Calculation of financial benefit

Elements of thefinancial benefit

Basic benefit

Basic benefit corresponds to the highest basic pay included in the calculations basis applied in the course of one of the three calendar months preceding the commencement of benefit payments by the CNS.

Basic remuneration is here defined as those parts of benefits payable as monthly cash payments and which are not classed as supplementary and additional benefits.

In the absence of a month of activity fully covered by mandatory insurance, basic remuneration is awarded according to the rate agreed in the work contract. It is reduced according to a base cost of living index of 100 and divided by the cost of living index for the month in question. The number of working hours calculated corresponds to those of the month in question or the highest number of hours taken from the months in which the basic remuneration is identical.

Complementary and accessory benefits

The part of the remuneration called “complementary and accessory benefits” are equivalent to the average of supplementary and additional benefits which are part of the contributions assessment base of the twelve calendar months immediately preceding the month in which the incapacity for work first occurred and are considered part of the remuneration payable monthly in cash. The exact amount is subject to variation, with the exception of the increases foreseen by standard, legal or regulatory provisions.

If this reference period of twelve months is not fully covered by an activity subject to insurance contributions, the average is calculated on the basis of the month or months which were fully covered. The cost of living index of the month or months where complementary and accessory benefits were included in the contributions calculation basis is used to adjust benefits according to the one hundred cost of living index.

 

Limits and ceilings of the financial benefit

Monthly financial benefits shall not fall below the minimum social wage, excepting some special cases that allow for exemption or reduction.

In the case of part-time work, the threshold is established on the basis of the minimum hourly social wage.

For apprentices, apprenticeship pay constitutes the basis of calculation for benefit payments.

The financial benefit rate shall not exceed the minimum social wage by a factor of more than five.

Persons over the age of 68 are not eligible for sickness benefit pay.

Where the insured is involved in several different kinds of occupation of a different nature, whether work on a fixed salary or not, the various financial benefits can be pooled up to a limit of five times the current minimum social wage. Beyond this ceiling, financial benefits are reduced proportionately.

 

Last update

Zusammensetzung des Krankengeldes

Zusammensetzung des Krankengeldes

Grundleistung

Die Grundleistung entspricht dem höchsten Grundgehalt, das innerhalb des Bemessungszeitraums von drei Kalendermonaten vor Beginn der Zahlung der Krankengelds durch die CNS ausgezahlt wurde.

Unter Grundgehalt versteht man die Elemente des Gehalts, die monatlich als Geldleistungen auszuzahlen sind und die nicht als Zusatzleistungen gelten.

Wenn ein Monat nicht ganz durch eine versicherungspflichtige Tätigkeit abgedeckt ist, wird die Höhe des im Arbeitsvertrag vereinbarten Grundgehalts zugrunde gelegt. Sie wird um den auf den betreffenden Monat anzuwendenden Lebenshaltungskostenindex 100 reduziert. Angerechnet werden die Anzahl der Arbeitsstunden des entsprechenden Monats oder die Höchstzahl der Arbeitsstunden der Monate, während derer die Grundleistung unverändert ist.

Zusatzleistungen

Das Element des Krankengelds, das als « Zuatzleistungen » bezeichnet wird, entspricht dem Durchschnitt der Zuatzleistungen, die Teil der Bemessungsgrundlage der zwölf Kalendermonate vor dem Eintreten der Arbeitsunfähigkeit sind, als Element des Gehalts, das monatlich als Geldleistung ausgezahlt wird und dessen Höhe Schwankungen unterliegt, mit Ausnahme der Erhöhungen, die durch die vertraglich vereinbarten, gesetzlichen oder satzungsmäßigen Bestimmungen vorgesehen sind.

Wenn diese Referenzperiode von zwölf Monaten nicht ganz durch eine versicherungspflichtige Tätigkeit abgedeckt ist, wird der Durchschnitt auf der Grundlage von einem oder mehreren vollständig versicherten Kalendermonaten berechnet. Für die Berechnung des Lebenshaltungskostenindex werden der oder die Kalendermonate berücksichtigt, während derer die Berechnungsgrundlage die Zuatzleistungen enthält.

 

Höchstgrenzen und Höchstsätze der Geldleistungen

Das monatliche Krankengeld darf den Mindestsoziallohn außer bei Ausnahmebewilligung oder begründeter Ermäßigung nicht unterschreiten.

Bei Teilzeitarbeit wird diese Höchstgrenze auf der Grundlage des Mindestsoziallohns pro Stunde bestimmt.

Für Auszubildende dient das Ausbildungsgehalt als Berechnungsgrundlage für die Höhe des Krankengelds.

Das monatliche Krankengeld darf das Fünffache des Mindestsoziallohns nicht überschreiten.

Das monatliche Krankengeld wird nur bis zur Erfüllung des 68. Lebensjahres gezahlt.

Bei Ausübung mehrerer abhängiger oder selbstständiger Tätigkeiten kann ein Anspruch auf mehrere Krankengeldleistungen bis zum Fünffachen des Mindestreferenzsoziallohns bestehen. Bei Überschreiten dieser Höchstgrenze wird das Krankengeld im Verhältnis reduziert.

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am