuständigen Betriebsarzt wenden.

Bei Vorlage der positiven Stellungnahme des zuständigen Betriebsarztes, zusammen mit einer Kopie des Antrags auf Stellungnahme des Arbeitgebers sowie einem ärztlichen Attest welches den vermeintlichen Geburtstermin angibt, übernimmt die Krankenkasse die Zahlung der Geldleistung.  

Die Höhe des Mutterschaftsgeldes entpricht der Höhe des Krankengeldes.

Der monatliche Betrag des Mutterschaftsgeldes darf das Fünffache der Mindestreferenzsozialleistung nicht überschreiten.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am