French cross-border workers

Applicable rules

The insured person is considered a cross-border worker if they work (and are insured) in a different EU country than the one they reside in and under the condition that they return to the country of residence every day or at least once a week. In this case, the country competent in social security matters is the country where they work.

Use of the S1 form

The S1 form is a document of legal entitlement to healthcare benefits delivered by the competent country (country where contributions are paid) and allows registration in the country of residence. In this case, healthcare is delivered in the country of residence as if the concerned person was insured there. The S1 form delivered by the competent healthcare fund must be presented to the health fund in the country of residence. The healthcare fund from the country of residence confirms the registration of the form to the competent healthcare fund.

Procedure

The cross-border worker insured in Luxembourg must register with the health insurance fund of their place of residence in order to benefit from health care reimbursements. The CNS issues a document of entitlement for this purpose: the S1 form (or S072 as the case may be).

The S072 form, the document of entitlement intended for French cross-border workers residing in the "Grand-Est" region (departments 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin) is sent directly to the respective CPAM (primary health insurance fund). A confirmation of registration will be sent to the cross-border workers by the CPAM.

dans la région Grand-Est (départements 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin)

As a rule, no further formalities are required.

In respect of cross-border workers who are registered as a result of working for a company employing them as temporary workers ("intérimaires") and who are living in the "Grand-Est" region (departments 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin), the document of entitlement is not automatically issued but only per written request from the CPAM or via the appropriate form.

For the residents of all other French departments, S1 forms will be sent automatically to the insured's private address and must be submitted to the CPAM of the insured's place of residence.

If the insured person does not receive an S1 form within 15 days of reception of the confirmation of registration with the CCSS, we advise the insured person tor order the document.

Co-insurance

The cross-border insured and the members of their family are entitled to the same benefits under the same terms and conditions as those to which the residents of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are entitled.

The law of the insured's country of residence applies concerning the determination of who qualifies for benefits in their capacity as a member of the insured's family.

For this purpose, the health insurance fund of the country of residence transmits a document of entitlement to the CNS attesting to the fact that members of the family are co-insured in the name of the person insured in Luxembourg.

Certificate of incapacity for work

In case of sickness or accident, the insured person must send the original certificate of incapacity for work directly to the CNS before the end of the third working day that the insured has been on sick leave as a result of the doctor’s findings.

In order to speed up the administrative procedure and to assure a smooth procedure for the remittance of sickness benefits, it is recommended that all documents sent to the CNS include the insured person's individual Luxembourg identification number.

In this regard, it is recommended to ask the doctor to indicate the Luxemburgish national identification number, or, if necessary, to mark it themselves on the back of the medical certificate.

Coverage of healthcare received in the country of residence

With regard to reimbursement of healthcare, treatment provided in the country of residence can only be reimbursed by the country of residence according to its own rates, tariffs and terms.

Coverage of healthcare received in a country other than Luxembourg or other than the country of residence

Necessary/emergency treatment is paid for based on the European Health Insurance Card/EHIC (or if necessary a replacement certificate) issued by the competent country.

Planned inpatient treatment is subject to a prior authorisation from the Medical Board of the Social Security (Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale - CMSS) and can only be reimbursed if approval is granted. If S2 authorisation is granted by the competent country, the treatment will be paid for by the country where it is provided according to the rates and tariffs applicable there. If the insured person was given a "directive" authorisation from the competent country, the insured person advances the cost and is reimbursed by the competent country according to the rates and tariffs in force there.

Please note that for some ambulatory healthcare, a prior approval by the CNS on the basis of a positive advice by the CMSS is mandatory.

Planned outpatient treatment is paid for by the competent country according to the rates and tariffs in force there.

Last update

Travailleur frontalier Français

Règles applicables

L'assuré est considéré comme un travailleur frontalier s'il travaille (et est assuré) dans un pays de l'UE différent de celui dans lequel il réside et sous condition qu'il retourne dans son pays de résidence chaque jour ou au moins une fois par semaine. Dans ce cas, son pays compétent en matière de soins de santé est le pays où il travaille.

Utilisation du formulaire S1

Le formulaire S1 est une attestation de droit aux prestations de soins de santé délivrée par le pays compétent (dans lequel sont payées les cotisations) et permet une inscription dans le pays de résidence. De ce fait, les soins de santé seront dispensés dans le pays de résidence comme si la personne concernée y était assurée. Le S1 délivré par la caisse compétente est à remettre à la caisse du pays de résidence. Cette caisse du pays de résidence confirmera l'inscription du formulaire à la caisse compétente.

Procédure

Le frontalier affilié au Luxembourg doit s'inscrire auprès de la caisse de maladie de son lieu de résidence pour pouvoir y bénéficier des remboursements des soins de santé. À ces fins, la CNS établit un document d'ouverture de droit: S1 (respectivement S072).

Les documents de droit destinés aux frontaliers français résidant dans la région Grand-Est (départements 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin) sont envoyés directement aux caisses primaires d'assurance maladie respectives. Il s'agit du document S072. Une confirmation de l'inscription sera adressée aux frontaliers par la CPAM concernée.

Une démarche supplémentaire n'est en règle générale plus nécessaire.

En ce qui concerne les travailleurs frontaliers qui sont affiliés par le biais d'une entreprise oeuvrant dans le domaine du travail intérimaire et qui résident dans la région Grand-Est (départements 08-Ardennes, 10-Aube, 51-Marne, 52-Haute Marne, 54-Meurthe et Moselle, 55-Meuse, 57-Moselle, 88-Vosges, 67-Bas-Rhin, 68-Haut-Rhin), l'émission de l'attestation ne se fait toutefois pas automatiquement, mais uniquement sur demande par écrit de la CPAM ou par le biais du formulaire de commande en ligne à remplir par la CPAM.

Pour les résidents de tous les autres départements français, les documents S1 sont envoyés automatiquement à l'adresse privée de l'assuré et ils doivent être remis à la CPAM du lieu de résidence.

Au cas où l'assuré n'aurait pas reçu le document S1 dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de la déclaration d'entrée du Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS), il est conseillé de procéder à la commande du document.

Coassurance

L'assuré frontalier et les membres de sa famille peuvent obtenir les prestations au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg dans les mêmes conditions que celles appliquées aux personnes résidentes au Grand-Duché.

Pour la détermination de la qualité de membre de famille ayant droit aux prestations, seule la législation du pays de résidence est déterminante.

À cet effet, la caisse de maladie du pays de résidence transmet à la CNS une attestation prouvant que les membres de famille sont affiliés du chef de l'assuré qui est affilié au Luxembourg.

Certificat d’incapacité de travail

En cas de maladie ou d’accident, l’assuré doit adresser l’original de son certificat directement à la CNS avant l’expiration du troisième jour ouvré de l’incapacité de travail.

Il est vivement conseillé d’indiquer le numéro d’identification national luxembourgeois (matricule à 13 chiffres) sur le document pour faciliter le traitement de votre dossier et d’assurer ainsi un bon déroulement en ce qui concerne le paiement des indemnités pécuniaires de maladie.

À cet égard, il est conseillé de demander au médecin d’inscrire le numéro d’identification national luxembourgeois ou, le cas échéant, de l’indiquer soi-même au verso du certificat médical.

Prise en charge des frais de soins santé reçus dans le pays de résidence

En ce qui concerne le remboursement de soins de santé, les prestations dans le pays de résidence sont exclusivement remboursées par le pays de résidence, selon les taux, tarifs et conditions de ce pays.  

Prise en charge des frais de soins santé reçus dans un pays autre que le Luxemburg ou le pays de résidence

Les soins nécessaires/urgents seront pris en charge sur base de la carte européenne d'assurance maladie, CEAM (ou éventuellement d'un certificat de remplacement) délivrée par le pays compétent.

Les soins programmés stationnaires sont soumis à l'avis préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale et remboursés seulement en cas d'accord préalable. En cas d'accord S2 délivré par le pays compétent, la prise en charge se fera par le pays des soins selon les taux et tarifs y applicables. En cas d'accord-directive de la part du pays compétent, l'assuré fera l'avance des frais et sera remboursé par le pays compétent selon les taux et tarifs y applicables.

Attention à certains soins ambulatoires qui sont obligatoirement soumis à un accord préalable de la CNS sur base de l'avis du CMSS.

Les soins programmés ambulatoires sont pris en charge par le pays compétent selon les taux et tarifs y applicables.

Dernière mise à jour