Insuring family members

A co-insured person is a person who is not personally insured and who may be covered in terms of health insurance through the affiliation of the principal insured.

Co-insurance is free of charge.

Co-insurance for Luxembourg residents

In Luxembourg, the following persons can be co-insured with the principal insured:

  • The spouse or partner (civil union, known as PACS)
  • A child who is either:
    • legitimate,
    • legitimated,
    • natural,
    • adopted or
    • taken in on a long-term basis in the household

Co-insurance of a spouse/partner

Co-insurance of a spouse or partner is never automatic. A request must be sent to the "service Coassurance" of the CNS. In certain cases, the CNS must receive a specific document.

If the spouse or partner to be co-insured was personally insured in Luxembourg and their affiliation ends, they simply contact the CNS - Service Coassurance by either phone or email, but only once they have received the confirmation sent out by the "Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS)".

If the spouse or partner was not insured in Luxembourg and only recently moved to Luxembourg, one of the following scenarios applies:

  • The spouse/partner has left a country of the EU, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Switzerland, and was insured there:
    • personally: a form called E104 issued by the former health insurance fund must be presented to the CNS.
    • as a dependent family member: a certificate of co-insurance issued by the former health insurance fund must be presented to the CNS.
  • The spouse/partner has left a country linked to Luxembourg by bilateral agreement (Bosnia-Herzegovina, Cape Verde, Morocco, Montenegro, Tunisia, Turkey, Macedonia, Serbia), and was insured there:
    • personally: a form specifically provided for by the agreement in place (generally, the name of the form ends with 104) issued by the former health insurance fund must be presented to the CNS.
    • as a dependent family member: a certificate of co-insurance issued by the former health insurance fund must be presented to the CNS.
  • The spouse/partner has left a country not linked to Luxembourg by bilateral or multilateral agreement: generally, the CNS will send a sworn statement form to be filled out by the spouse/partner to be co-insured.

Co-insurance of a child

Normally, co-insurance of a child born in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is automatic. Co-insurance with one of the parents is possible until 29 years of age inclusive, provided that the child to be co-insured has resources beneath the guaranteed minimum wage for a single person.

The child can only be co-insured with one principal insured, either the one he lives with or the one who ensures their maintenance and education. If both parents fulfil these conditions, the child is covered under the insurance of the parent oldest in age.

From the age of the 30, co-insurance is still possible, but only if the child pursues university studies and upon authorisation by the CNS.

Co-insurance for residents abroad

A cross-border worker is someone who is personally insured in Luxembourg but lives abroad. The family members may also be co-insured in Luxembourg. However, the legislation of the country of residence determines which family members may be co-insured with the principal insured in Luxembourg.

If, upon registration of the cross-border worker and the postal dispatch by the CNS of the international form (S1/S072/BL1), the cross-border worker has a spouse/partner or a child to be co-insured, the health fund from the country of residence will inform the CNS by adding the family members on the international form (S1/S073/BL1/BL6). This allows the CNS to co-insure the family members upon receipt of the form.

If the family situation changes (marriage, civil union, birth of a child) and the cross-border is already registered in their country of residence through an international form (S1/S072/BL1), the insured person must provide to the CNS a certificate of entitlement issued by the health fund of the country of residence. This certificate must prove that the person to be co-insured is a dependent of the cross-border worker in their country of residence. (Important: a Belgian cross-border worker must always provide the BL6 form).

If the person to be co-insured does not have a personal file in the National Registry of Natural Persons (registre national des personnes physiques RNPP)/the social security database, the following documents must also be submitted:

  • Co-insurance of a child: the birth certificate as well as a certificate of residence/household composition
  • Co-insurance of a spouse/partner: the marriage certificate or the official certificate relating to the union, as well as a certificate of residence/household composition

Co-insurance if the family member to be co-insured does not live in the same country as the principal insured

In some cases, the principal insured lives in Luxembourg but their family members live abroad (in a country linked to Luxembourg by bilateral or multilateral agreement).

If the family members are not insured in their country of residence, co-insurance is possible. However, the health fund of the country of residence where the family members live must contact the CNS (using the form E001 or E107, for instance) to request the form S1M/F (formerly known as E109) to be issued.

This request must be submitted by the health fund of the country of residence. It serves as proof to the CNS that the family members are not otherwise insured in their country of residence.

Last update

Versicherung der Familienmitglieder

Eine mitversicherte Person ist eine Person, die nicht persönlich versichert ist und als Familienmitglied eines Hauptversicherten in den Genuss des Krankenversicherungsschutzes kommen kann.

Die Mitversicherung ist kostenlos.

Mitversicherung bei Wohnsitz in Luxemburg

In Luxemburg können folgende Personen zu einem Hauptversicherten mitversichert werden:

  • der Ehepartner oder Partner (anerkannte Lebensgemeinschaft)
  • das Kind
    • rechtmäßig,
    • rechtlich anerkannt,
    • natürlich,
    • adoptiert oder
    • dauerhaft im gleichen Haushalt lebend.

Mitversicherung eines Ehepartners/Partners

Die Mitversicherung eines Ehepartners oder Partners erfolgt nie automatisch. Ein entsprechender Antrag ist an die Mitversicherungsabteilung der CNS zu richten. In bestimmten Fällen muss der CNS ein spezielles Dokument vorgelegt werden.

Wenn der mitversicherte Ehepartner oder Partner in Luxemburg selbst versichert war und sein Versicherungsschutz endet, genügt es, sich per E-Mail oder telefonisch an die CNS – Service Coassurance – zu wenden, und zwar nach Erhalt der Austrittserklärung des CCSS (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale, Gemeinsames Zentrum der Sozialen Sicherheit).

Wenn der Ehepartner oder Partner kein Versicherter in Luxemburg war und vor kurzem nach Luxemburg gezogen ist, gibt es mehrere Fälle:

Der Ehepartner/Partner hat ein EU-Land, Norwegen, Island, Liechtenstein oder die Schweiz verlassen und war:   
  • selbst versichert: Der CNS ist ein Formular E104 vorzulegen, das von der ehemaligen Krankenkasse erstellt wurde
  • als Familienmitglied mitversichert: Der CNS ist eine Bescheinigung der Mitversicherung vorzulegen, die von der ehemaligen Krankenkasse erstellt wurde.
Der Ehepartner/Partner hat ein Land verlassen, das ein bilaterales Abkommen mit Luxemburg hat (Bosnien und Herzegowina, Kap Verde, Marokko, Montenegro, Tunesien, Türkei, Mazedonien, Serbien), und war:
  • selbst versichert: Der CNS ist ein speziell von der betreffenden Vereinbarung vorgesehenes Formular (der Name des Formulars endet grundsätzlich mit 104) vorzulegen, das von der ehemaligen Krankenkasse erstellt wurde.
  • als Familienmitglied mitversichert: Der CNS ist eine Bescheinigung der Mitversicherung vorzulegen, die von der ehemaligen Krankenkasse erstellt wurde.
Der Ehepartner/Partner hat ein Land verlassen, das nicht durch ein bi- oder multilaterales Abkommen mit Luxemburg verbunden ist:

Grundsätzlich sendet die CNS auf Anfrage eine eidesstattliche Erklärung zu, die vom mitzuversichernden Ehepartner/Partner ausgefüllt werden muss.

Mitversicherung eines Kindes

Die Mitversicherung eines im Großherzogtum geborenen Kindes erfolgt grundsätzlich automatisch. Eine Mitversicherung über ein Elternteil ist bis zum Alter von 29 Jahren inklusiv möglich, sofern das mitversicherte Kind über finanzielle Mittel unterhalb des garantierten Mindesteinkommens für eine einzelne Person verfügt.

Zu beachten ist, dass das Kind nur über einen einzigen Hauptversicherten versichert ist, nämlich denjenigen, bei dem es in einer Haushaltsgemeinschaft lebt oder der für seine Ausbildung und seinen Unterhalt sorgt. Sind diese Bedingungen für mehrere Hauptversicherte erfüllt, gilt der Schutz im Rahmen der Versicherung für den ältesten Hauptversicherten.

Ab dem 30. Lebensjahr ist eine Mitversicherung nur noch bei Studium und mit Bewilligung der CNS möglich.

Mitversicherung bei Wohnsitz im Ausland

Ein Grenzgänger ist ein Hauptversicherter in Luxemburg, der seinen Wohnsitz im Ausland hat. Seine Familienangehörigen können auch in Luxemburg mitversichert werden. Es ist jedoch die Gesetzgebung des Wohnsitzlandes, die die mitversicherten Familienangehörigen im Rahmen der Versicherungszugehörigkeit des Hauptversicherten bestimmt.

Hat der Grenzgänger zum Zeitpunkt seiner Zugehörigkeit und der Übersendung des internationalen Formulars (S1/S072/BL1) durch die CNS einen Ehepartner/Partner oder ein Kind mitversichert, so informiert die Kasse des Wohnsitzlandes die CNS durch Zusatz auf dem internationalen Formular (S1/S073/BL1/BL6). Die CNS kann so die Mitversicherung nach Erhalt des entsprechenden Formulars vornehmen.

Im Fall einer Änderung der Situation (Heirat, Lebensgemeinschaft, Geburt eines Kindes) eines Grenzgängers, der in seinem Wohnsitzland bereits durch ein internationales Formular (S1/S072/BL1) registriert ist, muss der Versicherte der CNS eine von der Kasse des Wohnsitzlandes ausgestellte Bescheinigung über seine Rechte vorlegen. Diese Bescheinigung muss nachweisen, dass die mitzuversichernde Person mit dem Grenzgänger in seinem Wohnsitzland verbunden ist (Achtung: Der belgische Grenzgänger muss auf jeden Fall ein Formular BL6 zur Verfügung stellen).

Verfügt die mitzuversichernde Person noch nicht über eine Personalakte im RNPP (nationales Register der natürlichen Personen)/in der Datenbank der Sozialversicherung, müssen folgende Dokumente beigefügt werden:

  • Mitversicherung eines Kindes: Geburtsurkunde und Meldebescheinigung/Haushaltszusammensetzung
  • Mitversicherung eines Ehepartners/Partners: Heiratsurkunde oder Amtshandlung über die Partnerschaft sowie Meldebescheinigung/Haushaltszusammensetzung

 

Mitversicherung, falls das mitzuversichernde Familienmitglied nicht im gleichen Land wie der Hauptversicherte lebt

In einigen Fällen wohnt der Hauptversicherte in Luxemburg und seine Familienmitglieder im Ausland (in einem Land, das durch ein bi- oder multilaterales Abkommen mit Luxemburg verbunden ist).

Falls die Familienmitglieder in ihrem Wohnsitzland nicht versichert sind, ist eine Mitversicherung möglich. Es ist jedoch die Krankenkasse des Wohnsitzlandes der Familienangehörigen, die die CNS kontaktieren muss (z. B. über das Formular E001, E107), um die Ausstellung des Formulars S1M/F (früher E109) zu beantragen.

Dieser Antrag muss von der Kasse des Wohnsitzlandes gestellt werden. Sie dient der CNS als Nachweis dafür, dass die Familienangehörigen im Wohnsitzland nicht anderweitig versichert sind.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am